Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
HOME ⇒ Airline reviews & Traveller opinions ⇒ LATAM Airlines


LATAM Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about LATAM Airlines

14 May 2022 12:05:00 Anj Hart

Booked to go from Auckland to Peru and then back again. Half way through our holiday they cancelled our flight home. Had to spend two days of the holiday trying to sort out flights home. They gave us one option - leave three weeks later going via Brazil. When we complained they then gave us another option go via Los Angeles on the day were were supposed to leave but then left us to sort out our ESTA visas to go through USA. I had to ring the UK to get my UK passport number as I was travelling on my NZ passport so that was more cost to me. We had paid for extra leg room seats, never got that money back!
So our trip home to NZ was Lima to LA, LA to Sydney Australia (On QANTAS) and then Sydney to Auckland with QANTAS. Our original flight from Lima to Auckland was available with QANTAS their partner airline BUT because we had booked originally through LATAM they could not arrange us to go with QANTAS..... yet they could from LA and Sydney... Go figure.
We then had to pay AGAIN for extra legroom seats which when we got on the plane the cabin crew knew nothing about and I had to complain and show them the payment receipt as LATAM had given us the WRONG boarding passes. The cabin crew then gave the other seats in extra legroom to other passengers who had not paid!
We were treated dreadfully on the LATAM flight. Was soooo glad to board QANTAS flights - we had to pay a extra for their leg room seats but once the crew had heard of our plight the QANTAS crew made us feel so comfortable and brought us treats.

When we got home I wrote to LATAM to tell them of our experience and they could not be bothered... we do not give refunds was their response.
I got really annoyed with them and their couldnt be bothered response and informed them as as a travel and tourism teacher I would using their customer service as an example of not what to do. They are now a case study in my class and the students pretend to be useless LATAM customer service and flight crew and the students critique what was bad service and what a good airline company should do.
I use the emails they send and even have s script which the students use. So one positive came out of the experience.
The annoying thing is that I want to go back to South America but the thought of flying this useless crew is so off putting. Even if I book with QANTAS you may end up with this bunch.
My advice for anyone thinking of booking with LATAM / or forced to book with them - warn your employees you may be three weeks later back to work.
Take all documentation needed to enter a variety of different countries around the world so you meet their visa requirements and also currencies of those countries so you can by a drink while waiting in the numerous airport lounges you will be forced to wait in.
Or just walk home!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
10 May 2022 12:05:00 Isabel

The airplanes are recent and comfortable.
However, since this company has the worst service I have encountered so far, you will be very lucky to actually get on the plane, or get to your destination.
Trying to obtain information is even more difficult, even in big airports like the one in Bogota, where one can se at least 50 people in the LATAM counter.
The customer service is a joke, they disregard all and any claims, and do not follow the basic rules like: inform the passengers when there has been a change in the flight.

On top of this, their prices are really not competitive, so I would recommend never flying with them.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
06 March 2022 12:03:00 Alexandra Del Carpio

The worst service, first my flight was delayed, causing me problems with my connections. And now that I am at my final destination, my suitcase is missing and nobody knows where and all they did was give me a piece of paper saying we will call you. I will never fly with you again and I do not recommend it to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
11 February 2022 12:02:00 Guest

I Can't believe that this "airlines" are unable to answer, customer services are bad, they lie, they cancel my tickets and currently i'm unable to travel to my country. I so frustrating trying to call customer services. Definitely I will give them 0 Stars.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
04 February 2022 12:02:00 Jma

Booked my flight from Sydney to Lima and just couple of weeks before my trip, the airline canceled all my flights with no explanation
They sent an email given the option to change the flight or get a refund, but none of the links worked
I had to call the airline and they did not provide any explanation as to why or when there would be available flights. In the end I had no other option than request a refund which they told me can take up to 45 days

I don't recommend this airline. Terrible Chilean airline and not reliable.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
20 January 2022 12:01:00 Cintia

Contacted airlines on the day of travel as I was tested positive for covid19 while in Brazil and was not allowed to travel back to US.I was talking to latam in Brazil and they told me to email them covid positive result which I emailed to medif at latam.com.br and they also told me I would need to speak to Latam in US as flight was bought in US. My husband made a call as he was in US back at home and he spoke to Latam employee over the phone. Full story was explained to her and she told us we would get a full refund $691.67 within 7-15 days to the original payment method. I received email confirmation of that as well as protocol number for a reference. About 10 days later I emailed to follow up and latam replied saying refund is still being processed, however later on latam sent me an email saying they issued me $64 voucher which is something that got me very confused. They did not issue me any refund and they are trying to pass on $64 voucher for my ticket which cost nearly $700. There was zero mention over the phone that there would be no refund and we would need to rebook existing flight or we would need to use travel voucher. We got confirmed full refund would be issued and because of that I bought a brand new flight back to US at nearly $800 flying on 1/16/22 once I was tested negative for covid. Airline completely misinformed us/borderline trying to defraud us and they are not issuing a refund. Airline owes us $691.67 and an apology for lying to us and trying to rip people off which is totally unacceptable.
The case was reported to my bank as we are making a chargeback claim and we have also reported it to Department of Transportation, because they need to be investigated for trying to defraud people and keep their money.DO NOT BUY FROM LATAM
Case number 38164490 in case latam gets to read this

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
26 November 2021 12:11:00 C Adema

After going through the entire booking process they repeatedly declined my card because it's foreign, clearing all booking info. Then, if you try to book from the US site it suddenly magically works, but they charge DOUBLE the price for the same seat. I have wasted HOURS trying to book a flight with this terrible airline. I'm so sick of Peru ripping off tourists.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
07 November 2021 12:11:00 Frieda Campbell

Terrible service with customer service reps. Because of Covid my flight was canceled and I have been trying to book another flight since 2020, its Nov 2021 and they are still playing with me. I am a sick and elderly person!!! Terrible experience

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
20 October 2021 12:10:00 Nayara Maw

Latam are the worst company in history... I booked a business class ticket... then few weeks later Latam reschedule the flight I called to accept and change the date... which all went fine until the following day I received the new ticket which was in economy class when I had paid for business class... it has now taken me 3 weeks of endless calls and I am still nowhere near getting this issue resolved.. they refuse to let me speak to a manager... and refuse to change my ticket back to business class unless I pay a further £2000... or my other option is to remain in economy and pay £500 for my luggage and £64 per seat per journey its an absolute joke and the worst customer service I've dealt with in my entire life
I will never use them again

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
24 April 2021 12:04:00 Guest

We were unable to travel due to Ecuador going into a country wide lockdown due to COVID beginning 4/23/2021 and supposed to end 5/20/2021. We were to travel 5/1/2021 to 5/23/2021 but because of the lockdown were unable to do so. LATAM has kept 70% of the price of the ticket for each member of our party (there are 4 of us). Every other entity gave a full refund except for LATAM. NOT our fault that the country went into lockdown. Find another airline to fly with or take the bus.

The hoops you have to jump through to get a refund are arduous as well. I had to cancel one at a time, not the entire reservation. They will not refund to your credit card, only to your bank account. I filed for a refund yesterday and filled out their repetitious forms one-by-one and then they issue a travel voucher and then you have to go through the process again and give them your bank account information. NOT SECURE in my book. FLY with ANY OTHER airline but LATAM.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
24 July 2019 12:07:00 Guest

They do not have a customer service policy. So if something goes wrong good luck because it will not be their fault at all and they wont be able to help you.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
24 August 2018 12:08:00 Guest

Latam is a pretty amateur airline. They are a cheap airline in competition with other reputable airlines. They tend to oversell seats, which is a common practice, but their compensation makes me want to pull my hair out. Id recommend choosing another airline, if you find yourself flying with this airline then good luck but also check in as soon as an email arrives. Its first come first serve. I had noticed other people dealing with a similar issue on a different flight.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
27 March 2018 12:03:00 Raynel

Online seat selection is virtually no seat selection. Only a few rows of economy seats shown with very limited available seat.
Not worth the time looking at it. I made several calls to the customer phone number but their English is so poor I could not understand what they were saying, so I gave up trying to book a seat+

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
04 June 2015 12:06:00 Guest

LAN is mediocre at best but as soon as something goes wrong customer service is non existent. I have spent 6 months of mails and calls to LAN looking to get compensation for a delayed flight to Edinburgh fr om Santiago wh ere we were kept on the plane for 6 hours with no food, drink or medical service offered. LAN has published norms stating what should be done in the event of extended delays BUT these seem to apply only for flights to the US.
Finally LAN have offered me $US 100 compensation (on a $5000 ticket) for the delay .

why is it that LAN can ride roughshod over the passengers and still be voted best airline in South America - lack of competition - when compared with Far and Middle east carriers the LAN service is severely lacking and their logo ' The delight of Flying' is one of the biggest misnomers in the industry

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
15 March 2015 12:03:00 Janny

I have been waiting for promised and comfirmed compensation for lost suitcase on a TAM flight last Christmas. No money yet though it was supposed to be here in March, now for some reason have to wait another 20 days counting from March 2. Communication sucks big time, tweets and mail are not answered or with standard lines. Will I ever get my money?? Worst airline in the world. now mailing everything to the CEO. And no English is spoken!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
23 July 2014 12:07:00 Fernando Buendia

Very good service in South America specially in Chile and Peru, their planes are in a good state and their entertainment service is good. In Peru i prefer Avianca for domestic flights but Lan by far on international flights.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
28 October 2013 12:10:00 Guest

Unbelievably bad phone and internet support in English. I've been using the USA website and call center for four years and it hasn't changed. When you call the USA call center, you get a set of menu options in English, but the audio quality is so low that it's hard to understand the options. Think of the worst phone connection you've ever had and multiply by 1000. Seriously, it sounds like they're using discarded telecom equipment from the '60s.

If you do get though to a service representative, it's invariably some lady with a heavy accent. Presumably these ladies' only job is to talk on the phone to Americans from the USA in English, but they are really bad at it. This coupled with the bad audio makes for a very hard time being understood.

LAN processes their credit card transactions through an Icelandic company and this has always caused fraud alerts and declined transactions with my BofA cards.

The website usually works OK if you have a plain vanilla transaction, but doing anything with a multi-city itinerary or LANPASS causes problems.

DO NOT use LANPASS. It is so hard to use the kilometers. You can't use them for one-way flights and trying to use them on another airline in the Oneworld Alliance is next to impossible.

I don't want to be all negative. The actual planes are pretty new and nice. The in-flight service is pretty good and the food is above average. They are very generous with the wine. The actual flight experience is probably better than American or Delta.

In summary, only use LAN if someone else is buying the tickets and/or using a travel agent. I know this from 4 years of travel and probably a dozen flights, both from the US to Chile and within Chile. Keep your miles (kilometers) on another airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
16 January 2013 12:01:00 Guest

Very bad phone and web services.
If there is a problem with the web purchase or anything along
the route, you are on your own, no help fr om the agents.
even if you are a "Comodoro" the premier status.
Agents on the other side of the line work with very
rigid rules, and claim to know nothing about other departments.
They give their names courteously, but ask your name and from
wh ere you are calling from; without answers from you they
do not help you at all.

Do yourself a favor, choose American Airlines. They are helpful,
to a degree, depending on the agent, and do not ask irrelevant
questions.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
28 March 2011 12:03:00 Guest

As the previous person said, terrible service if you've booked online. My flight was cancelled and there were no suitable alternatives, so they said they would give me a refund. Six weeks later I am still waiting. Trying to get through on the 1800 number is a nightmare. You wait for 15 minutes, explain the problem, they put you on hold and then cut you off. I had to repeat this process over the next hour until I went mad. There are offices in Australia but the 1800 experience is exactly the same. Avoid like the plague.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
10 February 2011 12:02:00 Guest

Lan has terrible international support. From large countries like Australia you must call centres in Chile that are extremely difficult to hear and whose service is slow and inferior.
In the air the planes are adequate though not exceptional.
The ground staff all around SA rarely take responsibility for inconveniences suffered by clients at the hand of their airline. I flew with them several times in the course of a year and on nearly every occasion something went wrong including flight cancellations without notification, luggage damaged significantly by rough baggage collectors witnessed in the act and lost luggage on two occasions. Not a great portfolio if you ask me

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
19 May 2009 12:05:00 M Cunningham

Flew round-trip, LAX-Santiago. It was the most uncomfortable long-haul flight I've experienced. The seats are very uncomfortable. The service offered by the cabin staff was adequate and the meals, being typical airline fare, would sustain life.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
1 - 21 of 21
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2022 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/lan_airlines/ 1 1 1