Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
HOME ⇒ Airline reviews & Traveller opinions ⇒ WestJet Airlines


WestJet Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about WestJet Airlines

22 September 2023 12:09:00 Guest

We won't fly West Jet again. I purchased 5 non-refundable tickets from Flighthub for a family trip from Calgary to St. John's. My daughter was unfortunately unable to make it. I called Flighthub to see if it was possible to get a future credit for my daughter's flight, but because of the type of ticket we purchased, it was not possible to get a credit (we were aware that we could not get a refund). So, we paid for 5 tickets for 4 people. On the flight to St.John's I checked my daughter in to ensure we would get the seat we paid for (we told them at the last minute she wasn't coming). On the return flight I was not given the opportunity to check-in for my daughter's seat because she was no longer on the check-in list. I spoke to the agent at check-in and told her that we had paid for an extra ticket and would like 2 of us to be seated together with three empty seats. She said normally she would be able to accommodate my request, but the flight was very full. When we boarded the plane, we noticed 6 empty seats at the very back. We spoke to a flight attendant who said the agent should have been able to seat us there and that was her job. He said nevertheless he would see if we could free those seats for us. He returned to say that unfortunately the flight attendants were unable to make inflight seat re-arrangements and that I should call WestJet for a refund. I just got off the phone with WestJet after being haughtily told that WestJet is sorry for the misinformation provided by their staff, but because the tickets we purchased were basic and because we didn't pay for seat selection (which wasn't an option for our tickets!!) they will not give us credit for the return flight. I understand they didn't HAVE to accommodate our request, but because we paid for an extra seat, wouldn't it have been the right thing to do to accommodate our request (the seats were empty!)? We won't fly WestJet again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
15 September 2023 12:09:00 Guest

WestJet got much worse over the past decade. I'm a frequent flyer and all my itineraries got re-routed unilatery by the airline for a variety reasons: schedule schange, cancellation, delay etc., along with more and more additional charges.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
23 August 2023 12:08:00 Guest

The gate experience was very good; however, I would like to mention on the plane I was very disappointed. We were sitting in seats 7, and on this flight approx. 120 passengers had to use two lavatories at the back of the plane while only 12 business class had one lavatory to use. There were constant lines ups, at one point 4 people had to slide into a trio seat to let a pregnant passenger by. On previous flights I was able to use the front lavatory. We asked the attendants may I use the bathroom located at the front of the plane; I was rudely told no that is for business class guests. I agree BC guests pay for extra leg room, better food/beverages, economy class have cheaper seats, but we all felt we were treated like second class citizens, guests should be allowed to use the lavatory closest to your seat. Unfortunately, I have booked another flight with WestJet in January, and I regret booking it.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
10 August 2023 12:08:00 Guest

Absolutely the most rude staff around. Refused to help me clean up a spill from the person in front of me for over an hour. Flight attendant yelled at me and my neighbor for talking softly, ticketing agent got mad at me because i was directed tk the wrong line, flight attendant in front of me at security slamming her bags around and scowling at everyone. Its like none of the people want to be there.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
18 July 2023 12:07:00 Mohammed Gangat

Worst flight airlines that will leave nothing to steal your hard earned money. I have something emergency that came up and they are not cancelling my ticket for refund or any kind of voucher/points. Worst ever airlines i have seen in my life. I will never ever refer or let anyone from my family or friend circle to book this airlines. They say this is complete loss of money and not to mention how rude their customer service is. Complete garbage. Confirmation no: AXCAKC

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
29 June 2023 12:06:00 Guest

Recently flew this airline across the country on a direct flight. Past flights were really good but the only thing good about this flight was the price. Rude flight attendants, lack of information during in flight service. Uncomfortable, aged seating. No in-flight entertainment ( was offered pay- for Internet so you can use your own devices). Download pod casts or shows/tv before you fly on Westjet, it helps to kill the time.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
20 June 2023 12:06:00 Fmasse

Do not book with this airline u too it can guarantee that when traveling on economy with two people you are guarantee to be able to sit side by side without having to pay extra. The company lets you book your boarding pass free 24hrs before takeoff but it cannot guarantee that you and your spouse will be sitting side by side yet you each have tickets paid for for same flight at same time with same destination. Their policy is for you to pay more to book your boarding pass before 24hrs which they charge you for the seats. Makes no sense. This is just a money grab.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
11 June 2023 12:06:00 faramarz

Insane!!! Do not fly with this shady company. Tracking systems discovered me after buying 3 tickets for $350 each i wanted to add a fourth one. the price jumped to $1100 as soon as I entered my name in every booking website. had to book a separate flight in another day for myself for the same $300 ish.
Just Wondering, did they really think someone would pay $1100 for a $350 flight??

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
31 May 2023 12:05:00 Dave

Westjet cancelled our flight minutes before we were to board. They did not/could not offer an alternate flight. Left us stranded. Offered a refund 1/16 of the original price.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
20 March 2023 12:03:00 Shini N

I have been flying with multiple airlines and I can say for sure westjet is the worst Airline and has the worst customer service ever. I was supposed to fly from Vancouver to Varadero in December 2022- my flight got cancelled because of the snow. I never got a cancellation email or an apology email from westjet, it was the pilot who told me my flight got cancelled and I was waiting in the airport for almost 8 hours. WestJet refunded my trip in westjet dollars and despite arguing with them several times that I needed my money back they refused to refund me the whole amount in cash. Worst is that westjet dollars can only be used on vacation package and it expires within 1 year. This is the most ridiculous airline and they are always saying they are trying their best to help you but actually doesn't give a s*** about their customers. I rarely write reviews but in this particular case, I just wanted to make people aware please book with other airlines and avoid westjet at any cost if possible - I don't wish anyone to go through this frustrating and mentally draining process dealing with westjet.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
11 March 2023 12:03:00 Guest linda rewniak

We were booked to return home from Cayo Coco 2:20 pm
March4th and didn't get an email letting us know flight was gonna be delayed until after 3.We had to travel 3.5 hours by taxi from our resort so we left by 9am.We got to airport when we found out then.We didn't fly out till 9:45pm so it was a long wait for us I'm pissed that WestJet didn't let me know sooner To boot when we got to airport in Toronto there was no hanger available at the time we landed so we had to wait.By the time we got to hotel,we only got 4 hours of sleep.We had a connecting flight to Wpg and was delayed because pilots were not there yet for heavens sakes Then there was no air conditioning for awhile and stuffy.When ready to go the seat I was sitting in row 15 I end up with a migraine from the smell of fuel.Terrible trip, don't think we will be flying with WestJet again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
03 February 2023 12:02:00 Guest

I hate that I have to even give it a one star... Horrible company. Blaming the weather for cancellations that were not weather related at all and denying our Passenger Rights claim. Absolutely unacceptable. I'll never step foot on another Westjet flight in my life.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
28 January 2023 12:01:00 Guest

I used to be a big WestJet fan, used to be fun to fly with them. Havent been on a flight since Covid but over the last 3 months I have been getting up to 3 calls a day telling me this is my lucky day. My name has been selected for a fabulous vacation to Mexico. Push 1 if I want to hear about it, push 2 if I want to be placed on their do not call list. Pushing 2 simply gets you through to an agent that starts in on the sales pitch, you are never removed from their call list. They are bold-face liars and incredibly and relentlessly annoying. I will never go near another WestJet flight in my life.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
03 January 2023 12:01:00 Guest

TERRIBLE communication within the airline. Missed our connecting flight by 15mins. 2 days of our 7day vacation taken away and told non refundable. Then gate attendants were terrible to deal with and we didn't end up going because of one of them. Now their saying our WHOLE vacation is non refundable. 6000.00 Gone. NEVER USING THEM AGAIN.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
29 November 2022 12:11:00 M.H.

You're understaffed.. on all fronts. The staff you do have is clearly overworked. This is unfair to them as representatives of the company on the most important front. Two flights today.. absolutely abysmal. Either get the corporate end of this company to do it's job properly or put them in the front end... to see how they can actually do their job properly. If at any chance to not use WestJet for travel again... I will. Every flight I had was delayed and you are so understaffed and under able to serve your clients you should be refunding or at least put your head in the sand.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
04 October 2022 12:10:00 stefp

Last July we had our wedding in my home-country in Europe and our honeymoon in the south of Portugal. Due to the turmoil that is currently going on in in the land of air travel (unacceptable, but that is for another post) we decided to book separate flights and WestJet seemed the best option for our return trip back to Seattle. If only I had read any of the reviews that were posted before...

The two flights (lay-over in Calgary) were fine (really not more than that). But we left Paris with an hour delay because the captain decided to wait for one of the lavatories to be fixed (his words: it isn't a necessary measure, but nice to have). Then it turned out that we also waited for a passenger who was lost at the airport. I can appreciate the Canadian niceness, but this made a good number of passengers on board miss their connection to Seattle and having to spend the night in Calgary. This is where WestJet's **** show really started...

First, finding WestJet's transfer desk at Calgary airport was an absolute nightmare. It's not located near the check-in, but on the other side of the airport... They should have made that a lot clearer when they informed us we won't make our second flight, only 20 minutes before landing in Calgary... Gee thanks, WestJet!

Then the line at the desks was insane! After a more than 2 hour wait (!!) the only thing the transfer agent told us was to book a hotel and we would get reimbursed. Did we have to wait more than 2 hours for that?! Really WestJet, get your act together and find a better way to communicate about this!
Of course all hotels were booked by that time (8:00PM local time and the Calgary Stampede was apparently happening). With more than 200 people getting the same information, one could expect that hotels were booked by the time it was our turn...

That all happened on July 9th... It is now October 4th and we still haven't gotten our expenses reimbursed, nor have we gotten any news on the status. Calling WestJet doesn't help.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
27 July 2022 12:07:00 Guest

Westjet is a hollow shell of what used to be a good airline. We managed to get to London Gatwick with them despite their best efforts only by booking last minute flights on Air Canada after they canceled our flight to Toronto Pearson two days in a row. They made so many changes to our original itinerary that the seats we booked were gone and we got stuck with whatever was left. The gate attendant supervisor in Ottawa was dismissive and condescending and made no attempt to help us. And now we're fighting to get reimbursed for the cost of last minute tickets. They deal in bad faith, are unprofessional and unreliable and it will be a long time before we fly with them again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
07 July 2022 12:07:00 Westjet Sucks!

This airline makes me wish I could give negative stars. I hate just having to give them 1 star at all. Stupid policies. Useless ticket agents. Caused delay and extra cost in my travel plans due to policies. When I was stuck in Canada without a way home to the US the ticket agents were no help. Basically tossed their hands up and said too bad so sad. Tried a Delta agent and told them my issues with Westjet. They were able to resolve my issue with another airline in minutes. Westjet couldnt fix my Wesjet flight but a Delta agent was able to fix the whole issue in minutes? I will go out of my to recommend NOT using this service to anyone who will listen.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
20 June 2022 12:06:00 Jim Gowan

The WestJet of the past is not the same today.
I realize there has been two changes in CEO and the relationship with the union has deteriorated. However none of that should be an excuse for:
1. No live voice for customer service
2. Ridiculous run around to try and break through the communication barriers
3. Cancellations and lates that just keep increasing in numbers
4. Prices that are no longer competitive- always the same as Air Canada
5. Counter staff agents that must have flunked Courtesy 101
6. As a former Gold Westjetter I get service on SWOOP that is just about as bad - for half the price!!!
7. Dont spend your hard earned money with WestJet- take your chances with Lynx or Flair. Its worth a try!
8. I gave it a two star rating because the on board crews are OK!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
06 October 2021 12:10:00 Rose Miranda

I have been trying to cancel my flights from Gatwick to Vancouver for October 6th , today, for days and nobody responds! During the pandemic my flights have been cancelled 6times. I have been stranded in Spain all this time. I cannot travel because the Spanish Health department will not give me the vaccine certificate.
This is no way to treat a long time customer!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
21 August 2021 12:08:00 Kent

Unreliable service , unprofessional and really dont care about their passengers.
Told to find your own hotel and pay for it ( they may reimburse but dont have vouchers ) when connection missed because of 5 hr delay . Second leg of flight also delayed.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
13 September 2019 12:09:00 Guest

DO NOT Flight with WestJet. Horrible company with racism flight attendance and rude for crying kids.
My family had a terrible experience while taking Westjet for Canada travel. They were taking WestJet 1508 in Sep-08-019 from Calgary return back to San Francisco. Prior to boarding, this flight was delayed by 3 hours and because of this, my family had to wait in the airport for 5 hours. Thus my son, which is only 2 years old, was very exhausted and really sleepy. Imagine that even for an adult, 5 hours of waiting in airport is quite stressful.

While starting from their boarding, the flight attendant never showed any warm welcome to these exhausted passengers. Instead, she was very hostile to my family, whispering to another attendant that they should closely watch my family. Due to the stress, my son was very tired and could not easily get calmed down while seated. My wife and my mother-in-law were trying their best to calm down him and let him well sit and tied with the seatbelt. However, only after about 3 minutes, this attendant rudely came and yelled at my family. She demanded my family to leave the aircraft immediately. The total time from my family boarding to get kicked off from the airplane was only around 5 minutes, my wife even didnt have time to get the phone out from her purse to entertain my son. My family, including 2 year old child and two seniors (both >60 years old), had to pull their heavy luggage and leave the aircraft. The rude attendant even didnt tell them what to do next. My family had to walk a long way holding the 2 year baby to outside of the airport and re-checked in to purchase the next available flight tickets.

To me, this cruel treatment from WestJet to the passenger is not about uncourteous, it is more about inhumanity. I cannot image this could happen in a civilized community. My wife later on told me that this attendant was very clearly racially discriminating against them from the beginning since my son was crying during boarding (we are Asian Americans, my parents dont know how to speak English). I called WestJet customer service immediately after receiving the call from my wife and also got very rude response (they are clearly protecting each other). I am very disappointed and frustrated with WestJet. I would never take WestJet and would like to give others the same advice: DO NOT flight WestJet !!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 3
24 June 2019 12:06:00 Sigalit Assor

18.6.2019

To: WEST JET


Flight Service Eclipse


On 2-3 may 2019, we were supposed to fly with you On a continuation flight from LAS VEGAS to TORONTO and than from TORONTO to ISREAL.
It is important to note that we are loyal customers of El Al, and It's very important to us to fly with El AL if we can.
Frequent Flyer Member number Of AMNON ANAVI is: 9352444.
Frequent Flyer Member number Of SIGALIT ASSOR is: 9382441.
This flight was supposed the flight home When actually we fly at 21/4/19 by El-Al from ISRAEL to TORONTO. Flight No. 31 LY. Attached airline tickets. Appendix A.
When we arrive to LAS VEGAS airport the receptionist told us that We can't get us on the first flight because there's a malfunction and the plane won't be out in time, so we won't make the sequel.
Attached to the original airline tickets that contained both flights. Appendix B.
We were transferred to the UNITED company to try to find us a flight home.
After about half an hour of exploration and uncertainty, a flight was found for us from LAS VEGAS to NEW YORK and continuation from NEW YORK to ISRAEL with UNITED company.
No one bothered to send us an email or call and update that we won't go home through TORONTO, but through NEW YORK.
Change of destination and addition of two hours on the first flight.
The flight tickets are attached to the two flights that were actually flying. Appendix C+D.
From that moment on, we passed a mask and an incessant uncertainty.
Since it was decided to raise us on an early flight, we had to run through the check-in and the lines are very long and the airport is very large.
We have to fly without even drinking water or going to the bathroom.
After an hour of waiting inside the plane, they announced the loudspeaker that there was a malfunction and we were delayed. After about an hour, the loudspeaker announced that a person on the plane was ill and awaiting evacuation of an ambulance, After an hour, they announced that because of harsh weather conditions, we would not takeoff. Only after two hours and 40 minutes of waiting on a plane without a drink we're on our way..
Because they found us a last-minute flight, and I couldn't sit together and we sat apart.
The whole flight was under pressure, as the takeoff was too late and we didn't know if we were going to make the flight of the sequel, and we really didn't fit to stay in New York And our luggage has already been automatically moved to Israel.
We were trained to eat vegetarian kosher food on El Al flight and both United Airlines flights didn't even understand what we were asking for.
We stayed hungry the whole flight.
For this reason, we have lost 44 flight points for each of us that we should have received if we were to fly in El Al as we were flying from Israel to Toronto.
In retrospect, I understood that he had planned and even paid to give me a "heaven's Gift" of El Al, late and 3.5.19 I celebrated my birthday and we thought we would fly by El Al.
Attached copy of my ID card. Appendix E.
We arrived in New York in the 99 minute and then pressed us to fly to Israel.
We did not sit together on this flight, but on both ends of the plane. 11 hours of flight.
We landed in Israel on Friday, 17:30. We're traditional people. The Sabbath entered in 19:07.
We were supposed to go to Haifa to celebrate a birthday at the hotel. We haven't managed to do that, Instead we went to the streets of the house default. We couldn't even eat, because we haven't been home in two weeks, and all the stores have been closed before.
One of the suitcases broke into our flight and we had to complain about a broken suitcase and fill out forms for replacement. It took us about an hour.

After all we've been through, we have no doubt that you will be entitled to a compensation for our mental and harassment.

Please note that we have approached El Al Company and they have said that the responsibility for your entire default.

Best regards
Sigalit Assor & Amnon Anavi
Zeharia Madar 3/44 Rehovot ISRAEL
Sigalit Assor 050-6232360
sigala@gp.gov.il
Amnon Anavi 02-3678176

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
03 August 2018 12:08:00 Lisa

Our flight Edmt- Victoria has been delayed by more than 3 hours due to a "maintenance issue". Terrible weather delaying flights is understandable; maintenance issue speaks to human incompetence, inconveniencing a great number of passengers.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
01 June 2014 12:06:00 Guest

It's a no thrill airline. But service and staff attitude is great. I have not encountered a flight that was seriously late or any lost luggage. I will keep flying them. But I had 2 flights where the entertainment on 1 side of the plane did not work for the whole flight. To me that was no problem since I watched a movie on my laptop. But to the rest of the passengers it could be an issue. And well I find the entertainment is not that great. But it a no thrills airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
08 February 2011 12:02:00 Guest

What has happened to Westjet? The only packages being offered out of Saskatoon are totally over-priced and flights take two days there and two days on the way back... Do you care so little for Sk. that you are willing to do that to loyal customers. My opinion of Westjet has completely gone down the tube. Air Transat looks better than the little or lack of competition. Hopefully Signature, Sunquest, Air Transat will feel our pain and step up to the plate and offer us viable alternatives.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
08 February 2011 12:02:00 Denis from Saskatoon

I thought West Jet's entry into the travel business would be a good thing. I was totally wrong it has been a disaster for Saskatoon and all of Saskatchewan travellers. Not only are your packages outrageouly priced your travel plans are not geared to the consumer, for example you expect us to go to Calgary then back to Toronto or Hamilton or Montreal then on to our destinations. The result is you have now wasted 2 days coming and 2 days coming home and are totally exhausted by the time you actually arrive at you resort. If that's the best you can do why don't you just ignore Saskatchewan and let other carriers service us. Earlier this winter we went to Punta Cana with Air Transat.. We flew directly there and made one stop in Jamaica on the way back. Now when you try to book another trip with the travel companies you end up with these West Jet outrageous travel arrangements. Used to like West Jet but now understand how llittle Saskatchewan counts. If you can't provide decent service why don't you just leave Saskatchewan to other carriers. Very frustrating maybe the solution is to start hounding the travel companies not to use West Jet as a carrier for Saskatchewan. We dont want to be limited to Mexico treavel which is what West Jet loves to push. Totally frustrated and annoyed By West Jet's treatment.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
18 October 2010 12:10:00 Guest

Advertised as a low cost airline however they seem to nickle and dime the customer. Charging for movies, blankets, pillows. They offer corny jokes enflight which seem to have worn out. Good safety record with modern up to date equipment. Meal service is unheard of. Comparing prices with the competition this is not a low cost airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
1 - 28 of 28
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2023 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/westjet_airlines/ 1 1 1