Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
HOME ⇒ Airline reviews & Traveller opinions ⇒ LATAM Airlines


LATAM Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about LATAM Airlines

10 September 2023 12:09:00 Night

Hello,
I just want to mention that you're mostly the worst airline in the whole world. Your applications don't work and integrate with each other. The customer support agents are so limited that they're unable to help and are just there to apologize and say we're sorry, nothing can be done.
Same reservations aren't given seat together, the app doesn't let you change your flight timings and you've to call for the same, and the charges are different for both. The reservation code isn't sent and you've to spend time calling LATAM to get the details.
There are an insane more reasons where LATAM doesn't have the tools to work for the convenience of the customer, the only reason LATAM is booked by people is because there isn't any alternative, on a world scale, no one would opt for this.
Hope this leads you to improve things.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
26 July 2023 12:07:00 ARJ

This was one of worries airlines. I ever been on in my life. Both of flight attendance nice. But they give you a grain bar with no water. Made no dollars or sense to me. Change gates like they change underwear. That how I miss my flight. How do you switch gates three time. One at gate 51. Then gate 54. Then gate 27. With a delay at 10:22am. So you have to run to your gate to caught it. Also the gate number is not on the ticket. Always have delay with there flight. I talk with one of the staff members. He was good at his job with analysis in all. But he just give all that cooperation talk. No customer service type of help tho. Like a cooperation robot. Nothing about him was genuine. The staff give you help. But they don't go out there way. They do just enough. Will never do business with Latam Airlines ever again. There no accountability for there mistakes. It flap on you. Like it your fault. When there is flaw with the business. I hope they get better with there business. Before it get shut down. I don't recommend this airlines to not body.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
27 May 2023 12:05:00 Leanne B

After travelling to Peru with 14 paramedics to participate in a charity trek, my luggage arrived 7 days after me.
My flight consisted of 3 transfers: London to Madrid, Madrid to Lima, and Lima to Cusco. I knew in advance that I had to collect my luggage in Lima and recheck in.
When attempting to collect my luggage in Lima mine was the only one not to arrive. I immediately sought help but was advised to board my flight to Cusco and the gate was about to close and open a claim when I arrive in Cusco.
Latam 1st admitted responsibility, then decided that no compensation would be paid as the case was opened in Cusco, not Latam. I explained that was advised to board the plane due to the gate closing but they would not accept this.
They are trying to tell me that it is my fault, despite the airline in Latam telling me that they withheld my luggage in Madrid and returned it to London, so it was never available for collection.
When my luggage finally arrived 7 days later, the staff at Lima airport were passive-aggressive and called security when I asked how I claim the delay. The gentleman made me feel so uncomfortable as if I has been in the wrong.
The lock had been forced open and everything inside the case searched. They emptied my 1st aid kit, and toiletries and threw all my clothing about, I felt completely violated. I have been treated appallingly from start to finish. Latam ruined this experience.

When returning home, 3/of my colleague's bags did not arrive at the final destination. Again, no responsibility excepted.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
22 April 2023 12:04:00 Guest

The equipment and staff on their flights are OK. But, their customer service is terrible and their website is unbelievably BAD. If you need to change a flight or get seat assignment or boarding pass forget about doing it online. You will get messages like this "Application Error -- Client Exception" -- that means it is your fault. Or, "System Unavailable". I have spent hours of my vacation time trying to get anything from this airline. I booked a flight from Santiago to LAX via Lima -- the night before the flight I decided to try to get a seat assignment and boarding pass and gave up after a couple hours of then just as I was heading to the airport I got a boarding pass and seat assignment sent to me MANUALLY -- that means they do not have an automatic emailer. Their web application and network is completely broken -- their computer system needs to be scrapped and everyone working on it needs to be fired -- they need to hire someone who knows how to build a 21st century version of an application with a 21st century network. I cannot say their customer service is bad because they have to use this broken computer system to make changes to your flight -- It will take you hours to get someone to pick up a call and then you are on the phone with them (usually for 90 minutes) hoping you dont get disconnected or run out of power on your mobile phone -- you can hear the person supposedly helping you swearing at their keyboard -- they continue to ask you what is your address and what is your birthdate because they are continually re-entering information. This company can only stay in business because they have locked up South America.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
10 March 2023 12:03:00 Rachel

We bought on July 22 return flights (business class) to go to Brazil for the carnival (feb 2023). On the day we bought the flights, we called Latam to reserve our seats, as the first row has more leg space and my husband is very tall. We stayed hours on the phone and received an email confirming our seats.

However, they allocated completely random seats to us on both of our flights. This is very disgraceful! We complained and they said:
"On behalf of LATAM please accept our apologies for the difficulties that such an unfortunate event caused, as we understand that seat rearrangements or other irregular operations can be very disturbing.

While we deeply regret all possible inconveniences, we need to state that our Company does not compensate for these eventualities, reason for which we are unable to fulfill your request."

It is disgraceful as one of the flights we were allocated separated seats on different rows! HOW COME? WE BOOKED THE SEATS MONTHS BEFORE AND RECEIVED CONFIRMATION FROM LATAM!

Very disrespectful!

On our return flight we also saw an elderly couple complaining that they were allocated different seats than their travel agent reserved. My friend that came back with them a couple of days before me said that they had the same issue, complained to the travel agency and they said that they have been doing this a lot.

SO BAD!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 2
25 February 2023 12:02:00 Innocente Granelli

We bought 2 tickets and included an extra bag to check in but erroneously we bought the 10 kg baggage weight. Once at the check in the day of flying, they told us our baggage was too heavy so we asked to pay for the difference between the 10 kg bag and the 23 kg bag, explaining of our mistake. They told us was not possible to pay the difference but we had to buy first a new 23 kg bag allowance and then ask for rembursment, giving us also the number to call for it.
I paid and later called the number they gave me. After 15 minutes of discussion with a no-speaking neither a basic English operator, he told me the rembursment for extra bag allowance was not possible because not of Latam policy! After pushing explaining they gave me that number exactly for extra baggage rembursment, he also admitted at Latam counter they told me that probably to expedite the process... how is possible? All this theatre to get profit of a few tens of euro? Believe me, do use buses in colombia instead of planes...they are so easy, cheap and flexible. Never in my life again with this company!

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
29 January 2023 12:01:00 Guest

Our flight from Sydney to Santiago with LATAM was cancelled due to the Auckland floods. No contingency flight was arranged. There was no communication from LATAM regarding what to do next. Call center staff had no idea what was going on with the floods and what LATAM's response would be (whether or not there would be a contingency and how to proceed). LATAM call staff became argumentative when we asked to speak to someone who knew what was happening in response to the flood cancellations and hung up on us several times. LATAM also refused to provide a full refund, claiming that another airline prevented them from doing so, even though the entire booking was through LATAM. They have essentially stolen from me. Definitely my worst travel customer service experience ever. I will be avoiding this airline in future.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
18 January 2023 12:01:00 Guest

Terrible company!! My parent dramatically passed away and they have done everything to avoid helping. From system problems to not being able to change flights when I called them, they are disgusting in this kind of situation.
What a poor ethical to avoid any solution when my family just need to attend the funeral and postpone our flight for a few days 🤮

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
16 December 2022 12:12:00 V Ferreira

I flew with LATAM from São Paulo to Auckland with a stop in Santiago (flights LA801 and LA753). Checked my baggage (one luggage and one guitar worth 10.000,00USD). Arrived in Auckland and waited until all the baggages gone through, my luggage was there the guitar wasnt. Then went to report it, was informed that the guitar was still in Santiago and would be put in the next flight. Im still havent got it, after several attempts to contact them they say that they are still trying to locate it. So there are two stories for it and no solution yet, thats unacceptable for a company. They made a long flight which is already difficult turn into a nightmare, I lost the whole day and a flight from Auckland to Christchurch.., think twice before trusting LATAM to anything youve got they dont have respect nor responsibility and dont care about their costumers well being.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
14 December 2022 12:12:00 Ravi

One of the worst Airlines. We flew from JFK to Santiago . Our connection flight was missed because of flight delays and baggage delay. It was impossible to find out a way to go from one terminal to another. Though it was not our fault we were made to wait for a 1 day to get the next connection flight. At first they asked us for more money, but after some intense several hours of argument they put us on a different flight. Service is terrible , no one speaks English.
Baggage is another nite mare., they charge 150 to 200 for a baggage. They intentionally do not let us book baggage 48 hours before , though the baggages were paid they still insisted on 150$ per baggage checkin and 60$ for carry one. Cheating ... Cheating .. Wonder how they are even surviving.
Disgusting. Never fly this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
12 December 2022 12:12:00 Sam

This was the absolute worst airlines , worst service, inefficient staffs ever.
Started with NZ transit visa- instead of sending information via mail, they wanted people to checkin at the airport downloading their app and what not. Staff was so inefficient and unhelpful, kept telling the non English speaking old Chinese ladies, " I don't speak Chinese, you need to download the app" . You would think for an international airport, they would have interpreter or a brochure in other languages. The app was already hard to navigate as it is and upon asking questions, the staff kept repeating " you have to download this app" - freaking inefficient.
At the counter asked about 100 questions, calling people over the phone for what reason why.
The staff at counter assured 3 times that the bags are going to be delivered to 2nd flight, guess what? No bags when I landed to my destination, my bag was left in NZ airport. AFTER CHECKING WITH THEM 3 TIMES.
Sitting on lounge after all the tedious checkins , ready to board and the staff came up to me asking more questions, the same questions about visa, papers, passport, which I have already said at counter, immigration, security and now again.
WHAT IS THE ACTUAL F..K WITH THIS AIRLINE, WHY THE HELL DO I NEED VISA FOR TRANSITING AND SINCE WHEN CAN WE NOT TAKE DUTY FREE ALCOHOL IN A 4 HRS TRANSIT FLIGHT.
I WOULD NEVER TRAVEL OR RECCOMEND OTHER TO TRAVEL WITH THIS AIRLINE. INFACT THIS HAS TURNED ME OFF TO EVEN TRAVEL TO NZ.
ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
11 December 2022 12:12:00 Luis de Lara

1 canceled a ticket on LATAM on
September 24th and asked for a
refund of the money paid. Since then I
have opened more than 10 cases
asking for a refund and they close
saying that in 15-30 days the money
will be in the account. I have been
asked several times for documents
and bank details. It's been almost 90
days and nothing has been returned
and they don't even respond to emails
anymore. Loss of £2,254.00. What to
do? Can someone help me? Luis de
Lara

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
22 November 2022 12:11:00 Leo

They top Air Canada for incompetence and ineptitude which is a stunningly high bar to surpass. Flight scheduled from Cuenca, Equador to Quito, Ecuador for January 2023. They have changed the flight no less that 3 times the most recent giving me 20 minutes to deplane get my luggage and catch my connecting flight to the Galapagos Islands. Called to complain and ask why my flight was changed. No reason given the change but they came up with the great idea of putting me on a flight arriving in Quito at 7:00 p.m........8 hours after my connecting flight was scheduled to leave. Finally got it resolved that I would catch a flight 3 hours earlier than I was supposed to and sit in the airport for several hours waiting to connect. Also apparently have no ability to have their notifications translated to English as i have to have a friend that speaks Spanish tell me what they are sending. Will never book any flight with them again. Unfortunately, there is no rating below 1 star as that is way to high for this airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
22 November 2022 12:11:00 Jordi

Please reconsider booking with LATAM Airlines, but if you do know that their customer service is quite slow and non responsive. I had to change my flight due to COVID and on their website it is communicated that penalties are waved in order to increase the amount of passengers who are regularly testing before travel and making safe decisions to change their flights if exposed to COVID. They took 2 weeks to respond to my customer support request and then charged me double of what my original ticket cost was. The amount of time I had to wait for support increased the cost of my ticket and customer support has done nothing to acknowledge this or help in any way.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
08 November 2022 12:11:00 Andriele

I will never buy Latam again. I bought the ticket for my mother to come from Brazil to Australia and I had called previously asking if I would need a visa for New Zealand and I was told no. My mother arrived at the time of boarding and had a problem with her cpf and we had to get her visa to New Zealand in a hurry and she almost missed her flight and was treated badly by an employee. After that I had to change my mother's ticket and even though I told the employee that my mother would have to stay with me more because she is helping me with my baby because I suffered domestic violence and I separated from my ex even though I had little money I had to pay more for the passage, zero empathy. Now I went to try to sell the ticket because my mother will be staying longer and the attendant wouldn't let me talk. Totally disappointed, lack of ethics, lack of humanity, hours on the phone and rude attendants even though I had all the patience. I want to expose to the world how wrong this company is.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
18 October 2022 12:10:00 Guest

We had a very pleasant flight with LATAM airlines. The check in was automatic, we could walk straight to the customs. Getting into the airplane, the service (we got even peanuts on a 45 minute flight) getting off the airplane, everything went very smooth. I would definitely fly again with latam airlines.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
08 October 2022 12:10:00 Guest

First of all WOW, I have never in my life had to confirm if I had a carry on bag during a layover, NEVER. Your final destination is attached to the bag and that is how the airlines know to take it from point A to point B, unless it's Latam. Had two layovers and during the first layover, while boarding the next flight, an attendant asked if we had only one bag checked in. Thought it was weird but didn't put anymore thought into it. During the next layover in Santiago, no one confirmed if we had a checked bag but no one ever confirms. I've flown enough to know it would be unusual because IT'S ON THE BAG! Landed in Sao Paulo and guess what, no bag. The airport said they found it and it was still in Santiago. The next day we got a call from Latam saying they lost it, seriously??? Now we've been told to give them 30 DAYS to find it, yeah right. At this point they might as well come out and say 'we found your bag and decided to steal it.' Anyone want to take a bet that after 30 days they'll say sorry your loss? I've never seen an airline so unprofessional but I guess that's what you get if you use a cheap airline, ugh.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
26 September 2022 12:09:00 Guest

Bought seats in advance to guarantee a good place a the company messed up after payment and never allocate the seats under my reservation

I Logged 3 Cases with Latam regarding my paid seats and nobody replied back to me to resolve this.

All the seats were paid then I rang the support today and they said it doesn't show there. what a mess of a company

First case logged 16/09 no response till now

Case 1 - 43 49 89 24 created 16/09/22
Case 2 - 43 91 99 87 created 22/09/22
case 3 - 44 03 39 81 created 26/09/22

lack of respect fro a customer.

I will never buy a ticket with them.. be aware

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
18 August 2022 12:08:00 JA

They have no compassion passengers. As long as their rolling in YOUR cash, your concern is NOT their problem. We arrived to the Orlando Florida airport about 2.5 hours before our flight to Peru (plenty of time right?wrong). We couldnt print boarding passes so we asked the woman at the counter for assistance. She smirked at us and said gates are closed and walked away quickly. At this point, we still had a little less than 2 hours before the flight.
No LATAM employee was able (or willing) to help us. We had no choice but to cancel our flight and demand a refund..which they promised us within 30 days. Its been months and still NOTHING. Every time we reach out, theres always an agency thats difficult to understand and communicate. A few days ago, I called to follow up, they said theyd transfer me to another agency..within 30 seconds, they hung up. I called a second time, same thing happened, they hung up. I called a 3rd time, they claimed they lost our case number. Theyre a big scam, every time you call to follow up on a problem, theyll play the telephone game with you! This airline needs to be shutdown immediately!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
09 August 2022 12:08:00 E.Iwassaki

I would like to thank Mrs. Vilma Rivero of Latam Airlines in Miami International Airport for the extremely valuable assistance provided to my father when he had lost his backpack on July 13, 2022. Her help was vital on the recovery of his belonging as well as her special attention to accommodate him in the next flight. We could not thank her enough for her kindness, professionalism and dedication to my father's needs. Our most sincere gratitude Mrs. Rivero!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
08 August 2022 12:08:00 Guest

SHITTY CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Didn't actually purchase a flight. My credit card information that was linked to my personal email was stolen and used to buy a roundtrip flight on Latam. And because the way the scammer stole my info, all the flight info was being sent to my email. So I actually had enough information to log into Latam and look at their flight and the NAMES of the scammers. I had ALL this information and Latam still wouldn't CANCEL their flight. Latam literally was ghosting me and refused to help me. I kept opening new cases and no one would get back to me and the * scammers successfully took their flight that I paid for since they STOLE my credit card info. I change their seats online so they couldnt sit next to each other since Latam clearly was trying really hard NOT to help me. * THIS AIRLINE. NO ONE FLY WITH THEM!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
24 July 2022 12:07:00 Heath Rawles

Booked a flight for myself and daughter for 23rd July at 17.40 from ASU Asuncion to Buenos Aires AEP arriving at 20.30. The flight was initially delayed due to 'bad weather' at Buenos Aires. The flight eventually took off at 6.25 pm and was scheduled to arrive at 21.21 pm, however, the flight was diverted to Uraguay and we were kept in the plane. Eventually the flight returned to ASU at around 11.30 pm. The airline did not book us into a hotel, neither did they give us a food voucher, they stated that as it was due to bad weather, there is no compensation. Flights AR-1645, AR 1227 and AR 1505 all landed on time at 21.25, 21.00 and 20.15 in Buenos Aires AEP. My LATAM flight number LA1602 was due to arrive at 21.21 and they claimed it could not land due to bad weather 4 other flights also landed at AEP slightly behind schedule, Flight AR1725 at 21.05, AR1889 at 20.35, AR1467 at 20.30 and flight AR1487 at 2030. This airline is the worst and should be avoided. They claim to have booked us onto a flight at 6 am, however, the confirmation for that flight has not arrived, I am worried they are lying and this nightmare will continue.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
22 July 2022 12:07:00 Rickard

Extremely poor service and rude staff.

The food is a joke, small portions and not tasty food at all. I had to ask for water during the flight since no one offered anything.

Im traveling all over the world and this is my absolutely worse experience with any airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
19 July 2022 12:07:00 Guest

Latam has the worst customer service I have ever experienced with an airline. I was on the phone for hours and they were still not able to resolve what should have been a very simple issue, adding an infant to my ticket.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
11 June 2022 12:06:00 Guest

I had the worst experience with LATAM Airlines. We had to change the flights to a later date and it was such a struggle getting in contact with anyone from the airlines to change. It took so long to get someone on the phone, and also a long time changing the flight. It was hard to communicate with them. We were finally able to change the flight and they told me on the phone that there would be no charge, so we didn't worry about anything cuz we had everything under control. The day of the flight arrived and we get to the ticket office and they say that we have a reservation for a spot on the plane, but the tickets we have are for our original date, which has already passed. I tried to get clarification on how we could have a spot but not a ticket, and they said it was because we never paid the fee to change the flight. I told them that they told me on the phone when we changed the flight that they told me there would be no charge. They said there might not have been a fare difference and so that would be no charge, but to actually change the flight is $300/person. I was upset and asked to speak to a supervisor. They said there was no one available and the only thing they could do would be to accept the payment. They said we could try calling the service center and seeing if they could do anything for us. We called. After 30 minutes waiting on one call, we tried on a second line. We got through on the second line after waiting for 45 minutes and were still on hold on the first call. The first one ended up waiting for over 2 hours before the call disconnected. At least we tried 2 phones... We finally got someone on the phone and they said we should have been informed that there would be the fee and they could submit a case to get someone to review our phone calls to see if there would be no fee. We waited on hold for probably another 30 minutes while they created the case. I tried to speak to a supervisor multiple times to try and get this figured out faster, and they would never let me. I asked how long it would take until I heard back and they said 6 hours. I told them that we needed it sooner because our flight left before then and we needed to get through security. They said they could expedite it but they made no promises. I then asked for a direct number so I could reach them faster instead of waiting on hold for almost an hour, and they said that was the ONLY number they had. Since it was an international flight, we had to get through security so we ended up just paying the $600 and hoped that once they figured everything out they would reimburse us. We made it on the flight and only after the flight had left, had we heard back from LATAM --- saying our case was closed. I called the next day asking the status and they said that because we paid the $600, there was no refund for that. I said we had to get on the flight and we hadn't heard back. We had to pay the $600, so I asked for a refund or a flight credit (probably for the best not to get this because I will not want to fly with them again) but they said it was in their terms and conditions when we bought the tickets that it said no refunds. I tried to explain the situation and he would not budge. I asked to speak to a supervisor to see if there was anything else that could be done, and he said there was none available. Worst experience. And now we are out $600. Never again LATAM!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
14 May 2022 12:05:00 Anj Hart

Booked to go from Auckland to Peru and then back again. Half way through our holiday they cancelled our flight home. Had to spend two days of the holiday trying to sort out flights home. They gave us one option - leave three weeks later going via Brazil. When we complained they then gave us another option go via Los Angeles on the day were were supposed to leave but then left us to sort out our ESTA visas to go through USA. I had to ring the UK to get my UK passport number as I was travelling on my NZ passport so that was more cost to me. We had paid for extra leg room seats, never got that money back!
So our trip home to NZ was Lima to LA, LA to Sydney Australia (On QANTAS) and then Sydney to Auckland with QANTAS. Our original flight from Lima to Auckland was available with QANTAS their partner airline BUT because we had booked originally through LATAM they could not arrange us to go with QANTAS..... yet they could from LA and Sydney... Go figure.
We then had to pay AGAIN for extra legroom seats which when we got on the plane the cabin crew knew nothing about and I had to complain and show them the payment receipt as LATAM had given us the WRONG boarding passes. The cabin crew then gave the other seats in extra legroom to other passengers who had not paid!
We were treated dreadfully on the LATAM flight. Was soooo glad to board QANTAS flights - we had to pay a extra for their leg room seats but once the crew had heard of our plight the QANTAS crew made us feel so comfortable and brought us treats.

When we got home I wrote to LATAM to tell them of our experience and they could not be bothered... we do not give refunds was their response.
I got really annoyed with them and their couldnt be bothered response and informed them as as a travel and tourism teacher I would using their customer service as an example of not what to do. They are now a case study in my class and the students pretend to be useless LATAM customer service and flight crew and the students critique what was bad service and what a good airline company should do.
I use the emails they send and even have s script which the students use. So one positive came out of the experience.
The annoying thing is that I want to go back to South America but the thought of flying this useless crew is so off putting. Even if I book with QANTAS you may end up with this bunch.
My advice for anyone thinking of booking with LATAM / or forced to book with them - warn your employees you may be three weeks later back to work.
Take all documentation needed to enter a variety of different countries around the world so you meet their visa requirements and also currencies of those countries so you can by a drink while waiting in the numerous airport lounges you will be forced to wait in.
Or just walk home!

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
10 May 2022 12:05:00 Isabel

The airplanes are recent and comfortable.
However, since this company has the worst service I have encountered so far, you will be very lucky to actually get on the plane, or get to your destination.
Trying to obtain information is even more difficult, even in big airports like the one in Bogota, where one can se at least 50 people in the LATAM counter.
The customer service is a joke, they disregard all and any claims, and do not follow the basic rules like: inform the passengers when there has been a change in the flight.

On top of this, their prices are really not competitive, so I would recommend never flying with them.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
06 March 2022 12:03:00 Alexandra Del Carpio

The worst service, first my flight was delayed, causing me problems with my connections. And now that I am at my final destination, my suitcase is missing and nobody knows where and all they did was give me a piece of paper saying we will call you. I will never fly with you again and I do not recommend it to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 1
11 February 2022 12:02:00 Guest

I Can't believe that this "airlines" are unable to answer, customer services are bad, they lie, they cancel my tickets and currently i'm unable to travel to my country. I so frustrating trying to call customer services. Definitely I will give them 0 Stars.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
04 February 2022 12:02:00 Jma

Booked my flight from Sydney to Lima and just couple of weeks before my trip, the airline canceled all my flights with no explanation
They sent an email given the option to change the flight or get a refund, but none of the links worked
I had to call the airline and they did not provide any explanation as to why or when there would be available flights. In the end I had no other option than request a refund which they told me can take up to 45 days

I don't recommend this airline. Terrible Chilean airline and not reliable.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
20 January 2022 12:01:00 Cintia

Contacted airlines on the day of travel as I was tested positive for covid19 while in Brazil and was not allowed to travel back to US.I was talking to latam in Brazil and they told me to email them covid positive result which I emailed to medif at latam.com.br and they also told me I would need to speak to Latam in US as flight was bought in US. My husband made a call as he was in US back at home and he spoke to Latam employee over the phone. Full story was explained to her and she told us we would get a full refund $691.67 within 7-15 days to the original payment method. I received email confirmation of that as well as protocol number for a reference. About 10 days later I emailed to follow up and latam replied saying refund is still being processed, however later on latam sent me an email saying they issued me $64 voucher which is something that got me very confused. They did not issue me any refund and they are trying to pass on $64 voucher for my ticket which cost nearly $700. There was zero mention over the phone that there would be no refund and we would need to rebook existing flight or we would need to use travel voucher. We got confirmed full refund would be issued and because of that I bought a brand new flight back to US at nearly $800 flying on 1/16/22 once I was tested negative for covid. Airline completely misinformed us/borderline trying to defraud us and they are not issuing a refund. Airline owes us $691.67 and an apology for lying to us and trying to rip people off which is totally unacceptable.
The case was reported to my bank as we are making a chargeback claim and we have also reported it to Department of Transportation, because they need to be investigated for trying to defraud people and keep their money.DO NOT BUY FROM LATAM
Case number 38164490 in case latam gets to read this

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
26 November 2021 12:11:00 C Adema

After going through the entire booking process they repeatedly declined my card because it's foreign, clearing all booking info. Then, if you try to book from the US site it suddenly magically works, but they charge DOUBLE the price for the same seat. I have wasted HOURS trying to book a flight with this terrible airline. I'm so sick of Peru ripping off tourists.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
07 November 2021 12:11:00 Frieda Campbell

Terrible service with customer service reps. Because of Covid my flight was canceled and I have been trying to book another flight since 2020, its Nov 2021 and they are still playing with me. I am a sick and elderly person!!! Terrible experience

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
20 October 2021 12:10:00 Nayara Maw

Latam are the worst company in history... I booked a business class ticket... then few weeks later Latam reschedule the flight I called to accept and change the date... which all went fine until the following day I received the new ticket which was in economy class when I had paid for business class... it has now taken me 3 weeks of endless calls and I am still nowhere near getting this issue resolved.. they refuse to let me speak to a manager... and refuse to change my ticket back to business class unless I pay a further £2000... or my other option is to remain in economy and pay £500 for my luggage and £64 per seat per journey its an absolute joke and the worst customer service I've dealt with in my entire life
I will never use them again

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
24 April 2021 12:04:00 Guest

We were unable to travel due to Ecuador going into a country wide lockdown due to COVID beginning 4/23/2021 and supposed to end 5/20/2021. We were to travel 5/1/2021 to 5/23/2021 but because of the lockdown were unable to do so. LATAM has kept 70% of the price of the ticket for each member of our party (there are 4 of us). Every other entity gave a full refund except for LATAM. NOT our fault that the country went into lockdown. Find another airline to fly with or take the bus.

The hoops you have to jump through to get a refund are arduous as well. I had to cancel one at a time, not the entire reservation. They will not refund to your credit card, only to your bank account. I filed for a refund yesterday and filled out their repetitious forms one-by-one and then they issue a travel voucher and then you have to go through the process again and give them your bank account information. NOT SECURE in my book. FLY with ANY OTHER airline but LATAM.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
24 July 2019 12:07:00 Guest

They do not have a customer service policy. So if something goes wrong good luck because it will not be their fault at all and they wont be able to help you.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
24 August 2018 12:08:00 Guest

Latam is a pretty amateur airline. They are a cheap airline in competition with other reputable airlines. They tend to oversell seats, which is a common practice, but their compensation makes me want to pull my hair out. Id recommend choosing another airline, if you find yourself flying with this airline then good luck but also check in as soon as an email arrives. Its first come first serve. I had noticed other people dealing with a similar issue on a different flight.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
27 March 2018 12:03:00 Raynel

Online seat selection is virtually no seat selection. Only a few rows of economy seats shown with very limited available seat.
Not worth the time looking at it. I made several calls to the customer phone number but their English is so poor I could not understand what they were saying, so I gave up trying to book a seat+

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
04 June 2015 12:06:00 Guest

LAN is mediocre at best but as soon as something goes wrong customer service is non existent. I have spent 6 months of mails and calls to LAN looking to get compensation for a delayed flight to Edinburgh fr om Santiago wh ere we were kept on the plane for 6 hours with no food, drink or medical service offered. LAN has published norms stating what should be done in the event of extended delays BUT these seem to apply only for flights to the US.
Finally LAN have offered me $US 100 compensation (on a $5000 ticket) for the delay .

why is it that LAN can ride roughshod over the passengers and still be voted best airline in South America - lack of competition - when compared with Far and Middle east carriers the LAN service is severely lacking and their logo ' The delight of Flying' is one of the biggest misnomers in the industry

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
15 March 2015 12:03:00 Janny

I have been waiting for promised and comfirmed compensation for lost suitcase on a TAM flight last Christmas. No money yet though it was supposed to be here in March, now for some reason have to wait another 20 days counting from March 2. Communication sucks big time, tweets and mail are not answered or with standard lines. Will I ever get my money?? Worst airline in the world. now mailing everything to the CEO. And no English is spoken!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
23 July 2014 12:07:00 Fernando Buendia

Very good service in South America specially in Chile and Peru, their planes are in a good state and their entertainment service is good. In Peru i prefer Avianca for domestic flights but Lan by far on international flights.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
28 October 2013 12:10:00 Guest

Unbelievably bad phone and internet support in English. I've been using the USA website and call center for four years and it hasn't changed. When you call the USA call center, you get a set of menu options in English, but the audio quality is so low that it's hard to understand the options. Think of the worst phone connection you've ever had and multiply by 1000. Seriously, it sounds like they're using discarded telecom equipment from the '60s.

If you do get though to a service representative, it's invariably some lady with a heavy accent. Presumably these ladies' only job is to talk on the phone to Americans from the USA in English, but they are really bad at it. This coupled with the bad audio makes for a very hard time being understood.

LAN processes their credit card transactions through an Icelandic company and this has always caused fraud alerts and declined transactions with my BofA cards.

The website usually works OK if you have a plain vanilla transaction, but doing anything with a multi-city itinerary or LANPASS causes problems.

DO NOT use LANPASS. It is so hard to use the kilometers. You can't use them for one-way flights and trying to use them on another airline in the Oneworld Alliance is next to impossible.

I don't want to be all negative. The actual planes are pretty new and nice. The in-flight service is pretty good and the food is above average. They are very generous with the wine. The actual flight experience is probably better than American or Delta.

In summary, only use LAN if someone else is buying the tickets and/or using a travel agent. I know this from 4 years of travel and probably a dozen flights, both from the US to Chile and within Chile. Keep your miles (kilometers) on another airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
16 January 2013 12:01:00 Guest

Very bad phone and web services.
If there is a problem with the web purchase or anything along
the route, you are on your own, no help fr om the agents.
even if you are a "Comodoro" the premier status.
Agents on the other side of the line work with very
rigid rules, and claim to know nothing about other departments.
They give their names courteously, but ask your name and from
wh ere you are calling from; without answers from you they
do not help you at all.

Do yourself a favor, choose American Airlines. They are helpful,
to a degree, depending on the agent, and do not ask irrelevant
questions.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
28 March 2011 12:03:00 Guest

As the previous person said, terrible service if you've booked online. My flight was cancelled and there were no suitable alternatives, so they said they would give me a refund. Six weeks later I am still waiting. Trying to get through on the 1800 number is a nightmare. You wait for 15 minutes, explain the problem, they put you on hold and then cut you off. I had to repeat this process over the next hour until I went mad. There are offices in Australia but the 1800 experience is exactly the same. Avoid like the plague.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
10 February 2011 12:02:00 Guest

Lan has terrible international support. From large countries like Australia you must call centres in Chile that are extremely difficult to hear and whose service is slow and inferior.
In the air the planes are adequate though not exceptional.
The ground staff all around SA rarely take responsibility for inconveniences suffered by clients at the hand of their airline. I flew with them several times in the course of a year and on nearly every occasion something went wrong including flight cancellations without notification, luggage damaged significantly by rough baggage collectors witnessed in the act and lost luggage on two occasions. Not a great portfolio if you ask me

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
19 May 2009 12:05:00 M Cunningham

Flew round-trip, LAX-Santiago. It was the most uncomfortable long-haul flight I've experienced. The seats are very uncomfortable. The service offered by the cabin staff was adequate and the meals, being typical airline fare, would sustain life.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
1 - 46 of 46
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2023 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/lan_airlines/ 1 1 1