Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login


Bahamasair Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Bahamasair

23 January 2020 12:01:00 Nixi DavisGuest

I have been waiting over 4 months for refunds on flights between West Palm Beach and Marsh Harbour that were cancelled by Bahamasair after Hurricane Dorian. I have e-mailed and called numerous times and still have not heard a word from them. They don't deserve 1 star.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
06 December 2019 12:12:00 Guest

They changed my flight by 1.5 hours which would have caused me to miss my connection. I contacted them for a refund 3 weeks ago and no one has responded to my request.

I rate them 1 star!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
04 October 2018 12:10:00 Guest

Allow me to explain a few things about Bahamasair.

Firstly, the airline is 100% government owned. That alone should answer many questions. Secondly, when a company has a monopoly with very little competition service and quality control suffer. Secondly, since its founding in 1973 the company has yet to make a profit. There are other little Bahamian airline companies that have started in recent years but the airline business is a brutal beast, with the government having to perform a daily dance with labor unions, fluctuating fuel costs and the astronomical costs of keeping an airline literally in the air.

Bahamians are quite loyal to all things Bahamian and Bahamasair is no different. But in recent years there has been attempts to offer better service to paying customers, local and foreigners alike.

Very little will improve at Bahamasair until there are changes in the airline's business culture and the government's 100% ownership. Unfortunately government budgetary constraints leave little room for optimism and privatization is a certain death sentence to the company.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
15 December 2017 12:12:00 Guest

They lost my bag and I'm having a real problem getting someone to answer the phone

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
14 November 2016 12:11:00 Guest

We own a condo in Freeport and fly out of Ft. Lauderdale about twice a month for the last couple of years. Yea, we try to save a buck by flying the cheapest airline but Bahamas Air is the worst. Flights are delayed from an hour to six hours, yea we waited until midnight to catch our 5:30 flight. Also, we can check in at Lauderdale in less than 5 minutes, but in Freeport it takes at least 1-1/2 hours. Then at both locations, we wait for the delay announcement and it comes within 10 minutes of boarding.

We're going to pay extra to fly Silver or anyone else!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
23 January 2016 12:01:00 Guest

Really bad service and communication from Bahamasair.
I flight from Nassau to Havana and never get my luggage. I am now waiting for 20 days on getting my lost luggage. And I was not the only passenger on that flight who didn´t get their luggage!

Never ever fly again with them!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
12 August 2015 12:08:00 Philip

I have been flying somewhere or other in the world at least once or twice a month for over twenty five years and Bahamas Air has beaten all others to the bottom of the pile. Fr om other reviews I've read this is not unusual. However, I wanted to add my recent issues with them.

My girlfriend and I flew round trip from Nassau to Cuba. Our return home was delayed for three days due to incompetence and failure to follow up on promises.

On the way back, the flight was oversold and we were bumped off in Havana. There was no call for volunteers and no consideration of priority for those with connecting flights in Nassau or nowhere else to go in Havana. According to local staff, this had NEVER happened before and they were completely unprepared to deal with it. "Come back in two days" was their initial statement. They were eventually coaxed into arranging a hotel and were great about it - very embarrassed that it had happened, etc. It still took around five hours of messing about in the airport, however.

We had very little cash left (because we thought we were about to leave) and as US credit cards don't work in Cuba, we were pretty much stuck and were not even able to contact the other airline that was getting us home from Nassau.

A VP from Bahamasair, Mr. Van Diah, got involved. He told us to ask for him when we got to Nassau and he would sort everything out. When we got there he was unavailable and neither he nor anyone else had done anything at all. As a result, we wasted most of the day in Nassau airport then got stuck for another night in Miami before finally making it home 3 days late.

To add insult to injury, the complaint process is absurd. After more than four months, Bahamasair eventually offered us a pittance for compensation, in travel vouchers - which I am unlikely to use as I will not subject myself to their appalling service again.

One star may seem harsh as they did provide us with accommodation and (lim ited) meals for part of our delay. Also the people we actually dealt with face-to-face were great. However the utterly incompetent way they handled everything pretty much trumps any positive aspects.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
22 April 2015 12:04:00 Melanie Melser

Very bad!!! We were just about to start, when the tire exploded. All the passengers screamed, until they finally managed to stop the plane. The crew wouldn't have realised that the tire exploded, if we hadn't screamed. Planes very badly maintained, security level low, staff not friendly, would never fly again with them. After that incident I heard that from time to time bahamasair has a crash... We were just so lucky that nothing worse happened!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
21 August 2014 12:08:00 Andre Paterlini Oliveira Vieira

About a month ago me and my wife were waiting for the departure of our flight (UP 212) from Havana, Cuba to Miami. Given some complaints I've read about Bahamas Air we were happy to board with 'only' 30 minutes delay. But that was short-lived. After another 20 minutes onboard, the staff announced that the captain had some extra checks to do and would soon be on our way. Another 30 minutes or more passed and we were told we had to leave the airplane for further investigation on the issue reported by the captain. We all had to wait 8 hours to have the issue resolved and with 9.5 delay we arrived in Miami. To our despair, as a result we've missed two other flights: Miami - Lima, Lima > Cusco. Even thought we had accounted for some delay on our travel plans, nearly 10 hours delay is simple unacceptable. To make matters worse we had absolutely no support from the Bahamas Air staff in Miami - they kept on saying it was a technical problem and there was nothing they could do. Fortunately our Miami > Lima flight was with American Airlines whom issued us another ticket to their next flight to Lima for free. Unfortunately we lost our tickets to Cusco and our first night in the hotel. I'll never again ignore reviews (no matter how much cheaper the ticket is) and I strongly recommend everybody to avoid flying with Bahamas Air.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
Отзывы 1 - 9 of 9
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2020 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/bahamasair/ 1 1 1