Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
 ⇒  ⇒ Sunwing Airlines


Sunwing Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Sunwing Airlines

08 December 2018 12:12:00 Bob Henderson

I was SEVERELY ELECTROCUTED on Nov, 24, 2018 in my suite 7217 at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. Neurosurgeon in Cancun says "you dodged a bullet"..."you should be dead".

I had paid SunWing almost $4,000 for the trip.

That was 2 weeks ago.

Despite the hotel Manager's assurances, I have not received any contact from Iberostar's Head Office or Insurers.

I am in incredible pain and have sustained major damage to my body.

I had to pay WESTJET for flights home because SunWing wanted $435 per ticket to let me fly home 2 days later than scheduled...I was severely sick
and could not fly until then.

Sunwing has not offered any comment from their management or any offer of assistance.

See my TripAdvisor review on Iberostar Grand Paraiso. See the photos of the horrible burns I am suffering with.

Sincerely, Bob Henderson, London, Ontario, Canada

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
05 November 2018 12:11:00 Linda

Had a great flight. Never have had a big problem flying with them. Look forward to next trip!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
29 August 2018 12:08:00 Alessansra

I was on a sunwing flight ftom costa rica monday and the flight attensants were sooo amazing. Very nice happy polite and helpful.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
29 June 2018 12:06:00 jiji

My sister and I booked a 4 day package from Montreal to Cancun which includes flight/all inclusive hotel with transport from and to the hotel. Due to an emergency, I had to fly a day later. I called Sunwing to ask if I can move my date by one day, they said no which I accepted; after all, it was unexpected. I bought a separate flight to cancun the day after. I asked if I could get a ride from the airport to the hotel the next day, again, I was told no which I thought was unreasonable. The shuttle goes to the airport every day anyway, they could have let me get the transportation since I didn't use it the day before. So I ended up paying $47 for a taxi to the hotel. The next day I went to the sunwing representative at the resort to confirm my shuttle back to the airport on my date of departure. Freddy reassured me that they had my booking and that I was good to go. The day of the check out, to my surprise, the shuttle had my sister's name but not mine!!! He refused to take me to the airport even though I had confirmed it, I PAID for it, he didn't want to hear anything. After I made a huge scene and made it clear that I had to get on the shuttle or I'd miss my flight, the driver let me on but only after he took down all of my details because ''he would get in trouble'' To say I'm disappointed is an understatement. This was a very expensive holiday, I should have bought the flights and hotel on my own instead of going through Sunwing. My flight to Cancun with Interjet was 10 times better than my return flight with Sunwing (and cheaper might I add). When I called sunwing about the change in my outbound flight, they said they could book me a flight for $385 when I checked online, I booked interjet for $250, you must be taking the * ! I will NEVER EVER book a holiday with Sunwing ever again!! you guys don't know what customer service is!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
28 June 2018 12:06:00 MIla Boseovski

We travelled with Sunwing from Toeonto to Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, March 6/18. What a horrible start to our vacation. Turbulence and rain, finally after circling, around the Puerto Plata, airport , we were not allowed to land. due to flooding. We were redirected to Punta Cana airport. There we landed and waited hours. Finally they told us that they would take us to a hotel. It was almost 10pm. When we got to the Hotel we were told to be ready ro leave for the airport at 3am. What? At 3am we were taken, by bus, back to the Punta Cana Airport. We waited for hours and hours and were ready to faint from exhaustion. Finally, we boarded the plane and went to Puerto Plata, arriving on March 7/18.. being Senior Citizens we found this whole ordeal overwhelmi and we lost two days of our vacation. At the two airports the Sunwing agents only appeared at the Sunwing boarding area, when we were to board a plane. There was no direction or update or explanation of what was to happen next. I had an accident at the Be Live Marien , Sunwing does not assume any responsibility and have told me they stand behind the Hotelier that the accident didnt happen and that they stand with the Hotelier. . We saw the trip on a Sunwing sight, Iwe booked with a Sunwing agent, We paid Sunwing by credit card and lastly, we flew with Sunwing Airlines. It is a shame that they have abandoned and ignored our plea of a multitude of emails.and show no allegiance or responsibility to their. Customers. I have emailed everyone from President to Lisa M. Customer service. And not person is interested or cares. We were offered $100,00 discount on our next vacation with Sunwing, what an embarrassment. Buyer be Ware!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
27 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

the most horrible service with no responsobility taken and no care. delayed every single time and by many many hours

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
16 May 2018 12:05:00 Marion

It appears as though Sunwing is the least likely of all chartered airlines to care about their passengers.
I was scheduled to depart Toronto to Dominican Republic in May 4, 2018 at 4:15 pm. Around this time a wind storm also hit Toronto and grounded our incoming plane in Buffalo. I understand the need for this action. My complaint is with the way updates were related to passengers. We were told the flight will leave at 6:30 pm and informed to meet at an other gate. The revised time was again revised to 9:30 pm and we were instructed to relocate to yet another gate. At 10:00 pm we were advised that Sunwing is locating a crew. By this time flights were leaving Toronto one by one. 11:00 pm we were advised that a crew cannot be found and the flight will leave the next day at 6:30 am. And passengers were instructed to go home. Out of towners like myself were asked to join the line for hotel chits. After about 10 were issued they were " all out " and suggested we book and pay for our own room. Too late ... all the local hotels were fully booked. After 19 hours of waiting at the airport we finally boarded the plane at 6:30 am and lost one day of vacation. The compensation? $150 discount on my next Sunwing booking. Really? That is NOT compensation. Why would I book Sunwing ever again? If you choose this carrier then caveat emptor...buyer beware. Be prepared for disappointment.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
16 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

Pay more and stay far, far away fr om this carrier.

Our flight going to the DR on May 5, 2018, was delayed by 19 hours. What this translated to: was a loss of one day of vacation. We were given $150 vouchers for future vacation and talking to my fellow passengers, no one will use the voucher, nor fly with the company again. Given this, we paid more for this vacation and Sunwing should reimburse all passengers real cash and not offer vouchers that no one will use.

Furthermore, the Sunwing reps at the airport did not get any help fr om the Management. Wh ere were they???. No hotels were arranged for us and it was nothing but a "comedy" of misinformation after misinformation. After making us race about the airport over and over again, we were told that there was no staff to man the flight...REALLY???. Wh ere was management and why did they not call replacements...simply the management of this airline could not organize a cold shower..."lovely" customer service...so thrilled by the care afforded to all of us...Succinctly, as stated above: STAY AWAY FROM SUNWING.

The Sunwing reps in the DR were no better. No one assisted hurt people on the resort, again creative misinformation was the rule of the day. Succinctly: if the reps saw a line up, they ran away or claimed that they knew nothing...As I said STAY AWAY from Sunwing, I know that I will and so will the majority of my fellow travelers.

My rating of this company would firmly hold at negative five.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
01 May 2018 12:05:00 OMG NO!

Both flights, departure and return were nightmares!
We knew not to expect luxury with the bargain we got , but....
During an ice storm, which was frightening in itself, the airline refused to cancel its flights. When asked if we could go home, they threatened that we will lose our money paid for the whole vacation.

We weren't expecting to be treated like prisoners with rations!!!
We were shifted from gate to gate for 19hrs, as if that was going to keep us all quiet!

Then The excuses were out of line:
- that the plane had engine failure,
- the other airlines have precedence on the Tarmac over ours, and the weather was pushing Sunwing back of line. What????
- the weather - which should have signalled an immediate cancellation until further notice, but Not to be told "stay put" or we won't get our money back.
- the employees on the Tarmac crew went on strike and refused to work.
- the gate attendants rude and snide remarks were disrespectful for many with health issues and babies!
- Finally on the next morning the flight was cancelled, only to be told that everyone should come back in four hours.
- taxi chits were written by hand by one (of five) attendants so that took hours, by the time we got to the podium, it was futile to leave the airport. We'd just have time to do a full circle home to airport ride!
Even -that- wasn't going to happen, because our baggage was still in the baggage trucks getting soaked on the Tarmac.
The ground crew refused to unload our bags, for another few hours!
By the time we got ours, it was 15min to check in time.
We decided to carry on with the trip (way bad decision!) I think a few people talked us into it - we were all sleep deprived and dehydrated.

So we're back at the same gate and delayed yet again! "Engine trouble"
OMG I look out the window, same plane as hours ago! Shouldn't that one be in a hangar being repaired?
What about contingency plan planes? You know ten percent on standby for just this exact reason?
- suddenly we saw people boarding, no announcement or signal that we were to board.
The take off was frightening, so was the landing, as the plan passed through the tip of hurricane Maria.which destroyed Costa Rica.
OMG! I kissed the ground when we got off.

Return flight: Delayed one hour.
Broken engines, washrooms out of service on the flight, toilet paper and sink water ran out - on a four hr flight!! OMG WTF!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
17 April 2018 12:04:00 D. Bezjak

Worst airline ever. They ruined my five day vacation to Puerto Plata on April 15, 2018.
After a delay of more than 18 hours (flight was originally scheduled to depart at 2:15 pm) we were not able to get any answers fr om anybody at Sungwing. No idea how much longer we had to wait. Changed gates three times. Four different Sunwing flights had the same situation, while other airlines were boarding and leaving Toronto despite the bad weather situation. At 1 am we were asked to pick up our luggage from the baggage area and go back to the desk to check in for our flight that supposedly would leave a 6:15 am. We waited until 5 a.m. in the baggage area and our luggage never showed up. The Sunwing rep told us they didn't know wh ere our luggage was. Again, four different Sunwing flights with the same situation. No departures, no luggage, no answers!!!
Finally, at 9:00 a.m. with no answers and no luggage we decided to cancel our trip and go home. We had already wasted two days of our five days vacation!
I hope we get our refund as they promised, and I hope they find my suitcase and send it home soon!
Do yourself a favor: DO NOT FLY WITH SUNWING,!

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
25 March 2018 12:03:00 Guest

They simply dont care about there customers. They charged me 50$ for a privileged seat in row 15 witch is a emergency exit row therefore seat does not recline! After calling customer service they simply dissmised my demand. I would of accepted a partial refund Worst airline ever

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
25 November 2017 12:11:00 Guest

5kg carry is a joke,went from direct to not ,rude at counter ,then give a $50 coupon to be used with them in a year?stay as far away from Sunwing! I will have a party when they go under!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
03 November 2017 12:11:00 Guest

I experienced terrible customer service from Sunwing. Far beyond simply bad. Rude. Uncooperative. Dismissive. Do not expect Sunwing to resolve any travelling issues that may arise for you. They truly don't care about their customers.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
06 January 2017 12:01:00 Guest

I like Sunwing - its a pretty good experience for a charter airline and i have flown south and to europe with them

I admit I like porter more and think all airlines could get tips there - but Sunwing is a bargain compared to Air Canada and others and so I accept that!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
26 December 2016 12:12:00 Guest

Awful experience! We were supposed to leave Santa Clara (Cuba) on December 17, 2016 to land in Montreal at 00.40 am. As the plane from Canada arrived to Santa Clara late, it was impossible to land in Montreal airport before 1 am. So the Sunwing company made a decision to take us to Toronto instead and promised that we would leave for Montreal early in the morning, around 6 am. LIES!!!! We landed in Toronto about 2 am December 18, 2016. We had to spend more than two hours standing in a huge line waiting for check-in just to get our boarding passes for a 10 am flight (not a 6 am flight as promised). But it was not the end!!! At 10 am, we learned that there was no crew to take us to Montreal, as "our:" crew had left for Quebec. They suggested that we wait till 1 pm hoping that the crew would get back from Quebec. At 2 pm, we got in the plane. As the result, we had to spend 12 hours in Toronto airport waiting for our flight back home to Montreal....We landed in Montreal at 16.00 (not at 00.40 as it was expected). Wonderful vacations were ruined. I will never travel with Sunwing again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
23 November 2016 12:11:00 Annette Melhado

To whom it may concern,

I would like to give a big thank you to the flight crew on Flight WG 781 out of Montego Bay on November 20, 2016. My partner and I were traveling back from spending a week at Jewels Dunns River when she got sick and had two seizures. The quick and professional actions by the flight crew helped us through a very difficult episode. We were met by an ambulance on arrival and she was taken to the hospital immediately. She has since been diagnosed with a hemangioma brain tumor. I would also like to thank the two nurses on board that assisted my partner they were a God send! Pam and Angela we will be forever in your gratitude. I am sorry I was unable to get their last names in all the confusion. Thanks again Sunwing Flight Crew.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
06 November 2016 12:11:00 Guest Pat

Wow I flew to cuba nov.2015 my first time flying. Flight there and home was great. Flight staff was great. Resort great food not so much but it was cuba. I will leave for Mexico next week. Price much cheaper than others. I will continue to use sunwing great job sunning

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
02 November 2016 12:11:00 Guest

Terrible, terrible service! Not sure where to start , don't fly sunwing. Customer service, less than a kilo overweight, wanted to charge crazy amounts. Terrible service in puerto Vallarta from the singing reps there. They sat two really drunk people in the emergency rows for free after trying to sell them to us for 50 each as we were at end of Check in line Pretty sure that's a bad idea as they had trouble walking there and the sunwing reps had to pull guys out of bar at airport to board plane

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
16 May 2016 12:05:00 Guest

I recently flew fr om Vancouver to Punta Cana with Sunwing. There's a lot that I can say about how poor my experience was with Sunwing, but I'm only going to describe two things that bothered me the most.

First, we were seated in the elite seating on the plane. While you do get extra leg room, the elite seating is actually the emergency exit! With it being an emergency exit, the seats do not recline and for a 7 hour flight, sitting upright the entire time is very uncomfortable. I assume the extra leg room in the emergency aisle is probably because of wh ere the seat had to be bolted to make sure there is adequate room for exiting the plane (in the event of an emergency). So Sunwing is charging extra for these seats, which I think is ridiculous.

Second, when we booked our flights, the itinerary said direct flight from Vancouver to Punta Cana and one tech stop on the way back. We presumed the tech stop had something to do with the wind. While everyone was getting settled on the plane to depart from Vancouver the pilot then announces that due to unforeseen circumstances and the number of passengers, they have to make a tech stop in Winnipeg! Funny enough, three days before the flight I was speaking to someone and they had told me Sunwing is notorious for announcing these last minute changes. I understand that emergency landings are sometimes required, you know, in the event of an emergency, but I don't particularly understand why a tech stop had to be scheduled for the way down when it was advertised as a direct flight. The number of seats on the plane hasn't changed, and Sunwing should know how many passengers have booked the flight...

I likely won't be booking with Sunwing again unless the price is right, but even then, if the flight is a lot less that the other airlines, you get what you pay for...

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 5
24 February 2016 12:02:00 Guest

First time with Sungwing, but I'm sure will be the last time!!! We flew to Varadero on Jan 27th from Pearson Airport. What they called champagne service just a tiny cup for it. I was ok with that. But our returning flight was horrible. After we passed Miami, the pilot told us we have to go back to Varadero because of the problems of the airplane. We never met this condition before. After we got to the Varadero airport, no staff showed up to take care of us. Our flight was around 9pm, but we left the resort at 6pm, didnt have anything to drink or eat since the whole afternoon. Finally one of the staff showed up after 3 hours, and told us we have to go back to the hotel at 2am in the morning. The day after, we had to go over the security check in the airport again, all the duty free sealed bags had to go into out overweight luggage. We didnt receive any champange service at all ,the only selection of the food is Vegetarian sandwich which full of carrots. It was disgusting! I tried to contact with sunwing customer service, but couldnt hear anthing back from them. I promise this will be our last time fly with sunwing

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 2
11 February 2016 12:02:00 Heather

My husband and I travel every year with sunwing. We like the elite package which includes extra leg room not waiting in line, and also extra weight. The seats are fantastic you get served first and off first. The airline staff are fantastic, we would not go with anyone else. We love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 3
05 January 2016 12:01:00 If you like gambling...

...fly with Sunwing!

PROS:
* Usually cheaper than other airlines. Sometimes MUCH cheaper.
* Hot meals included
* Seats are actually pretty comfy. Elite Plus upgrades have more legroom (but double-check when booking to be on the safe side)

CONS:

* Delayed Flights (half an hour up to 6 hours if you are supposed to leave on a red-eye)
* Lost luggage or items that you may or may not get back
* Having to check carry-on luggage over 5kg/11lbs and pay a $25 fee by being sent into a second line where it takes 10 minutes for your payment to go through once you get to the front of the line.
* Longer wait times in check-in lines compared to other airlines due to so many people having to check carry-ons.
* Attendants who don't care much because their job sucks (I had to listen to the attendants complain in the back about how the person who does their schedules is totally incompetent).
* Limited/zero help from Sunwing representatives if something goes wrong and you try to contact them by phone. If you do manage to contact someone, they might tell you to call another number...which doesn't exist.

CONCLUSION: You get what you pay for! Only travel with Sunwing if your priority is to save money and you can handle the above possible inconveniences (all based on experience). Good and economical if you AREN'T on a tight schedule and can go with the flow. TERRIBLE CHOICE for anyone who cannot handle stress well.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
17 October 2015 12:10:00 Bill

Exceptional service and hospitality. Took flight from Toronto to montego bay Jamaica on October 11 and returned on October 17 back to Toronto. Service was exceptional and both my wife and I enjoyed travelling with this airline. No complaints at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 5
13 August 2015 12:08:00 Guest

My family and I took a roundtrip from Charlotte,NC to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. I will say we have never had such a wonderful experience flying. The staff was fantastic, check in perfect, flight was amazing and we were treated wonderfully on the flight. How awesome is it to watch movies both ways eat a pizza have a drink and relax. Our transportation to and from airport was amazing as well. I was so nervous when I read the reviews before we went. I am here to tell you we will definitely book again and recommend this airline. Thank you Sunwing!

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 3
18 April 2015 12:04:00 Guest

Flight to and from Los Cabos over New Year had endless issues. We were 3 hours delayed leaving Toronto and when we arrived late at night in Mexico many passengers found their luggage had not arrived. We were told it was a weight issue with the aircraft but interestingly all the heavy golf bags made it!
One family member had no luggage, including eyeglasses and some medication for 2 1/2 days. She was given a $50 bill (CDN) to buy things but $CDN not accepted there.
On the day of departure we packed and assembled in the lobby only to be told there was a 4 hour delay. We hung around the lobby for longer only to be told eventually that the flight was cancelled and we had to stay another night.
No communication from the airline during or since the trip despite numerous emails and phone calls from several people on the flight

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 1
02 February 2015 12:02:00 Coby & Jonathan

Simply stated, avoid this airline. The check in served only to catch any overweight carry on baggage, in order to charge overweight penalties. They got us in Punta Cana by refusing to check us in until we gave them our carry on baggage to weigh in. They charged us $200 to put what they claimed was a 0.7 kg overweight carry on in checked luggage. As experienced travelers we weigh our baggage. They wouldn't even consider that their scale could be wrong. It was either pay up or miss the plane.

Is this review helpful? Yes 20 / No 3
27 January 2015 12:01:00 Guest

Sunwing planes are old not modernized, they are squeezing every back out of you, even a free can of coke is split to plastic cups by 3 (more pollution) they were short of sandwiches at the half of on the plane, and telling everyone that the only free option is some dry, crusty bun with Montreal meat (only people from Montreal like that kind of meat , why do they feed the whole world with that ? Arabs, Lithuanians , Swiss they don't eat that ) , no personal TV , movies played , such a drags, hard seats, headphones inputs work only in mono if you don't purchase their headphones ! Unless you have the old two jack systems by any chance with you ( You are not , because today you use I phone or Samsung, 1 jack system Headphones ), 6 hour trip from Edmonton, Canada to Cancun , Mexico could more pleasure.....and they are not the cheapest either , 1000 more then Transat or West jet which are way more pleasure to flight , personal TV, and free WI-FI on board! ....Sunwig has to improve their planes and service, next year if I don't see newer planes I am not going with them , that's for sure ... . They have good pilots going smoothly with those 20 years old Boeings over brewing storm over the Gulf of Mexico , but they have to go with the time common !

Is this review helpful? Yes 15 / No 3
12 January 2015 12:01:00 SeeKay

I didn't think getting cheaper plane tickets meant I would have to endure horrible service and attitude from the staff. First time taking Sunwing airlines from Toronto to Vancouver. Check-In was horrific at the airport because we already checked-in online and they did not have a specified line just for baggage drop off. So we had to wait forever in line just to put our baggage down, in the same line as the people who hadn't even checked-in yet. So what was the point of checking in online? Customer Service was very rude to us during check-in.

On the way back from Vancouver, same thing with the lines being a mess. There was no counter specifically for baggage drop so we had to fight with the non checked-in customers to get a counter. Our flight was boarding at 11pm. After hours and hours of delay after delay, we finally boarded our flight THE NEXT MORNING at 8:45am. Customers complained to the staff and the people simply said they don't care how we feel about their airline.

We are still paying customers even if we get cheap tickets. I don't think just because we pay less it means we get to be treated this way. I would rather pay more for other airlines than to take this airline ever again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 19 / No 3
06 January 2015 12:01:00 Guest

My wife and I were on the Sunwing flight 262 fr om Manzanillo to Vancouver on Saturday Jan 3rd 2015 that was diverted to Abbotsford due to low fuel. The flight was supposed to land at 8:40 pm...we ended up leaving the airport at 12:40 am on the 4th. Many bags did not arrive in Vancouver and mine was one. I have contacted Sunwing 4 times, it id now 5:45 pm on the 5th and no one from Sunwing has bothered to return my inquires about the wh ereabouts of my luggage. It is very frustrating and I find it totally unacceptable. Sunwing is a joke of a company, they couldn't care less about their customers.

Is this review helpful? Yes 17 / No 3
01 December 2014 12:12:00 Brenda

Flew to Las Vgas Nov 27-30. Paid 35 each for Elite Plus. Extra leg room in row 1 but seats very narrow and uncomfortable. No champagne service and hot towels provided only on return. The Bistro service meals were disgusting - in fact my "vegetarian pizza" looked no different than my egg/cheese on a pastry bun on my previous flight 4 days earlier (other than having pizza sauce inside). The staff carried on long and loud personal conversations that included much complaining about other crew members. On the way home there was even complaining about having to do the manifest and doing a head count which was deemed "a real pain" so it was assigned to a trainee to do. Incredibly, a female attendant spent 10 minutes in the bathroom doing her makeup and when she came out she told the poor guy who was waiting for awhile that she wasn't finished yet and he would have to wait a few more minutes while she got another toiletries bag and finished her personal freshening up! The movie on the way down couldn't be seen due to poor screen quality and on the way back it was "How To Train Your Dragon" - for a flight of adults - ridiculous! Where are the screens every other flight I've taken where you can select from a choice of movies, TV shows, radio, etc? The volume control didn't work well so it was either too quiet or too loud. My luggage on my return flight NLT came out towards the end. Elite Plus is a joke and I will never ever fly Sunwing again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 13 / No 1
28 August 2014 12:08:00 Guest

Always delayed, small planes, rude staff

Is this review helpful? Yes 20 / No 0
27 April 2014 12:04:00 Sheila

Hi , flew with 12 friends via Sunwing last September for a trip to Cuba . Our flight was at 7.00am. but was delayed to 10.30pm. We all got a $150.00 voucher for a next flight which will be taken this September . They also gave us vouchers for meals and a room at a hotel nearby if we wanted . We always fly Sunwing .

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 15
18 April 2014 12:04:00 Guest

Stay away from this airline. Bad service, discusting food, rude staff and terrible customer service. Just stay away.

Is this review helpful? Yes 28 / No 1
29 January 2014 12:01:00 Guest

January 20 sunwing had a 7 hour delay prior to leaving vancouver to cancun. On the flight home it was late again and we were told by the cabin stewardess that people would be removed from the plane if they kept complaining

Is this review helpful? Yes 24 / No 7
28 January 2014 12:01:00 Mona

Disapointed with Sunwing Customer service after a vacation, I have sent two emails since they will not take your complaints over the phone and have received no response not even a confirmation email.......poor business practice

Is this review helpful? Yes 27 / No 4
01 September 2013 12:09:00 punta cana from cvg in august 2013

We had a perfect trip with sunwing.clean nice plane great service and very friendly there and back.I was scared to death after reading all the bad stories but that was not the case at all.I would fly with them again tomorrow and never think twice about it.thank you sunwing for a wonderful trip see you next year.and yes the Macao palace was awesome we love vacation express.

Is this review helpful? Yes 17 / No 32
22 August 2013 12:08:00 Guest

I love Sunwing! It is affordable and you get a free meal, free head phones for entertainment, and free wine with your meal. Yes, delays happen... but all airlines have delays. Most of the problems people complain about such as delays, rude staff, and not so nice resorts are common every where. I have travelled all over the world and find that north americans have unrealistic expectations and are quick to complain and blame. The in-flight service is very good compared to many American carriers. Also, the flight attendants are genuine, not fake and I like that.

Is this review helpful? Yes 20 / No 31
24 February 2013 12:02:00 Guest

We were on a Cuba return to Ottawa on Feb 17, 2013, our departure was delated by 18 hours, they say due to a part needed. They did not supply any information at the Airport and finally took us back to a hotel in the early morning.

DO NOT USE THIS AIRLINE.......

Is this review helpful? Yes 38 / No 3
20 January 2013 12:01:00 Evelyn

Our first time using Sunwing airlines for holiday to Puerto Vallarta.The flight to PVR was uneventful and nice.Highly recommend to other travellers.

Our flight home is a different story.Check flight status online before heading to the airport and no changes in schedule.
Always try to get to the airport 2 or more hours before flight times however was shocked to find a 2 hour flight delay.
Sunwing provided us with a dinner voucher,which is nice but does make a long day,we finally got into Toronto at 4:40 a.m.

Sunwing has my email to notify me of any changes,never got that email. This is the reason why I had to do this review.

Hope your company will try their best in the future to do a better job in informing passengers of changes.

Is this review helpful? Yes 26 / No 5
04 December 2012 12:12:00 Guest

Never fly Sunwing. They lost my luggage. Noone ever picks up the phone. Information they give is misleading and probably aimed at wearing our the client to the extent he/she gives up. The flight was delayed, check-in can take you many hours. It does not seem that this is a very honest business model

Is this review helpful? Yes 39 / No 4
11 July 2012 12:07:00 Guest

Never fly with Sunwing .IF you ever have any issues be prepared to speak with no one and only by email or letters .They drag out the complaint resolution process until you give up.

Is this review helpful? Yes 44 / No 5
23 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

I will never ever fly sunwing again. They are the worst airline. I would rather pay an extra $1000 to fly with someone who doesn't show up 20 hrs after your original departure time to go home.

Is this review helpful? Yes 37 / No 5
17 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

Where to start? We were so excited for our trip to Mexico that we shrugged our shoulders when our departing flight was an hour late and we were squeezed like sardines on to the smallest plane ever where my boyfriend had to sit with his legs open the entire time due to absolutely no leg room, and I couldn't even get up to pee.

Our first morning orientation with our assigned Sunwing rep was lovely. She was charming, energized and all too eager to sell us trip packages. After the meeting she took her card back with her contact number on it, and we never heard from her again, instead, were passed on to a bunch of indifferent morons who couldn't care less about us once our money was gobbled up for our planned day trip (a Tulum-Xel-Há combo that cost us $260).

A long story short, we were abandoned in Tulum by our tour guide who started driving the bus away without us (but with all of our money and belongings!) despite that we were at the mentioned meeting place on time. We only managed to catch the leaving bus when my boyfriend jumped off of a moving tram, screaming and tearing up his feet somehow managing to catch up with it, and pounding on the side of the moving bus. We found out from other passengers later that they had seen us and were telling the guide and driver to stop, but they were just ignoring us as long as possible. Once we got on the bus injured, crying (me anyways) and out of breath, the tour guide had the nerve to blame it on us and say "Don't do that again!". Are you kidding me? We were a split second away from being stranded an hour away from our resort with no money, and nobody at Tulum willing to help us or even provide us with a telephone to contact our resort!

After complaints to multiple Sunwing reps, a hand written * of time letter, and a full day of waiting, they said they could do nothing for us. No money back, no credit towards another day trip. They told us that "maybe" we could have a free hat or tshirt!?!?!?!?

Our flight home was 5 hours delayed (despite that it's only a 3.5 hour flight to Canada) which meant after check-out we had no room at the hotel for 8 hours until airport shuttle pick-up. Sunwing didn't let us know until the last possible second, any only via a cowardly, hand-written note with no contact info or trace of a Sunwing rep. After the hotel spent 20 minutes helping us track down someone who works for Sunwing, they said they would only comp us (with a room or anything) if the flight was delayed more that 24 hours!!! The flight home was freezing on top of the sardine squish, and we were miserable and disoriented upon return.

Anyways, I'm leaving a lot out but let me just advice - pay a few hundred extra bucks and book your package with Westjet or a better company than Sunwing!

Is this review helpful? Yes 44 / No 8
15 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

Another bad experience on June 1 to Cabo. Delayed 8 hrs and then returned to Toronto when we got over Chicago. Very frightening for everyone on board. Were treated very badly upon return. Missed 2 days of vacation that we had looked forward to for a long time. This airline is so disorganized we will never fly with them again.The staff did not know what was going on and we were made to feel it was our fault and we should not be upset.Sounds like this happens quite frequently. I am waiting for response for compensation. I will fly out of Detroit from now on, as this never would have happened there.

Is this review helpful? Yes 27 / No 3
11 June 2012 12:06:00 P.ZACH

BOOKED AN ALL INCLUSIVE DEAL TO RIU VARADERO FOR JUNE 1, 2012..WE WERE SUPPOSED TO DEPART AT 6. PM FRIDAY BUT WE WERE DELAYED FOR 17 HOURS .WE GOT A $20 FOOD VOUCHER AND A HOTEL ROOM AT THE AIRPORT FOR THE NIGHT .WE GOT TO OUR HOTEL IN VARADERO AT 1 PM SATURDAY .THE SUNWING REP OFFERED US A $150 VOUCHER TO USE IN FUTURE VACATION .. WE ARE VERY UNHAPPY WITH THE WAY WE WERE TREATED BY SUNWING STUFF AT THE AIRPORT AND ALSO DISAPPOINTED WITH THEIR REPS AND COSTUMER SERVICE PEOPLE AT THE RIU .. OTHER PEOPLE WERE COMPLAINING ABOUT LONG DELAYS THEY HAD EXPERIENCED IN THE PAST ..VOUCHERS DON'T MAKE UP FOR LOST TIME AT THE BEACH AND THE SUN FOR US CANADIANS .

Is this review helpful? Yes 30 / No 2
01 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

I had a very bad experience with sunwing airlines. We were supposed to fly to Mexico, los Cabos, 6:10 am. When we got to the airport at 4:00 the line up was soooo huge it would scare you! The reason was explained as a problem with their computer system so everythinggg had to be done manually! Just imagine all the passengers where checked in manually and although it was already past the time of our departure, the staff made everyone to open their luggages and take out say a kilo!!!! anyways, on our way back, we were supposed to leave 7:30 am to catch our flight of 10:40am, but when we came to the lobby, we were told we have 6 hours delay!!!!!! the sunwing staff kept saying they have no further information!!!! Then again, after checking out at 12, we were informed of another 2 hours of delay!!! the funny part is that we had another flight to catch in 18 hours and already we have lost 8 hours in between them!!! anyways, the staff were not helpful and a liitle bit aggressive as well!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 24 / No 0
10 February 2012 12:02:00 Gaves76

Will never fly sunwing ever again. The turn a five hour flight to a seven and a half hour flight because they decide to fly six hundred miles south to Aruba to pick up passengers. We pay for two elite rooms and we get offered one room with two cots. I call to seek issue with the company and they tell me to email them. I do and no response. I will be telling everyone NOT to book with sunwing. We finally speak to an agent at the hotel who tells use that they always overbook the elite rooms and that ey do not have access to the rooms they book. That comes from a sunwing rep wearing their trademark orange shirt.

Is this review helpful? Yes 26 / No 0
25 September 2011 12:09:00 Guest

They do not bother addressing or caring what the customer's issues are. Do not book with this airline!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 33 / No 2
18 September 2011 12:09:00 MMC

Sunwing airlines lost my lugagge on a trip from Torornto to Rome on August 27th - Sunwing's partner overseas AVIA opened the Sunwing Irregularity Report but when I came back to Toronto, I was told that there is no lost/delayed report filed for me....since August 27th, I do not have any news about my lugagge and chances are that i will find my item on sale on Ebay.
Sunwing it is not part of the World lugagge Tracer System hence there is no way for the customer to get updates - the paper is probably sitting on someone's desk collecting dust...No one cares at Sunwing Airlines.

Is this review helpful? Yes 25 / No 3
07 September 2011 12:09:00 jacques Leclair

sunwing flight was great and the service on board but my suitcase did not arrive with us and still upon our return .We were going to my sons wedding in paris so our stress level was very high.We had one day to purchase clothing and in August most places are closed because of vacation time.We called every day for 11 days and we were told it went to Amsterdam then it never left Toronto and the flying that day and call next day to say it was not sent .Also it left by airfrance and we will have it next day . Upon my return home baggage claim said he sent it himself and was received at the airport with conformation.The tags on the suit case show it went once to Paris but they said it did not come in not amsterdam like we were told .We now have it back 17days later . I want compensation for our hardship stress because of wedding and the entire vacation and my wife also had extra medication in the suitcase as well as gifts for the wedding.Please respond or a Lawyer will be involved I can be email at ctowers@bellnet.ca thankyou

Is this review helpful? Yes 19 / No 5
03 September 2011 12:09:00 Guest

If I could give this airline Zero stars, I would.
Do not bother booking with them, the minor savings in price are not worth the headache!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 23 / No 3
17 August 2011 12:08:00 Guest

I had noted in the special requests section of my on line purchase of tickets from Toronto to Paris that my 5 year old is in a wheelchair and that special seating would be required. I did not receive any calls from Sunwing so I phone them about 30 hours before my flight time. The lady was exceptionally rude and said she would not give us three seats together ( 2 parents of a severely disabled child). I told her that we need seats near the front as it is difficult to carry the child through the isles. She said she could give us 2 seats in row 19. When we did the check in online 6 hours prior to our flight there were 3 seats together in row 13! This lady was very rude and did the very least she could so that we could not say that she did nothing for us. The people on the plane from To to Paris and retunr as well as the Sunwing staff at the airport in Paris were helpful!

The movies did not paly on either flight, as promised- its a long flight without entertainment!

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
08 August 2011 12:08:00 Guest

Worst experience ever. We were to fly to Rome on July 23, 2011 at 10:00 pm. There was no indication that the flight was delayed when we checked in. The flight was delayed until 1:00 am. At 12:00, we were told the flight was cancelled until Sunday at 10:00 am. Sunwing offered vouchers for taxis home, however it took 2 hours to get a voucher. The 4 reps had to hand write 2 voucher (to/from) for each person wanting one. We got our voucher after 2:00 am. We had to be back at the airport for 7:00 am. We checked in again, was told that the flight was leaving on time. They did board us at 9:30, but we did not take off until 11:30 am. We arrived in Rome in the middle of the night...missed all connecting trains. We were told that there was going to be a Sunwing Rep in Rome to assist and to get those who had missed their cruise onto a shuttle. We were with one of those couples that had missed the cruise and there was no Sunwing Rep or shuttle for them. All of the luggage that came off the plane was soaked. You could see the watermarks on all the bags...and it had penetrated our luggage...wet clothes when we reached our destination. For all of this trouble, we were given a $75 voucher, IF we fly Sunwing again. Not worth the paper it was printed on.

The return flight was no better on August 7th. We stood in a check in line for 2 hours. We barely made it to the plane as the security line was also large. We boarded about 30 minutes before the flight. There was another delay as someone had lost or had their passports stolen and they and their luggage had to be removed from the plane. I do realize that this was no fault of Sunwing. However, this delay us leaving over an hour....and our flying time changed from 8 hours to 9.5 hrs. My audio control at my seat did not work. Finally when we landed in Toronto, it took 1.5 hours to get our luggage.

It was the worst travel experience ever and I would not recommend this airline to travel to Europe.

Is this review helpful? Yes 15 / No 1
04 August 2011 12:08:00 M. Porter

I bought a trip on Sunwing and paid for TRIP INSURANCE. I had to cancel and they only refunded HALF MY MONEY and gave me a useless certificate (good only for one year) I will never use for the other half. They have no number you can call, demand you email your complaints, and then never respond to the emails. DO NOT FLY WITH THIS COMPANY. YOU WILL BE SORRY.

Is this review helpful? Yes 15 / No 1
25 July 2011 12:07:00 Guest

We had a horrible experience with Sunwing. We were suppose to leave Rome and arrive in Toronto on Sunday. We didn't get home until Tuesday! No representatives at the airport wanted to get involved or direct us. Total chaos. First we were told we were just being delayed. 3 hours after sitting on the plane we were finally told we were leaving the plan and then later told the flight was cancelled due to mechanical issues. We finally got to a hotel at about 10 or 11 at night, with a 100 people still left at the airport, with no idea what was going on. We were told we were leaving the next morning. Needless to say, that didn't happen. We didn't get on the plane until 11:00 at night! And it doesn't end there. Everyone starting clapping thinking we were actually taking off BUT NO.... right before take off the plane stops. The ground crew refuelled the plane incorrectly putting an extra 5 tonnes of fuel in one wing than the other! We were delayed another 3 hours - sitting on the plane! We didn't leave until 2:30 in the morning! But the funniest part was a flight that took 8 hours to get to Rome took 10 and a half hours to get home to Toronto!! Something to do with time permitted to land by chance.... Absolutely horrible experience and Sunwing offiered everyone a $100 voucher for future travel!! wow! Will never fly with Sunwing ever again. 2 days of missed work and they take no responsibility and provided no communication at all during the whole process. We actually found the two "Sunwing Representatives" sitting down somewhere in the airport as if they were travellers and would get upset if you tried to ask them what was going on.

Is this review helpful? Yes 14 / No 2
01 July 2011 12:07:00 Guest

This airline is beyond horrible! If you are unlucky enough to lose your luggage, you get ignored and there is NO ONE that you can speak with. All you get is voicemail. It may cost a few dollars more than another airline...but you definitely get what you pay for..barely! I suggest paying the extra $100 and have a peace of mind knowing that you will get service. I am utterly DISGUSTED with the lack of customer service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
13 June 2011 12:06:00 Linda

Travelled to Cuba in March 2011. Experienced a lot of problems with the vacation package they advertised. We paid for an upgraded room but did not get it. Sunwing changed the hotel to airport pick up time because of the Spring time change in Canada, which does not affect the departure time in Cuba. Reps were rude. Airline seats were terribly cramped. Washrooms terrible! Airline refuses to speak with me after many many emails on my half. Terrible customer service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 0
22 April 2011 12:04:00 Rick Fox

I have travelled with Sunwing for 7 years now. I have never had a problem with them We were only delayed once. I was treated very well and the flights were smooth. I will fly with this airline until I quit flying.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 11
21 April 2011 12:04:00 real

I have travelled to Cabo San Lucas on April 11/2011.
The flight was delayed and not well organized to inform the travelllers waiting and waiting. 2 of us left Jasper Alberta @ 8:00 am to arrive in Cabos at 8:30 am the next day.
At the Edmonton airport we were told the flight was delayed by 5 hous, we were offered to go shopping and then return. once your vehicle is checked in and one takes the shuttle to the ariport terminal the thought of shopping is not even considered we patiently wait for further instructions then....several hours later the flight flew empty to Calgary with our luggage to pick up the Calgary folks. I believe the communication was poor and left us totally dissapointed.

I have travelled twice a year in the past with sunwing and now willl consider alternate carriers. We lost a night stay at the Riu "Palace in Cabo and the day sleeping due to fatigue.

I have never experience any complications in the past with Sunwing and trust they will compensate their travellers on flight 731 to Cabos with a certificate that perhaps the future travel would make up for the past bad experience.

I am well aware that certain circumstances at times are out of ones control but..... I believe we have to remain positive and consider the best for all parties in future travels.

I remain

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
09 April 2011 12:04:00 fay farrow

one of the worst experiences of my life.
As I sat for 6 hours and watched other planes land and take off to be told over and over again that we were only delayed not canceled until hour seven to pick up our bags and leave but be back for a 7am flight next day so off to the airport at 4 am to again wait until they boarded at 11am to sit in such cramped seats I know now what sardines feel like to arrive in Cuba to no transport that was paid for through Sunwing for my disabled son so we were left standing outside the airport in the blistering sun for 45 min while the bus driver Thank you not Sunwing tried to get us transport only to have to try to stuff all our luggage a wheelchair my self and my son who I had to transfer into a cab to the resort the next day when we finally met the sunwing rep I was told not to worry special transport would be available for our return NOT again we watched the bus leave as we scrambled to find transport this time a van with no ramps no tie downs nothind and 1 older driver so again we found gentlemen at the resort to help load him into this van and I held on to the chair with a death grip for the ride to the airport where again no sunwing rep could be found 4 other taxi drivers had to lift Terry chair and all out of the van all I can say is it is a good thing he was not dropped or a long law suit would have been involved I will Never take or recommend Sunwing to anyone

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
20 March 2011 12:03:00 Guest

This company does not believe in CUSTOMER SERVICE. We travelled from Edmonton to Puerto Vallarta and paid for pre-booked seating for our family, they kindly took our money for the pre-booking but did not provide the seats! They have been giving us the runaround ever since we returned. This company only cares about what they get - not how they serve. I guess that is why the owners/CEO/President are making billions of dollars and doing nothing to provide support to their customers. This is by far the worst company we have ever dealt with. I am a business owner, and I said shame on Sunwing. If they want to stay flying high - maybe they should consider some classes in dealing with the public.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 2
12 March 2011 12:03:00 Guest

Horrible service and not worth the money. Never choose this airline; it is certainly the worst one I've ever been on. They cheat and rob you out of money. Instead of getting a luxurious Sunwing coach to the airport, we had an old, dilapidated van with no AC and people were squeezed like sardines. How can they call themselves "industry leaders" beats me.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
08 February 2011 12:02:00 Anne

Our flight from Vancouver to Cancun was drastically changed from an evening flight to morning flight. Our travel agent at Sears phoned us on a Wednesday to say she had just got an e-mail with the time change. Now the fun began as we then had to try and get new airline tickets from PG to Vancouver which had a 50.00 change fee attached - we got the last two seats on the plane for a price of $660.00 one way. West Jet apologized for the cost but we had to get to Vancouver. Next came the unexpectant extra cost of two hotels - we had chosen Sunwing as a chance to see what they offered. I am still waiting for them to call me about their changing flights. I talked to the person in charge at the gate in Vancouver and he just blew me off. So much for customer service. I will not fly with Sunwing or Signature again as their public relations needs a lot to be desire - back to WESTJET vacations as they stand behind their product.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
04 February 2011 12:02:00 Sveta

We recently traveled with Sunwing. Based on our experience, this was the first and the last time travelling with Sunwing. The staff were not as polite as they should be, some of them were even rude to people on the plane. We had many kids on the plane and flew from Vancouver to Cancun almost 6 hours. All this time they played adult movies during the flight(rated 14+). Well, my daughter is 8 and some of the scenes she was not allowed to watch. I had to close her eyes and did not allow her to have her headphones on as there was inapropriate language as well. Very dissapointed. It seems that this airline is intended to adults only, so if you travel with kids ---- choose someone else.
Food was good as everyone esle said.
The other notice everyone should know - if you book your vacation with sunwing and they promice you to provide transportation to and from your hotel to the airport - you need to know that there will be not only you. We spent more than 1 hour in the bud driving around Cancun dropping and picking up people from hotels. We would rather stay in the pool than in the bus. If we would of known that this will happen - we would rather take a taxi (cost 25$) and save our time
Overall - my rating of this company is poor. Will not use them again

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
31 January 2011 12:01:00 Ken Williams

3 wks. ago (in Jan). my wife and i flew to Puerto Vallarta return with Sunwing, as a person who does not like flying i had ask one of the girls for a newspaper or magazine to read to kill the time , she said she'd look and get back to me. An hour later and waklking by me several times and serving me she still did not respond to my request. A few mins. later another stewardess came by and i explained that the first one must have forgotten me and could she look for me and she assured me she would let me know. Again, the same situation happens, she forgets me and also waited on me . Now, once i can understand ,but two times in a row with no concern for neriousness or request is simply not acceptible .These two employees should both be spoken to and in the future provide better service than i just experienced...Ken Williams

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 2
29 January 2011 12:01:00 Guest

We recently traveled as a group with Sunwing. Based on our experience, none of our group will be travelling with Sunwing. The staff did not appear to have received adequate training. Our flight had a stopover, and the staff failed to inform those continuing on the flight that they were required to dis-embark the plane; further, that we would need to go through customs at this stopover. We had several seniors and people traveling with infants, and this lack of information was extremely distressing. We were also not informed of the duration of the stopover, so everyone felt a strong sense of urgency as they were trying to 'make it through customs' and find the new departure gate. We ended up waiting approximately 2 hours. Sunwing should place a higher level of importance on the ability of their staff to provide travellers with basic information.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 2
14 January 2011 12:01:00 Guest

I hate Sunwing Vacations. I have an airfare booked in the near future, and the price changed. It went from 299 to 99 bucks. So I called to try to get a reimbursement for the difference. After 38 minutes on hold I received the worst customer service that I have ever experienced in my 34 years of life. Sunwing has no price match guarantee, fine. I paid for cancelation insurance because I am traveling with an infant that may get sick. So my next question was can I cancel and rebook while I was on the phone with them. No was the response. I have to rebook with the voucher that they would send me in 3-4 weeks. I booked my flight on Monday and am leaving in 3 weeks. So a voucher is of zero use to me. I asked why was this voucher policy not ever communicated to me at the time of booking? I dont know was the response. But fortunately I was referred to their website. That was very helpful in my situation.

I have never spoken to a customer service/reservations clerk that was so nonchalant, uncompassionate, and uninformed. I cant understand how a company can survive in this day and age, when they upset their customers to the point of reversing the charges on their Visa to cancel their flight. After reading the reviews below, I can hardly wait to spend 3 hours in the company of more Sunwing employees.

What will they do to me next? Wait and see.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 2
25 December 2010 12:12:00 Ron McPhail

Elite service upgrade has me puzzled. When flying out of Toronto, one of the features is having "Elite" check-in but when you return, say from Puerto Vallarta there is no "Elite" check-in. If one of the features isn't offered, shouldn't the price reflect this. It's $40.00 from Toronto, why is it $40.00 from Puerto Vallarta which has no "Elite" check-in? Also, my latest trip, leaving Jan.14/2011, Sunwing has changed the time and with this has changed our seating. We prepaid for "Elite" service, both ways and pre-booked our seats together. Then when they changed flight times, two of us are in "Elite" seating, not together, with one not in "Elite" seating at all. Now when checking, all it says that were are "P" with no reserved seat showing. Whatever that means. Maybe someone from Sunwing can explain all of this? What's a reasonable amount time to spend trying to sort all this out before someone should be compensated? I like the flights if all goes smooth. This will be my third time using Sunwing. Wish me luck.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 2
18 October 2010 12:10:00 Guest

Great first time experience with Sunwing Airlines. Our return flight was from Calgary to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and back. At first we were a bit iffy on whether or not the reviews in here were accurate. Some people posted such negative comments. However, we were pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed our flights. Right from the start we experienced professional flight attendants and a nice clean plane. The service was the best Ive had in years! They start you off with some champagne and warm hand towels, followed by a hot breakfast/dinner with offerings of wine, snacks and drinks and finally chocolates.

The pilot also did an excellent job for both flights. If we started to get some turbulence, you could feel the plane ascend / descend to try to keep the plane on a smoother route. I really appreciated that considering that Im a nervous flier. The flight attendants also were very vigilant in checking for seat belts, garbage and offering more drinks. I would totally recommend this airline. Good job Sunwing!! Keep it up!

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 4
14 October 2010 12:10:00 Leonardo

I have read the previous reviews and completely confused about what these GUESTS are talking about!!! I wonder where these GUESTS are from I WONDER !! HAHA! I have flown with Sunwing for the last four winters and never once have been scared for my life. The aircraft they use are 737-800's which most are no older than five years old. They have one of the newer fleets in the country and have an excellent safety record. The service is also very good. They offer choice of hot meals which comes with red or white wine!! What other airline in this country offers that???? Would you rather get a small cookie for a 6 hour flight?? Their flight attendants are also very hard working people and give great service!!! Of course there will always be a delay or two that's the industry. So before you believe all this garbage from these GUESTS you really should know the truth about this airline!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 8
08 May 2010 12:05:00 Les Jackson

We just got back from the Grand Sunset Princess in the Mayan Riviera on May 7/10 from our wedding.We were at this location in Feb/10 and found this place very nice so we decided to get married there.We brought along 25 guest with us.When we arrived at 11:30 am we were told our rooms would be ready at 3pm(no problem).When we were given our rooms at 4pm us (bride/groom) was given a room with 2 double beds in it.We had requested in Feb and with our travel agents to have the rooms together and that we wanted a King bed(honeymooners?)We went back to the desk and explained our problem but they could not see it as a problem as they kept telling us that they try to accomidate as many as possible,so after some voice raising they finally gave us a room away from the group with a king bed.You would think that us bringing them at least $30,000.00 dollars with business that they should accomidate us first being the bride and groom.There reward to us was that we could use 2 more a la carte restaurants that we only used twice the whole week anyway.We were very disappointed in sunwing, as we feel and all our wedding guest felt that there should have been better upgrades for the amount of lost time and dissapointment that we shared.We finally got into our room at 5:45pm(whole day wasted)

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 3
29 April 2010 12:04:00 Guest

I flew to Varadero from Vancouver and back in April 2010. I don't expect much from a budget airline in terms of food or service. With that in mind the experience was awful. The seat configuration is extremely cramped. I'm 5'11" and I could barely stretch my legs, the seat is quite narrow (I'm less than 200lbs) and the condition of the aircraft was horrendous. I've flown with some really dodgy airlines: regional airlines in the third world and this had to be the most frightening experience I've ever had. If one of these planes ever crashes I would not be surprised at all.

In all fairness the staff are alright if a little poorly trained. There's a lot of jabber going on after take off and prior to landing and some of these flight attendants can barely speak the language. In a pinch I wouldn't trust any of them in an emergency. The flight was hours late leaving Varadero and when we took off I got soaked from water dripping from the compartment above me. A gentleman four rows in front of me experienced the same thing and the flight attendant said it was condensation, nothing he could do about it... Seriously - condensation!?! The cabin is supposed to be pressurized at 30,000 feet so if there is condensations then there must be an air leak somewhere.

I've never seen this in Africa or Asia or the Caribbean on any other airline I've traveled with and I've logged some serious miles on some very questionable airlines. The breaks sounded like metal on metal when we landed in Vancouver. Are there no standards any longer for airlines carrying passengers? I could feel the slippage in the breaking and the plane rattled like a Cuban taxi cab from the 1930's. All I can say is that you are really putting your life in danger to save a couple of hundred dollars with this outfit. They really shouldn't be flying such garbage aircraft. Next time I'm flying with someone else even if I have to make a stop or two along the way.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 4
16 April 2010 12:04:00 BLM

We flew Sunwing from Ottawa to Montego Bay Jamaica March 2010. We had read many negative comments about Sunwing and were a little skeptical......but did not experience any of the negative comments we read. Yes we were delayed coming home an hour, and had to wait at Sangar a little longer than planned, but hell....Sunwing wasn't the only airline delayed that same day.....one has to be prepared for this with any airline.....no matter what the mode of transportation, there can be delays.....people just need to chill. Food was it great...of course not, you can't expect 5 star gourmet food at 30,000 feet, but hey it wasn't bad at all........would I fly Sunwing again.....yes.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 3
03 November 2009 12:11:00 Glenn Mair

Recently flew Sunwing Vancouver-Varadero (via Saskatoon). This was my first time flying a charter airline, and I was more than impressed. Plane was a second-hand, but not old, 737-800 in good condition. Seats comfortable and legroom acceptable (even for someone 6'0") given the mid-length flight. Service both on the ground and on the plane was efficient and courteous. Food above-par for airline food, and complimentary champagne and wine was a nice treat compared to most discount airlines. The fact that they offer packages with transfers to hotels in Havana (not just Varadero) gives them an advantage over Air Transat. My only complaint was that one of my bags got left in Vancouver, but the local staff in Cuba were very good and the bag arrived on the next flight from Vancouver (which admittedly was three days later). I give Sunwing 4 stars.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 1
1 - 74 of 74
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2018 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/Sunwing_Airlines/ 1 1 1