Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
 ⇒  ⇒ Sunwing Airlines


Sunwing Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Sunwing Airlines

10 October 2019 12:10:00 Guest

We booked a sunwing package through world odessy, specifically book a package with a direct flight knowing that stop overs are always a nightmare.
Only days after recieving our money we were informed they changed the flight to include a stop over. We booked just over 2 months in advance.
No service, no correction and we were required to have cancellation insurance if we wanted to cancel.
Informed them that we were not cancelling anything, the package we paid for no longer existed. They changed/eliminated our holiday package and forced a lesser package on us for the same price.
These people do not care one bit about you or your holiday, all about the dollars and they are happy to make them at your expense.
I will never use anyone involved in this scenario again.
Note: they now have stated that they can NEVER guarantee a direct flight. This is not referring to mechanicals and such, they will just change flights as they see fit.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
05 September 2019 12:09:00 Guest

Terrible airline with service.

I don't understand how they operate with this type of behavior/service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
31 August 2019 12:08:00 Dennis S.

Originally booked a trip to Antigua on June 26/19 to celebrate our 46th. Wedding Anniversary.
Original flight was a direct Flight, leaving Toronto at 9:25am on Friday, September 20/19 and arriving in Antigua at 2:25pm on the same day.

On August 09/19 we were notified that our Flight times were changed to leaving Toronto at 7am and arriving in Antigua at 2:10pm and was still indicated as a direct Flight, which seemed odd, as the total flight time had now increased.

Then on August 29/19, we we notified that our itinerary had now been revised, so that we would be leaving Toronto at 7am and flying to Montreal for a STOPOVER of approximately 2 1/2 - 3 hours, before heading to Antigua.

Since I did not originally book a STOPOVER in Montreal, I was very unhappy and with the help of my Travel Agent, we requested that Sunwing change our flight to another day, in order to fly directly from Toronto to Antigua, without any Stopovers.

Sunwing refused to accommodate and/or compensate us for this terrible inconvenience.

Sunwing basically informed us that we had no choice but to abide by the changes to our itinerary, as they had the right to make any changes that they deemed necessary and basically said that we were forced to fly to Montreal for a 2 1/2 - 3 hour STOPOVER. in order to get to our destination.

I asked them to cancel our booking and issue us a full refund.
Sunwing refused to consider our request and told us we had no choice but to report to the Airport 2 1/2 hours earlier than our originally scheduled flight, in order to do a STOPOVER in Montreal.

Sunwing speaks of Customer Service & Commitment, however, this Airline don't give a * about their Customers.

Their stated mission is a JOKE, and they should consider changing it to Sunwing First and Customers Last.

We travel on vacations at least 3 times a year and must say that Sunwing is, without a doubt, the WORST Airline from our experience.

Sunwing gets around the new "Bill of Rights for Passengers" by bending the rules and force Customers to * their valuable time, so they they won't be held liable on these new "Bill of Rights".

These new "Bill of Rights" are useless, as unscrupulous Airlines like Sunwing, find ways around them.

So, in fact, Airlines still have all the rights to do whatever they want and Passengers have no rights.

One thing for sure, this is the last time we will ever travel with Sunwing, as they are, undoubtedly, the worst Airline and have ZERO Customer Service & Commitment.

Also, I have noticed that the individual with the initials (MD) that responds to these reviews, just gives the Standard responses, such as, Sunwing has the right to make changes and Customers have no rights and Customers should just accept our deplorable Customer Service.

I would advise Travelers to avoid travelling with Sunwing at all cost, as we would definitely not recommend Sunwing at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
19 August 2019 12:08:00 Jashua

My sister unfortunately booked her destination wedding with sunwing.
Our flight was changed, once atbthe airport we were lied to told we had an hour delay only to find out that we would now be leaving at 10:30pm and would not arrive until 1:30am. My sisters wedding is ruined. Terrible company with zero customer support.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
14 August 2019 12:08:00 Frank S

Toronto to Costa Rica August 5-12 2019

WG 725

If you are looking for a stress free vacation and flight I would advise against choosing Sunwing. Standing at 67 I made sure to prepay in advance for seats that I could fit in comfortably on my flight. When it came time to board we found out that Sunwing was not operating our flight but rather we were flying with Eastern Air in a jet with a completely different configuration and our prepaid seat selections were irrelevant. I found myself assigned to a seat that I physically could not get into unless my knees were tucked into my chest. In an effort to avoid this on the flight home I spent over an hour on the phone with Sunwing while I should have been enjoying my vacation. After an hour of circular conversation the representative promised first class seats as a compensation for our troubles, to which I was satisfied. But the surprises dont end there. Ten minutes before boarding we were called to the gate and informed our seats were broken and that we would not be flying in Elite Plus, but rather assigned the same seats that I do not fit in. When I asked the representative what the purpose of pre paying an additional fee was if it would not be honoured on either flight, their response was that their only obligation was to provide us with a seat, not necessarily the ones we paid for.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
14 August 2019 12:08:00 Michael Labelle

Booked a sunwing vacations because of the flight schedule but once you book they change the flight time to crappier ones and you get an email saying you are now doing a stop in toronto to pick up more people and will get there 2 hours later to destination. So the four hour direct flight you booked is now a 6 hour flight with double take offs for nervous people . I always liked sunwing but now i see why people call it crappy airline. They give you great early times to leave and get there and then once they make their money with clients just change it and says oh well nothing you can do about it. Over 10 trips i did with them but 100% garantee it wont happen again .

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
12 July 2019 12:07:00 Guest

I have not traveled with Sunwing yet, my trip is booked for September 2019, but unfortunately already disappointed and regretting my decision to vacation with them. My wife and I booked a trip to St. Maarten with our 7 month old son. We booked our trip and flight specifically with him in mind to ensure his first plane ride went as smoothly as possible. We had booked a direct flight which was originally 4 hours and 40 minutes, but were recently informed that the flight time has now changed along with an added stop-over in Montreal adding an additional 3 hours to our flight. A stop over with Sunwing is used to pick up additional passengers at another location, which means we are not to exit the plane, forcing us to sit in the plane for 8 hours. This was added to both our departure and return flight. I called Sunwing as soon as I received this notification, explaining that I cannot keep my 7 month old on a now 8 hour flight, also him now having to deal with the pressure of the airplane going up and down four times. I booked a specific flight to make flying with a baby as easy as possible and also save the other passengers from listening to a baby cry for an entire flight. Not only did every representative at Sungwing show no sympathy for my situation, they also offered no recommendations, alternative options or any kind of compensation for the change. They would not even offer me free seat selection to ensure my wife and I are seated together to take care of our child on this now 8 hour flight, you would think that would be the least they could do. So disgusted in the service and unreliability of Sunwing. Truly regret our decision to book with them, and will ensure we never make this mistake again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
30 June 2019 12:06:00 David Khan

The travel agent from Travel Nation assured us that Sunwing is not having any problems with future bookings. We have nine people booked.
2 weeks to go Sunwing has bumped us twice and added stops to the flight. The original flight is still going .No reason given, Canadian Government laws , they dont have to. Once you have paid, they can do anything they want .
The government of Canada makes laws very one sided towards the Airlines. There is no recourse for a traveler.
They advertise package holidays and then bump the price by putting travelers on cheaper flights .

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
28 June 2019 12:06:00 TPLN

WG517-WG518

Horrible experience. We have booked direct flights since we travel with 2 young kids. 3 weeks prior to departure, we received an email indicating that our returning itinerary had been changed. There will be a stop in Toronto?!

06.17.2019 Montreal to Cancun flight: 3.5 hours delay. Never ever have we experienced it with other airlines. The Sunwing employee said our 9h10am flight had an engine problem and they have to wait for a functioning one to come. She added they cannot give us the Elite Plus seats we have paid for since she doesnt know the configuration of the new airplane. 3.5 hours later... we went in the airplane and realized there were some passengers from Toronto who are already in it! They were all looking unhappy since they were forced to stop at the YUL airport to pick all passengers from Montreal.

06.24. 2019 Returning flight ( Cancun to Montreal with a stop in Toronto ): Our 2:25pm flight was delayed to 7:50pm. When we arrived at the airport, the flight was delayed again to 9pm. No explanation from Sunwing. With a stop in Toronto, we arrived at 4am on 06.25.2019 in Montreal!

Sunwing is now renting Eastern Airlines airplanes. The airplanes are very old. The seats are broken and uncomfortable. The smell is unbearable.

I have read similar reviews from other passengers in social media concerning Sunwing. It looks like our situation was not unique. Strange... not the same flights... not the same destination...not the same dates but VERY SIMILAR situations. I let you think about it.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
27 May 2019 12:05:00 D McPhee

I booked a Sunwing vacation through Red Tag and it was a terrible experience.

Sunwing cancelled our flight back to Toronto a day and a half before we were scheduled to leave, which made it so that we would miss our connecting flight with West Jet on our way home to Halifax.

When I called Red Tag about this major inconvenience, I was offered absolutely no accommodations and was even told that it was "not their problem". Additionally, they refused to even give me the necessary information I needed to speak directly with Sunwing about it.

After all was said and done, I had to fork over an extra $370 to West Jet to switch our return flight due to circumstances well beyond my control, and which were directly caused by Sunwing's lack of concern for their customers and Red Tag's horrific customer service.

We also have yet to receive our promised $100 future travel vouchers from Sunwing due to their decision to cancel our flight last minute.

Thankfully the staff and accommodations at Dhawa in Cayo Santa Maria were amazing, and helped make our trip special regardless.

I will never do business with either Sunwing or Red Tag again and would strongly urge anyone else considering booking through them to instead choose one of their competitors.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
25 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

If I could give this airline and their sister companies, almost backrupt Signature Vacations and Sell Off Vacations a ZERO, I would.

For one thing, do your review homework. Look it up on line ... sunwing vacation reviews. Nothing but bad. OMG, they have left people on the tar mac for hours. They get away with all this because they are marginally within their legal zone to screw with you.

Because our so called direct flight should have taken 4.5 hours, at the 11th hour at the airport we are informed that our flight would now be doing the milk run. Took over 8 hours to get home fr om Puerto Vallarta to vancouver, canada as we changed flight crew, disembarked Edmonton passengers, their luggage, etc. We paid more for a direct flight. Apparently, a direct flight means you do not disembark fr om the plane. All legal Sunwing. You really know how to ruin hard earned, expensive holidays.

RIU hotel and Sunwing have a new contract. SUNWING, WITHIN THEIR LEGAL LIM ITS, no longer offer RIU rooms with a view. Our 2 week junior suite reservation was not advertised as a room with a view of the next door hotel's roof, air conditioners, whirring fans and construction in the dregs of the hotel. It cost us $300 extra to move to a decent room. People, that is a two upgrade. Be careful booking RIU with Sunwing.

Canadian government has just launched a new law for them in the last few days. People on tar macs for hours, no air, no water, overheating, no bathrooms and they just decide that all of a sudden your direct flight will now be doing the milk run. All within their marginal legal lim its. No more Sunwing!

If I can save just one person from booking with this abominable excuse for a vacation airline I will be happy. As you learn from the reviews please put forth online reviews and word of mouth because they should not be in freaking business.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 1
22 May 2019 12:05:00 Megan Greenwood

Just don't bother. Booked at a reasonable price back in March. Supposed to depart Toronto at 8pm on Sunday May 26th. Today, Wednesday May 22nd, they phoned me to cancel our flight. Four days before with no explanation. They said they could reschedule is for the next available day, the 30th, 4 days later! We had to be back in Vancouver for work so obviously this wasn't going to work. They gave us a full refund, but at this point four days before departure, flights are at least three times as much. Now we have to pay at least an additional 700 dollars out of pocket. No help from customer service. Said they couldn't offer us anything more. Well that's ridiculous. If they really wanted to keep us as customers they could pay a little extra, knowing that we have to pay all that money now ouselves in order to make it back to Vancouver. They may have saved themselves a couple hundred bucks in the short term but I will never ever book with them again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
19 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

Diabetic Father delayed 16 hours. That same sunwing plane was delayed 8 out of 9 times. They knew about the issues in advance and did not communicate the delay. The sunwing offers $150 voucher for future flights on sunwing. What is your time worth for a 16 hour delay? In the U.K. It's $1000 after 6 hours. And they offered 150. This is beyond the worst service and this is a disgusting way to treat people. Period .
How about a negative star rating

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
19 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

Horrible Airline company avoid at all costs never on time very unorganized.
Pick either Westjet or Air Transat you will be so much better off.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
17 May 2019 12:05:00 Tanya

Terrible customer service experience

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
13 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

This airline is 100% a complete joke.

First off, our flight was delayed 6.5 hours. Okay, stuff happens. BUT they KNEW about the delay early that morning and failed to communicate that with any of the passengers. The only reason we found out that our flight was delayed was because we went to board and it wasn't there. They gave us $15 "meal" vouchers, which if you have ever eaten at an airport you know that this doesn't cover the most basic meal. So far, we all missed a day of work, were stuck in the airport for 8.5 hours, were treated HORRIBLY by customer service and missed a day of our vacation.

We finally boarded the plane and then proceeded to sit on the tarmac for another hour. Once in the air, we were informed that there wasn't enough food/drinks/cups for everyone on board. Which is against airline laws as this flight was 4.5 hours long. The staff on board we also nasty and mean. They routinely ignored us, rolled their eyes and had a poor attitude.

All Sunwing can say is that "delays happen". That's it. Nothing more. No apology for the lost money we all suffered, no apology for the horrible RUDE staff and no apology for not stocking the plane in accordance with airline laws.

Skip this airline and fly with literally anyone else.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
12 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

Sunwing is a joke and has fallen to below the depth of horrendous. They are notoriously late and screwing up people's hard earned vacations. I will not go into detail cause I think all reviews over many Web sites show the lack of caring and accountability that sunwing shows to their clients that they view as nothing more than cattle.

Warning to all that book through this horrendous airline and their soon to be sister companies .... signature vacations and sell off vacations.

People, we need to get this airline out of the sky.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
07 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

I have a flight leaving on May 15 and returning May 21. Sunwing emailed me yesterday evening stating my return flight is cancelled. The only options presented were the following:

1. Change to any other Sunwing TORONTO-VANCOUVER flight + $100 FUTURE TRAVEL VOUCHER per person. There are available flights on May 19, 30.
Flight Times
MAY 19 2019: TORONTO-VANCOUVER WG 807 YYZ 20:00 YVR 22:05
MAY 30 2019: TORONTO-VANCOUVER WG 807 YYZ 20:15 YVR 22:20
*BASED ON AVAILABILITY *

2. Change to any flight at current system rates + $100 future travel voucher per person
3. Cancel for a full refund

The above were the only options provided and were terrible. Current system rates are a minimum $900 round-trip and I paid $375. Why should I pay over double the cost of my original flight price for their change? It doesn't make any sense. Also, the flight dates of May 19 and May 30 don't fit my schedule as the event I am going for is on May 19 and I am unable to take that much time off of work to stay in Toronto until May 30.

I contacted Sunwing several times and they are unable to do anything further and clearly don't care if my vacation plans are impacted. I also have AirBnB booked and unable to change those dates. I wasted a whole day at work trying to fix their mess.

I will never fly with Sunwing ever again and I do not recommend this airline to anyone. It's a very big gamble to take and not worth it when it may effect your vacation plans. The customer service is horrible and Sunwing is unreliable.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
21 April 2019 12:04:00 Corrine Amero

Just got back from a great Vacation in Mazatlan ,Mexico.

Stayed at the RUI Emerald Bay , great hotel ,great staff ,great location. A big thank you to Alejandro Zamudio our Sunwing rep he was well informed always went above and beyond for my husband and I answering any and all questions and concerns we had .
He was always friendly, polite and went out of his way to talk to us and made as feel at home. You as a company should be great full that you have such a great person on your staff. His upbeat manner and professionalism was beyond compare. Thank You again Alejandro for making our vacation seamless and enjoyable ,we will be using your company again for our vacation needs.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
27 March 2019 12:03:00 Guest

Good Company that cares about their customers

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 3
22 March 2019 12:03:00 Guest

They advertise themselves as having the price drop guarantee (they require you to sign up for it - which I did). Guess what? its been 8 months now and I never received my money back. Each time they gave me a different reason:
1) Your address is not correct
2) Canada post strike
3) High amount of vouchers need to be sent so they asked me to be patient.
4) Last time I called was 3 weeks ago and they confirmed that I never deposited the check. They confirmed that I will receive the check within a week (they claimed again that my address is wrong lol... never received it of curse.

They said I can't talk to any manager and stopped answering me. A claim been maid against the company.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
09 March 2019 12:03:00 Dissatisfied

Very poor customer service. Took almost a month to respond to my complaint. Then this airline believes it's fine to be delayed almost 6 hours, on the first day of your vacation. After 5 years of booking premium, upgraded vacations, no more. This company is from Belgium, should've stayed there. Use this airline at your oown peril@

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
26 February 2019 12:02:00 Guest

THE WORST EXPERIENCE I EVER HAD IN MYLIFE DO NOT BOOK ANYTHING WITH THIS POOR EXCUSE OF AN AIRLINE
Let's start with the most shocking part then the disgusting part, the rudest airline staff I ever encounter in my life, from the check in point to the airline staff, I fly a lot so trust me, How this airline company is still in business I have no clue, now the disgusting part waiting for the plane to take off inhaling exhaust fumes for an hour plus straight that's very healthy wouldn't you say wow great for the lungs now the worse part the airline losing my luggage for 2 days and the people working lying to me telling me I will get $50 US every day that I don't have my luggage then telling me sorry it's only $60 Can. then after I buy all my necessities they tell me you should have kept your bills you would have been compensated for them 2 days later DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT FLY WITH THIS AIRLINE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED AS LONG AS 1 PERSON WILL READ MY REVIEW AND NOT BOOK IS ALL I CARE ABOUT IM VERY SURE THERE WILL BE THOUSANDS DISGRACE TO THE AIRLINE INDUSTRY IS WHAT THEY ARE

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 1
23 February 2019 12:02:00 Guest

The Sunwing experience started with a 12 hour delay due to "operational issues" - 4 times travellers were summoned to gate only to be sent away again. No communication to passengers before or during the delay. $100 vouchers were issued however could not be used onboard, or in resort only in excursions or future trips were passengers were expected to spend more, rather than being compensated for the delay. Post-trip follow-up with customer service was a nightmare, 2 hours to get through, forgotten follow-up and goose-chase to online options with "48 hour response times" - a week later, only to be deferred again. A firm believer in - "stuff happens" its how service organizations course correct is what matters. Committed to never fly Sunwing again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
06 February 2019 12:02:00 Alexicia

My first time flying with sunwing, everything was good until i get to my destination when i open my luggage only to fine out that one pair of nike running shoes that i spen $140 CAN for were missing i tried contacting sunwing with no success i email sunwing and still no sucess this happen since October of 2018. I will never fly with sunwing again .

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 1
06 February 2019 12:02:00 Guest

I WILL NEVER TRAVEL WITH SUNWING EVER in my life again or support you!

IT is not enough that because of SUNWING the markup for the vacations are much HIGHER than it needs to be and all due to your greed and just when one think that is bad, you want me to pay for a window seat and ++++++++ and you keep selling and selling to strip people of money they already do not have. Having to pay all the extras you are tearing off people leaves a BAD TASTE IN ONE'S MOUTH that Sunwing is 100% GREEDY!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
04 February 2019 12:02:00 Aurora Szoke

The plane was delayed almost 10 hours both ways, we made a complained and the airline did not bother to respond

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
24 January 2019 12:01:00 Dennis Morgan

Just back from a direct flight winnipeg to Mexico, excellent service, hotel beautiful, all staff, from airlines, bus operators, excursions and people involved were excellent, very couteous and efficient. definitly travel Sunwing and Sunwing Vacations again. Excursion booking agent Ricardo [Nexus] was a great help in assisting decisions , thank you!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
15 January 2019 12:01:00 Guest

Paid $200 for advanced seat selection. Then I realized afterwards that I did not need to do this. But Sunwing would not refund my money. They claim to have no way to cancel seat selections. That is their problem no mine. Wasted $200. Bad airline. Bad customer service. Don't fly with them.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
04 January 2019 12:01:00 elsey gauthier

We just wanted to give out a big Thank You shout out to Jessi, male flight attendant, who went above and beyond to keep the passengers happy and relaxed. He was attentive and helpful despite his limited movement up and down the narrow aisles. Flight was 5 pm to Cancun on Dec. 26. We have flown with Sunwing before and this was by far our best flight yet. Thank you Jessi and the rest of the crew. The pilot also kept us on a smooth ride. Kudos .

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
30 December 2018 12:12:00 Jan

On our return flight WG210 from Mazatlán Dec.28/2018 to YVR I sat in 4C next to father and teenage son. Then nearing our decent to YVR the son threw up into a bag but what made matters worse I was asked to move out of my seat as he and his father had to go to the washroom. I guess I should call myself lucky because just I got out of my aisle seat either the father tripped and spilt the bag contents directly on my seat back and bottom and floor area, well there was puke all over the place.
I immediately notified a young male sun wing employee of the problem and he told me he would clean it up right away but never did he say that he would put me in another seat. I blew up and told him that I had no intention to sit in my old seat with some ones puke. I feel that this sun wing individual had no control of a bad situation and I even asked him if there was another seat that I could use.
I understand that this was an accident but your employee did not handle the situation properly as to my inconvenience. Now as for your airline. This has been only my 2nd time using it and never again based on your poor service and the seat configurations which remind me of a cattle movement. Deplorable. There is no way your CEO would fly for 4 hrs or longer is such badly cramped conditions. Hell, the flight was more than 4 hrs and you don't provide movies or monitors. That to me is too much to cut out for the traveller and it only shows your corporate greed.
You have lost a customer for ever. The world does not need such low standards.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
27 December 2018 12:12:00 Lau

Worst service received in this December, I used to travel with Sunwing in this couple of years, Cuba and Mexico no problem so far, but this time we go Dominican was a nightmare, flight delay, ok flight delay is not a news but the flight assistant shouted at us and said "SIT BACK AND WAIT!", Omg the boarding time is already delayed 30mins, as a customer we have a right to ASK whats going on and the status so far, I couldnt believe this flight assistant such a reply to all of us.

Finally we arrived at the resort, coz of the delay, we arrived at 3:30am to the reort lobby, Sunwing forgot to inform the hotel and and there are no room for us, finally the receptionist called the resort manager and unlock the room for us, but its almost 6:00am, 7 days vacation, first 2 days was a * to be recovered, my mom in law was sick due to the bad arrangement, this is not FUN AT ALL!

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 1
18 December 2018 12:12:00 Sheri

Worst airline ever 31 December 2017 in new year evening we must be 10 pm ready and I didnt received my luggage and in airport I filled some applications for lost luggage when I come out bus was gone we took the taxi to hotel in hotel they could not find our package we waited 45 minutes for packages and it was 1 am . Imagine how we start new year no clothes with winter jackets and winter sweaters and it was 2019 we started our new year with very very bad experience

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
13 December 2018 12:12:00 Maggie

Worst airline ever!! First time travel with sunwing and for sure its going to be my last time with this airline. Arrived in Punta Cana on Dec 10, 2018 and hoping to have a nice family vacation.. but turned out to be the worst by far.. One of our luggage filled with my two young childrens essential item (3 year old and 7 months old) that includes clothing, diaper, formula, baby food and medication all went missing upon our arrival at Punta Cana airport. Reps who represent sunwing are giving us different answer every single time we ask and our luggage is still no where to be found. I paid $5200 for a week of vacation for relaxation and so far all I have experienced is frustration and stress. This is going to be my forth day of my vacation and its like a nightmare! We are staying at the Catalonia Bavaro Beach and golf resort. The first time you check in into to the resort, the rep at the front desk will try to up sell you upgrades with a premium price. The room is extremely outdated and dirty, water leakage all over the ceiling, hair dry doe not work. Called and spoke to the front desk regarding the issue repeatly everyday for the past 4 days and they will always give you the same answer: we will send someone right away and no one ever came!! Im amazed how this airline survive their business with such poor customer service. Horrible horrible!! Now Im afraid to check in my other luggages on my way back...

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
08 December 2018 12:12:00 Bob Henderson

I was SEVERELY ELECTROCUTED on Nov, 24, 2018 in my suite 7217 at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. Neurosurgeon in Cancun says "you dodged a bullet"..."you should be dead".

I had paid SunWing almost $4,000 for the trip.

That was 2 weeks ago.

Despite the hotel Manager's assurances, I have not received any contact from Iberostar's Head Office or Insurers.

I am in incredible pain and have sustained major damage to my body.

I had to pay WESTJET for flights home because SunWing wanted $435 per ticket to let me fly home 2 days later than scheduled...I was severely sick
and could not fly until then.

Sunwing has not offered any comment from their management or any offer of assistance.

See my TripAdvisor review on Iberostar Grand Paraiso. See the photos of the horrible burns I am suffering with.

Sincerely, Bob Henderson, London, Ontario, Canada

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
05 November 2018 12:11:00 Linda

Had a great flight. Never have had a big problem flying with them. Look forward to next trip!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
29 August 2018 12:08:00 Alessansra

I was on a sunwing flight ftom costa rica monday and the flight attensants were sooo amazing. Very nice happy polite and helpful.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
29 June 2018 12:06:00 jiji

My sister and I booked a 4 day package from Montreal to Cancun which includes flight/all inclusive hotel with transport from and to the hotel. Due to an emergency, I had to fly a day later. I called Sunwing to ask if I can move my date by one day, they said no which I accepted; after all, it was unexpected. I bought a separate flight to cancun the day after. I asked if I could get a ride from the airport to the hotel the next day, again, I was told no which I thought was unreasonable. The shuttle goes to the airport every day anyway, they could have let me get the transportation since I didn't use it the day before. So I ended up paying $47 for a taxi to the hotel. The next day I went to the sunwing representative at the resort to confirm my shuttle back to the airport on my date of departure. Freddy reassured me that they had my booking and that I was good to go. The day of the check out, to my surprise, the shuttle had my sister's name but not mine!!! He refused to take me to the airport even though I had confirmed it, I PAID for it, he didn't want to hear anything. After I made a huge scene and made it clear that I had to get on the shuttle or I'd miss my flight, the driver let me on but only after he took down all of my details because ''he would get in trouble'' To say I'm disappointed is an understatement. This was a very expensive holiday, I should have bought the flights and hotel on my own instead of going through Sunwing. My flight to Cancun with Interjet was 10 times better than my return flight with Sunwing (and cheaper might I add). When I called sunwing about the change in my outbound flight, they said they could book me a flight for $385 when I checked online, I booked interjet for $250, you must be taking the * ! I will NEVER EVER book a holiday with Sunwing ever again!! you guys don't know what customer service is!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
28 June 2018 12:06:00 MIla Boseovski

We travelled with Sunwing from Toeonto to Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, March 6/18. What a horrible start to our vacation. Turbulence and rain, finally after circling, around the Puerto Plata, airport , we were not allowed to land. due to flooding. We were redirected to Punta Cana airport. There we landed and waited hours. Finally they told us that they would take us to a hotel. It was almost 10pm. When we got to the Hotel we were told to be ready ro leave for the airport at 3am. What? At 3am we were taken, by bus, back to the Punta Cana Airport. We waited for hours and hours and were ready to faint from exhaustion. Finally, we boarded the plane and went to Puerto Plata, arriving on March 7/18.. being Senior Citizens we found this whole ordeal overwhelmi and we lost two days of our vacation. At the two airports the Sunwing agents only appeared at the Sunwing boarding area, when we were to board a plane. There was no direction or update or explanation of what was to happen next. I had an accident at the Be Live Marien , Sunwing does not assume any responsibility and have told me they stand behind the Hotelier that the accident didnt happen and that they stand with the Hotelier. . We saw the trip on a Sunwing sight, Iwe booked with a Sunwing agent, We paid Sunwing by credit card and lastly, we flew with Sunwing Airlines. It is a shame that they have abandoned and ignored our plea of a multitude of emails.and show no allegiance or responsibility to their. Customers. I have emailed everyone from President to Lisa M. Customer service. And not person is interested or cares. We were offered $100,00 discount on our next vacation with Sunwing, what an embarrassment. Buyer be Ware!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
27 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

the most horrible service with no responsobility taken and no care. delayed every single time and by many many hours

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
16 May 2018 12:05:00 Marion

It appears as though Sunwing is the least likely of all chartered airlines to care about their passengers.
I was scheduled to depart Toronto to Dominican Republic in May 4, 2018 at 4:15 pm. Around this time a wind storm also hit Toronto and grounded our incoming plane in Buffalo. I understand the need for this action. My complaint is with the way updates were related to passengers. We were told the flight will leave at 6:30 pm and informed to meet at an other gate. The revised time was again revised to 9:30 pm and we were instructed to relocate to yet another gate. At 10:00 pm we were advised that Sunwing is locating a crew. By this time flights were leaving Toronto one by one. 11:00 pm we were advised that a crew cannot be found and the flight will leave the next day at 6:30 am. And passengers were instructed to go home. Out of towners like myself were asked to join the line for hotel chits. After about 10 were issued they were " all out " and suggested we book and pay for our own room. Too late ... all the local hotels were fully booked. After 19 hours of waiting at the airport we finally boarded the plane at 6:30 am and lost one day of vacation. The compensation? $150 discount on my next Sunwing booking. Really? That is NOT compensation. Why would I book Sunwing ever again? If you choose this carrier then caveat emptor...buyer beware. Be prepared for disappointment.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
16 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

Pay more and stay far, far away fr om this carrier.

Our flight going to the DR on May 5, 2018, was delayed by 19 hours. What this translated to: was a loss of one day of vacation. We were given $150 vouchers for future vacation and talking to my fellow passengers, no one will use the voucher, nor fly with the company again. Given this, we paid more for this vacation and Sunwing should reimburse all passengers real cash and not offer vouchers that no one will use.

Furthermore, the Sunwing reps at the airport did not get any help fr om the Management. Wh ere were they???. No hotels were arranged for us and it was nothing but a "comedy" of misinformation after misinformation. After making us race about the airport over and over again, we were told that there was no staff to man the flight...REALLY???. Wh ere was management and why did they not call replacements...simply the management of this airline could not organize a cold shower..."lovely" customer service...so thrilled by the care afforded to all of us...Succinctly, as stated above: STAY AWAY FROM SUNWING.

The Sunwing reps in the DR were no better. No one assisted hurt people on the resort, again creative misinformation was the rule of the day. Succinctly: if the reps saw a line up, they ran away or claimed that they knew nothing...As I said STAY AWAY from Sunwing, I know that I will and so will the majority of my fellow travelers.

My rating of this company would firmly hold at negative five.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
01 May 2018 12:05:00 OMG NO!

Both flights, departure and return were nightmares!
We knew not to expect luxury with the bargain we got , but....
During an ice storm, which was frightening in itself, the airline refused to cancel its flights. When asked if we could go home, they threatened that we will lose our money paid for the whole vacation.

We weren't expecting to be treated like prisoners with rations!!!
We were shifted from gate to gate for 19hrs, as if that was going to keep us all quiet!

Then The excuses were out of line:
- that the plane had engine failure,
- the other airlines have precedence on the Tarmac over ours, and the weather was pushing Sunwing back of line. What????
- the weather - which should have signalled an immediate cancellation until further notice, but Not to be told "stay put" or we won't get our money back.
- the employees on the Tarmac crew went on strike and refused to work.
- the gate attendants rude and snide remarks were disrespectful for many with health issues and babies!
- Finally on the next morning the flight was cancelled, only to be told that everyone should come back in four hours.
- taxi chits were written by hand by one (of five) attendants so that took hours, by the time we got to the podium, it was futile to leave the airport. We'd just have time to do a full circle home to airport ride!
Even -that- wasn't going to happen, because our baggage was still in the baggage trucks getting soaked on the Tarmac.
The ground crew refused to unload our bags, for another few hours!
By the time we got ours, it was 15min to check in time.
We decided to carry on with the trip (way bad decision!) I think a few people talked us into it - we were all sleep deprived and dehydrated.

So we're back at the same gate and delayed yet again! "Engine trouble"
OMG I look out the window, same plane as hours ago! Shouldn't that one be in a hangar being repaired?
What about contingency plan planes? You know ten percent on standby for just this exact reason?
- suddenly we saw people boarding, no announcement or signal that we were to board.
The take off was frightening, so was the landing, as the plan passed through the tip of hurricane Maria.which destroyed Costa Rica.
OMG! I kissed the ground when we got off.

Return flight: Delayed one hour.
Broken engines, washrooms out of service on the flight, toilet paper and sink water ran out - on a four hr flight!! OMG WTF!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
17 April 2018 12:04:00 D. Bezjak

Worst airline ever. They ruined my five day vacation to Puerto Plata on April 15, 2018.
After a delay of more than 18 hours (flight was originally scheduled to depart at 2:15 pm) we were not able to get any answers fr om anybody at Sungwing. No idea how much longer we had to wait. Changed gates three times. Four different Sunwing flights had the same situation, while other airlines were boarding and leaving Toronto despite the bad weather situation. At 1 am we were asked to pick up our luggage from the baggage area and go back to the desk to check in for our flight that supposedly would leave a 6:15 am. We waited until 5 a.m. in the baggage area and our luggage never showed up. The Sunwing rep told us they didn't know wh ere our luggage was. Again, four different Sunwing flights with the same situation. No departures, no luggage, no answers!!!
Finally, at 9:00 a.m. with no answers and no luggage we decided to cancel our trip and go home. We had already wasted two days of our five days vacation!
I hope we get our refund as they promised, and I hope they find my suitcase and send it home soon!
Do yourself a favor: DO NOT FLY WITH SUNWING,!

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
25 March 2018 12:03:00 Guest

They simply dont care about there customers. They charged me 50$ for a privileged seat in row 15 witch is a emergency exit row therefore seat does not recline! After calling customer service they simply dissmised my demand. I would of accepted a partial refund Worst airline ever

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
25 November 2017 12:11:00 Guest

5kg carry is a joke,went from direct to not ,rude at counter ,then give a $50 coupon to be used with them in a year?stay as far away from Sunwing! I will have a party when they go under!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
03 November 2017 12:11:00 Guest

I experienced terrible customer service from Sunwing. Far beyond simply bad. Rude. Uncooperative. Dismissive. Do not expect Sunwing to resolve any travelling issues that may arise for you. They truly don't care about their customers.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
06 January 2017 12:01:00 Guest

I like Sunwing - its a pretty good experience for a charter airline and i have flown south and to europe with them

I admit I like porter more and think all airlines could get tips there - but Sunwing is a bargain compared to Air Canada and others and so I accept that!

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
26 December 2016 12:12:00 Guest

Awful experience! We were supposed to leave Santa Clara (Cuba) on December 17, 2016 to land in Montreal at 00.40 am. As the plane from Canada arrived to Santa Clara late, it was impossible to land in Montreal airport before 1 am. So the Sunwing company made a decision to take us to Toronto instead and promised that we would leave for Montreal early in the morning, around 6 am. LIES!!!! We landed in Toronto about 2 am December 18, 2016. We had to spend more than two hours standing in a huge line waiting for check-in just to get our boarding passes for a 10 am flight (not a 6 am flight as promised). But it was not the end!!! At 10 am, we learned that there was no crew to take us to Montreal, as "our:" crew had left for Quebec. They suggested that we wait till 1 pm hoping that the crew would get back from Quebec. At 2 pm, we got in the plane. As the result, we had to spend 12 hours in Toronto airport waiting for our flight back home to Montreal....We landed in Montreal at 16.00 (not at 00.40 as it was expected). Wonderful vacations were ruined. I will never travel with Sunwing again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
23 November 2016 12:11:00 Annette Melhado

To whom it may concern,

I would like to give a big thank you to the flight crew on Flight WG 781 out of Montego Bay on November 20, 2016. My partner and I were traveling back from spending a week at Jewels Dunns River when she got sick and had two seizures. The quick and professional actions by the flight crew helped us through a very difficult episode. We were met by an ambulance on arrival and she was taken to the hospital immediately. She has since been diagnosed with a hemangioma brain tumor. I would also like to thank the two nurses on board that assisted my partner they were a God send! Pam and Angela we will be forever in your gratitude. I am sorry I was unable to get their last names in all the confusion. Thanks again Sunwing Flight Crew.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 2
06 November 2016 12:11:00 Guest Pat

Wow I flew to cuba nov.2015 my first time flying. Flight there and home was great. Flight staff was great. Resort great food not so much but it was cuba. I will leave for Mexico next week. Price much cheaper than others. I will continue to use sunwing great job sunning

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
02 November 2016 12:11:00 Guest

Terrible, terrible service! Not sure where to start , don't fly sunwing. Customer service, less than a kilo overweight, wanted to charge crazy amounts. Terrible service in puerto Vallarta from the singing reps there. They sat two really drunk people in the emergency rows for free after trying to sell them to us for 50 each as we were at end of Check in line Pretty sure that's a bad idea as they had trouble walking there and the sunwing reps had to pull guys out of bar at airport to board plane

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
16 May 2016 12:05:00 Guest

I recently flew fr om Vancouver to Punta Cana with Sunwing. There's a lot that I can say about how poor my experience was with Sunwing, but I'm only going to describe two things that bothered me the most.

First, we were seated in the elite seating on the plane. While you do get extra leg room, the elite seating is actually the emergency exit! With it being an emergency exit, the seats do not recline and for a 7 hour flight, sitting upright the entire time is very uncomfortable. I assume the extra leg room in the emergency aisle is probably because of wh ere the seat had to be bolted to make sure there is adequate room for exiting the plane (in the event of an emergency). So Sunwing is charging extra for these seats, which I think is ridiculous.

Second, when we booked our flights, the itinerary said direct flight from Vancouver to Punta Cana and one tech stop on the way back. We presumed the tech stop had something to do with the wind. While everyone was getting settled on the plane to depart from Vancouver the pilot then announces that due to unforeseen circumstances and the number of passengers, they have to make a tech stop in Winnipeg! Funny enough, three days before the flight I was speaking to someone and they had told me Sunwing is notorious for announcing these last minute changes. I understand that emergency landings are sometimes required, you know, in the event of an emergency, but I don't particularly understand why a tech stop had to be scheduled for the way down when it was advertised as a direct flight. The number of seats on the plane hasn't changed, and Sunwing should know how many passengers have booked the flight...

I likely won't be booking with Sunwing again unless the price is right, but even then, if the flight is a lot less that the other airlines, you get what you pay for...

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 5
24 February 2016 12:02:00 Guest

First time with Sungwing, but I'm sure will be the last time!!! We flew to Varadero on Jan 27th from Pearson Airport. What they called champagne service just a tiny cup for it. I was ok with that. But our returning flight was horrible. After we passed Miami, the pilot told us we have to go back to Varadero because of the problems of the airplane. We never met this condition before. After we got to the Varadero airport, no staff showed up to take care of us. Our flight was around 9pm, but we left the resort at 6pm, didnt have anything to drink or eat since the whole afternoon. Finally one of the staff showed up after 3 hours, and told us we have to go back to the hotel at 2am in the morning. The day after, we had to go over the security check in the airport again, all the duty free sealed bags had to go into out overweight luggage. We didnt receive any champange service at all ,the only selection of the food is Vegetarian sandwich which full of carrots. It was disgusting! I tried to contact with sunwing customer service, but couldnt hear anthing back from them. I promise this will be our last time fly with sunwing

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 2
11 February 2016 12:02:00 Heather

My husband and I travel every year with sunwing. We like the elite package which includes extra leg room not waiting in line, and also extra weight. The seats are fantastic you get served first and off first. The airline staff are fantastic, we would not go with anyone else. We love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 4
05 January 2016 12:01:00 If you like gambling...

...fly with Sunwing!

PROS:
* Usually cheaper than other airlines. Sometimes MUCH cheaper.
* Hot meals included
* Seats are actually pretty comfy. Elite Plus upgrades have more legroom (but double-check when booking to be on the safe side)

CONS:

* Delayed Flights (half an hour up to 6 hours if you are supposed to leave on a red-eye)
* Lost luggage or items that you may or may not get back
* Having to check carry-on luggage over 5kg/11lbs and pay a $25 fee by being sent into a second line where it takes 10 minutes for your payment to go through once you get to the front of the line.
* Longer wait times in check-in lines compared to other airlines due to so many people having to check carry-ons.
* Attendants who don't care much because their job sucks (I had to listen to the attendants complain in the back about how the person who does their schedules is totally incompetent).
* Limited/zero help from Sunwing representatives if something goes wrong and you try to contact them by phone. If you do manage to contact someone, they might tell you to call another number...which doesn't exist.

CONCLUSION: You get what you pay for! Only travel with Sunwing if your priority is to save money and you can handle the above possible inconveniences (all based on experience). Good and economical if you AREN'T on a tight schedule and can go with the flow. TERRIBLE CHOICE for anyone who cannot handle stress well.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 1
17 October 2015 12:10:00 Bill

Exceptional service and hospitality. Took flight from Toronto to montego bay Jamaica on October 11 and returned on October 17 back to Toronto. Service was exceptional and both my wife and I enjoyed travelling with this airline. No complaints at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 6
13 August 2015 12:08:00 Guest

My family and I took a roundtrip from Charlotte,NC to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. I will say we have never had such a wonderful experience flying. The staff was fantastic, check in perfect, flight was amazing and we were treated wonderfully on the flight. How awesome is it to watch movies both ways eat a pizza have a drink and relax. Our transportation to and from airport was amazing as well. I was so nervous when I read the reviews before we went. I am here to tell you we will definitely book again and recommend this airline. Thank you Sunwing!

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 3
1 - 58 of 108
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last
More reviews
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2019 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/Sunwing_Airlines/ 1 1 1