Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login


Air Transat Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Air Transat

28 June 2022 12:06:00 José Roelofsen

If I could leave negative stars I would. It was the worst experience I have ever had. They are not willing to work with you at all and take your money any chance they get. Not only were the employees checking us in useless but so were the phone lines. We had to prior notice of vaccination requirement and had to miss our flight. We were told that if we called the customer service number they would help us rebook with a small fee. After being on hold for 10 hours I was finally able to talks to someone and they let us know that they would not do anything and we would have to book a whole new flight. Terrible experience, never flying with them again. KLM is way more helpful and care about their customers. Would not recommend!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
24 June 2022 12:06:00 Ayad Elaydi

I cant give less than 1 star which is over rating for Air transit, booked a flight for my wife and son to Toronto, day before the flight my son had food poisoning and Doctors advised not to travel called air transit to move the flight I was told as its less than 24 hours I cant change any things even though I offered to pay for any extra cost, no refund or compensation was offered, wrote to the airline no response, for me never ever I will book again with this airline

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
15 June 2022 12:06:00 Guest!orrIne

Ive been trying to reach an agent by calling their 877 number,
for three days. First day on hold for three hours, second day on hold for 3 hours and now thrid day on hold again. Will it be for 3 hours without success. Hope not. Why am I calling? The airline changed our travel dates.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
13 June 2022 12:06:00 Air Transat passenger

Can't explain how bad the service is. If you are in the future at some point this was written in 2022. How can you not find a bag? Is it so hard to find a bag that was tag? How long does it take to relocated a bag. Poor service. After traveling to many places in the world with multiple airlines. My luggage is never "delay" for this long. It needs to be "21 days" to consider a bag lost. Common now if you loose your luggage and then after a day they still couldn't even find your bag. What a bad baggage recovery service. Airline should take a look at this and manage it by themselves. Putting more task and burden on to the passenger is not cool Air Transat. I expected better than this.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
13 June 2022 12:06:00 SpanishLondoner

Voicing what other reviewers have said, Air Transat call centre/customer service is non existent. After waiting for hours, you still don't get a chance to talk to anyone. The option to add a suitcase before 24 hours so you can pay a little less was impossible to achieve on their website or app. I have been on the phone with them for 1h30+ and did not manage to speak with anyone. In my flight to Toronto from London, the cabin crew pointed out I could speak with the Air Transat people who would be waiting at the gate. I explained my issue about adding my suitcase for my return, and their answer was still you need to call this number, and they would pick up this Canadian number in 15 minutes. I said I couldn't call from Canada because I don't have a Canadian phone, and asked to call from theirs - of course the lady looked at her colleague nervously smiling and told me she wasn't allowed to do so. When speaking to people in the check-in area, they explained in most areas they are sub-contracted employees from Air Transat and they cannot help with anything else than paying for your luggage when you get to the airport 2h before your flight. It is IMPOSSIBLE to speak to anyone to sort out your problems - AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
Additionally, how ridiculous is it to charge extra for luggage on a trans-atlantic flight?
Furthermore, food in the plane is stingy and borderline inedible. Kudos to the cabin crew though, working in the shitty environment I am sure they put up with every day, they were quite lovely.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
12 June 2022 12:06:00 Guest 1

It's Sunday night in Portugal, we flew on Wednesday our luggage has yet to leave Montreal. We were told 2 days ago that they know where it is, but cannot tell us why they are choosing not to send our luggage. The best part is that their customer service has stopped communicating with us! Fly West jet or Air Canada!

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
02 June 2022 12:06:00 James

Tried to call them dozens of times over the past month and they simply never answer their phone. Not been able to speak to a single person, despite waiting hours on the line. Contacted them via social and they say you have to call to make changes and that's the only number. Don't even know if they actually exist. It's cost me hundreds of dollars now in phone charges and increased prices. Would complain, but they tell you to call...AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
29 May 2022 12:05:00 Jonathan

Air Transat moved my flight to an earlier time several weeks after booking, which messed up all of my reservations at the other end.
Several weeks later, Air Transat cancelled my club class reservation and offered to replace it for an economy seat. The refund that was offered did not reflect the cost difference between an economy seat and club class seat at the time of booking, which is daylight robbery.
I haven't been away in a while and travelling to America is a once in a lifetime experience, so I thought I'd treat myself, but Air Transat have done their best to ruin the start of my trip.
Make sure you book with a different airline as these people will mess you about. I wish I'd listened to the other reviews.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
17 May 2022 12:05:00 Guest

Abysmal customer service experience. Prepaid to select seats for return flight, as wife has an anxiety disorder and is terrified of flying. When we arrived at airport for return flight, found that we had been separated to opposite ends of the plane (row 4 vs row 39). When I approached the agent, they were incredibly rude stating it "wasn't their problem". They couldn't tell me where or how to get refunded for the prepaid seats. Wife had an anxiety attack on the flight as a result. Contacted them afterwards, still no refund or even apology. Also lost my baggage for the entire week of our vacation, again no apology or compensation. Horrible experience.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
12 May 2022 12:05:00 JMAINGRE

Thieves, scammers, liars...
They charge a price different from that displayed when booking and do not want to refund the overcharged. I called them many time, Nothing happens.Totally unacceptable!! Very * and disappointed.! The price has doubled in the meantime and no consideration, no respect for customers,
I called many times for reimbursement ticket # M55B2R cause COVID-19 test under my name, the supervisor told he gonna do it, but its still on wait.
They dont want to do the reimbursement of $ 259,95 on my credit card as promised.
The price has doubled in the meantime and no valid explanation.A horror.This is a BIG SCAM, they are liars.Do not * your time on this rotten agency it deserves to be closed!! I do not recommend this company. Avoid this company.
Date de l'expérience: 29 avril 2022

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
02 April 2022 12:04:00 Guest

Awful ..waited 3.5 hours on phone to talk to a person

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
18 March 2022 12:03:00 Diana

My husband and I booked online with Air Transat. We chose cancellation insurance. Our transaction went through and we got charged the extra fee. However, when they emailed my invoice it says we declined the cancellation insurance. As soon as I received the invoice, I called, my husband called. Not only is it hard to get a hold of someone but the travel company said Transat won't be able to do anything. It's so dissapointing that for some reason something went wrong and they won't fix this. Unless this is their way of not letting people get insurance so that they make more money if they cancel without it. We like traveling and so do our friends, but we won't travel with them again. I don't give zero star because I don't have the option!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
14 March 2022 12:03:00 Selena Young

We flew from Toronto to Cancun January 31, 2022.
Plane had many empty seats. A couple behind us had a cute, little emotional support dog that literally didnt make a sound and was about 12 pounds.
The seat beside the couple was open so they had the little dog on a blanket on the seat.
The boss lady of the flight attendant crew was so incredibly rude to them about the dog on the seat. It had to be on their lap.
Meanwhile, a mother is changing her babys shitty diaper on another open seat across the aisle, no blanket down under the child, poop on the seat, but boss lady says NOTHING to them????
But harps on the guy with the dog FOUR times during our flight!
Then a group of people decide to use the outside bathroom area as a gathering lounge. About 15 people all standing around like theyre at a party.; disturbing everyone around. But boss lady says NOTHING to them.
Unreal. Pick your battles Air Transat.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
21 December 2021 12:12:00 Alenka

Impossible to speak with anyone have been on hold 5 hours and counting and online very difficult to navigate when you want to know if you are getting a credit or refund. There portal doesn't work when I submit the details...you need to talk with someone but can't get a hold of anyone

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
20 December 2021 12:12:00 DI Guest

Ive been trying to get through to the customer service line for the last 4 days and was on hold for over 1 hr each time. Today the message says that the wait time is over 3 hours! I sent them a message in Messenger and still waiting for a response. Their website shows an award they won for 2021 worlds best leisure airline, what a joke! Deplorable service!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
28 November 2021 12:11:00 Guest

Awful, we lost our flight back to USA after a long week away from home

The person in the check-in counter accepted our (me and my daughter, son, and wife) COVID-19 test and at the same time the person helping my sister in law did not accept her and her familys COVID-19 test when we asked why since we both had the test done in the same place, and the same day. We did not understand how my family was ok and my sister in laws family was not.

The lady with my family changed her mind and instead of helping my sister in law they canceled both flights and said that did not care in we had kids with us that needed to go to school, a baby we had no food for at the airport(only snacks for the plane ride). They told us we had to do the test in the airport which costs money and we had to get a hotel since we had nowhere else to go. We did not have enough money for that.

The COVID 19 test was a PCR test done by the Government of Quebec
Clinique de depistage de Chauveau
November 26.2021 (our test results were negative and less than 48 hours, so were ok to flight)

Our seats were given to other passengers that were in the waiting list while we were asking for a explanation of why we were ok to flight and my sister in law was not.

We asked for a supervisor and what we got was a security personnel to tell us that the airline was on their right and there was nothing else to do, that they were closing and we were supposed to go home and comeback tomorrow with a new COVID test.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 2
28 November 2021 12:11:00 Guest

-1 ⭐

Very bad customer service

After 45 minutes waiting for someone to answer the telephone Mike saying that he was the supervisor, but not able to help or assist us

Please do not flight with this airline, you will risk your money

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
15 November 2021 12:11:00 Dan A

Customer service is terrible!!!!!!!!!
On hold for 2 hours.
No online chat, what a joke!!!!!!!!!
If you need anything from them, forget it, help will not come

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
03 November 2021 12:11:00 Guest

I've tried to reach them by phone but it was impossible. 2 times I've been waiting for 2h30 minutes before they disconnecting me. My boking includes one free change but it is impossible to make it online or to reach them.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
02 November 2021 12:11:00 Guest

Economy not so econimical
Once they have your money it's impossible to speak to anyone. (4 hours on hold, 0 replies to my emails)
Although the advertised price is a couple of bucks cheaper when you add the seat charge for departure and return...and the baggage charge for departure and return Transat is more expensive than competitors. Trust me.. do your math and use another service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
27 October 2021 12:10:00 Guest

I give this a 2 star rating because once you are in the plane, its a good go. The problem is their horrendous ground service. Not possible to call. They say they have a call back system, which is impossible to find and they say they will answer online messaging, which never gets answered! If you have any questions, look for another airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
20 October 2021 12:10:00 Bette

I am on the telephone line waiting to speak with a representative regarding our tickets. I have been waiting for almost 2 hours. Not happy with them. This is so disrespectful.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
28 September 2021 12:09:00 Guest

Air Transat is playing with my money
Since February 20, 2021, they have given me hope that their planes are going to fly, changing my date of passage over and over again.
my mother needs to return to her country and I need my money back to buy another ticket with another airline that actually is flying to Cuba right now

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
20 September 2021 12:09:00 Guest

Terrible customer service, in my case, I had the luggage requirements they asked for my flight, anyways they obligated me to pay and check a bag pack, close to another 100 euros. super petty and miserable. I fly a lot and this it will be last time I fly with Airtransat

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
16 September 2021 12:09:00 Janavi

We bought tickets from AirTransat.com confidently because they assured us that we can cancel and receive a credit should the Covid situation get out of hand.
We noticed that the Covid numbers in Vancouver has more than doubled and attempted to cancel our flights as it would be risky for my mother who is 72 to travel under the circumstances.
1st I contacted 1877 872 6728 around 4 pm and waited for 85 mins and gave up.
Following day I attempted at 7 pm till 10.30 pm.
Following 2 days I was on messenger for two days straight and no reply.
There should be serious monetary consequences for the CEOs and Directors of the company. Like a percentage of the salaries should be paid based on the hours we spend trying to get them to issue a credit.
Do not but tickets from them, unless you want to suffer from high blood pressure or a heart attack.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
05 August 2021 12:08:00 Guest

My flight was canceled for COVID-19 back in March of 2020. I was approved for a refund, but they refunded to a card that was paid off and closed. My bank refused the refund, so the money was sent back to Air Transat. Air Transat refuses to provide me with a refund through another route, they have stopped answering my chat messages, and "coincidentally" my calls are now dropped every time I call customer service. They had told me getting a letter from my bank confirming the refund was refused would help. I sent the letter via email to the correct address given, checked in two times since, and still have not received a response there either. They have essentially blocked me on all avenues of communication, even though I was never rude or confrontational.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
16 July 2020 12:07:00 L Watson

Don't book with Air Transat unless you wish to experience immense frustration from their random and routine changing of your booked flights by several days.This is the second time Ive booked with them and have had dates changed by as much as 3 days! First time, pre Covid, I was granted a refund as the Eco flight I booked ( as a scheduled flight) was changed resulting in shortening my European vacation/planned trip by 3 days. Now this second time I have rec'd 2 emails in 3 weeks shortening my Domestic trip at first by one day and now by 2 more days..I can only access a credit..no full refund ( so I can go and book on a more reliable airline!)! I have 2 weeks til I travel and at the rate of an email every week or so shortening my trip I wont have a vacation at all! I understand Covid times but they did this precovid as well..a credit is no help with an airline that I now have zero confidence in. I have flown with them previously and experienced great service/food etc on the flight..but I can't tolerate,nor should a business continue to be able to function, when it is as unreliable to this significant degree.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
17 December 2019 12:12:00 Guest

43 Milner Gate
Thornhill, Ontario Canada L4J 2M5

Monday, December 16, 2019

c/o V.I.P. Corporate Executive
AIR TRANSAT A.T. INC.
5959 Chemin Cote Vertu Ouest
Montreal, Quebec Canada H4S 2E6
(877) 872-6728 & (514) 636-3630 & Fax‎: (514) 906-5133

Regarding: Very Serious Complaint

Dear Air Transat A.T. Inc. Executive:

Good Morning or Good Afternoon to You!

How is your day today in sunny Montreal, Quebec Canada and/or wherever else You are in the World?

My day is going fine, thank you, except due to the Fact that My Sister Lorraine Kiely and her close Friend, Lorena Ponzi flew with Air Transat back on Wednesday, August 28th, 2019 and Had A Horrible Airport/Baggage and/or In-Flight Experience!

Please Note: I am Going To Explain My Sister and Her Friend's Complaint Letter To The Best Of My Ability And If Anything Does Not Make Sense, Then I Will Provide You With Direct Contact Information So That You Can Get Directly In Touch With My Sister. Thank You.

To Start Off: The Female Employee at the Airport Check-In Department told them that Their Luggage Was Overweight and Then She Measured Their Hand Luggage and said it Was Overweight.

Moving Right Along: They Were Going To Stick More Stuff In Their Supposedly Overweight Luggage Since They Were Already Paying For It!

Moving Right Along: Then She Said That She Measured Each Luggage and said that If I Hold These Two (2) Cases and You Hold Those Two (2), Even Though They Were Not Theirs,
Like I Was Holding One (1) Of Yours And You Were Holding On To One (1) Of Mine,
Then We Will Be Within The Limits!

That Is What She Said, so They Did Not Put Any More Luggage In The Overweight Suitcase(s).

Moving Right Along: Then She Forgot To Tag It so When We Got To The Other Check-In Area, She Weighed Them and said that It Was Overweight and We Asked If We Could Combine Them and she said, No, It Does Not Work Like That and They Had To Pay Again For A Second (2nd) Suitcase.

Regardless, Your Legitimate Customers Who Have Worked So Hard Their Whole Life Have Been Extremely and Disgustingly Ripped Off By At Least $81.54 And An Additional $65.00 According To Your Customer's Feedback and Receipts/Documentation.

This Is Far From What I Call Legitimate And Righteous Customer Service and Your Customers Deserve To Be Refunded For The Additional Ripped Off Amount(s) That They Have Incurred.

They Are Not Interested In Your So Called Transportation and/or Flight Vouchers By Any Means!

You Are A Multi-Billion Dollar Company And Can Afford To Take Care Of Your Customers Respectfully And Properly And So Far You Have Totally Failed In Every Aspect!

Moving Right Along: I Want To Further Apologize For Not Writing You This Letter Of Very Serious Complaint Any Sooner, but My Sister Did Not Know Who To Contact And Preferred ME To Take The Initiative To Spend Several Hours Online To Write You Out This Very * , Upset And Emotional Letter To Let You Know That This Type Of Corporate Financial Abuse Taken Against Your Legitimate Customers Will Not Go Ignored, Nor Be Tolerated In Any Capacity!

Enclosed, in the attachments, please find copies of their Receipts, Flight Itinerary and Other Related Documentation for your reference and further review.

If you would like to contact my sister back directly in order to discuss her letter of Very Serious Complaint in further detail, then please contact Mrs. Lorraine Kiely at her Thornhill, Ontario Canada Landline Phone Number at: (905) 881-7818.

You may also reach her by Cellular Phone at: (647) 238-5299.

You may also email her at: lorrkiely@gmail.com and/or lorraine.kiely@yahoo.com and/or lkiely@sympatico.ca.

You may also contact Mrs. Lorraine Kiely through the Canada Post Mail System at:

Mrs. Lorraine Kiely
43 Milner Gate
Thornhill, Ontario Canada L4J 2M5


I am more than looking forward to hearing back from You with a Positive Response some time in the very near future.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,





Howard Paul Shore
* And Upset Air Transat A.T. Inc. Customers
On Behalf Of Mrs. Lorraine Kiely And Ms. Lorena Ponzi, Your Customers

/HPS
Enclosures: Please See The Attachments For Copies Of Their Receipts, Airline Itinerary And Other Related Documentation For Your Reference And Further Review. Thank You.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
10 January 2014 12:01:00 adriaantje penner

over the last few years we have flown air transat to the netherlands and the carribean. we absolutely love club class and always try to fly air transat whenever possible. yehhhh

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
29 January 2013 12:01:00 D. Buckland

Montreal-Varadero-Montreal 10/10 Excellent value for money as their prices are cheap and their products... awesome. I just flew on one of their new aircrafts. Wow! Video screen at every seat, good legroom, and proper seat width. Flight attendants offer a professional and attentive service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 3
26 September 2009 12:09:00 S Roberts

Toronto to Manchester. Should have been Air Transat but airline switched planes and companies without notifying customer (ended up on Thomas Cook). Paid for Club Class which allows for extra baggage weight, food upgrade, etc but had to pay a second time since the weight was for economy class. Also got charged for a coffee. Pre-booked seat obviously not given due to the switch. Cannot rate anymore since it wasn't Air Transat, just expect a company to contact a customer if a switch like that is made, it's just very poor customer service! Won't recommend Club Class.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
1 - 31 of 31
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2022 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/air_transat/ 1 1 1