Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
 ⇒  ⇒ Copa Airlines


Copa Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Copa Airlines

10 April 2019 12:04:00 Guest

Worst customer service ever in the world received by Julieta Basurto !!!! She does not know what real customer service is and her negative attitude should change. Why Copa has such rude and unprofessional employees ???? She did not put attention to our request and was busy texting on her phone and laughing. When addressed she told us to walk away and don't bother her. She did not even took time to look at our issue and refused to call her supervisor. Last time I fly Copa !!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 1
22 December 2018 12:12:00 John Taylor

In July 2018 my wife and I had tickets to fly Copa Fr om San Francisco to Panama. Copa has two flights out of San Francisco both late at night. The flight, on a Copa, alliance partner, arrived late and we were unable to catch the 10 PM flight. The reservation agents and station manager told us there would be a $400 fine. On top of this they explained there was only one seat available on the 1:30 AM flight and the other passenger would have to go standby. This was unacceptable.
Plan B was to call the reservation center which we did at about 2 AM in the San Francisco airport. We were then told that our tickets were invalid and we would have to pay over $1100 to go to Panama City Because prices had increased since we made our original booking. We agreed to think about it, and looked for a hotel. Try to get a hotel in San Francisco in July; not possible. Furthermore the reservation center told us there were no available seats on the next nights flight. That meant spend two nights minimum in the San Francisco airport hoping we would be able to get a flight out in two days. mmmmm
Plan C was to make last-minute bookings on other airlines (at extortion rates) to get home and get some rest as soon as possible. This was the option we chose which cost us, in addition to the cost of the copa tickets, an extra $2400. In spite of a later call to Copa's call center, after returning home, we were unable to recoup one cent from our San Francisco to Panama leg with Copa.
Ironically, an identical situation occurred on November flight with American Airlines wh ere I missed the connecting flight in Miami because of a late arrival. As you can imagine, I no longer fly Copa, in spite of the fact that it's route map is more convenient for me and despite the fact I have a free ticket which I likely will never use. American Airlines provided me with accommodations, transportation and food and a ticket on the first flight out the next day at no additional cost.
My advice to you as a passenger considering Copa Airlines is to purchase travel insurance particularly if you take if your flights require connections, using Copa Airlines.
As for me personally, I much prefer American Airlines customer service as opposed to Copa's version, which they label "Customer Care".
As a result of my experience I filed a complaint with the US DOT. I did this, because Copa would not respond to my initial complaint report on their website. In Copa's response which is required by DOT regulations, A Copa representative explained their customer care policy to me.There regulations made it clear that my situation was not a simple oversight. It was clear to both my wife and I that copa's procedures were carried out to the "T" as the Copa letter explained. I do not know what your experiences are or were with Copa, but this trip was my "travel experience from hell", one, which I hope I will never to repeat.
You will quickly learn that If you experience Customer care issues on the ground, with Copa Airlines, there will only be one winner. Copa's Customer Care" policies are designed to benefit Copa Airlines not you. Caveat Emptor!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
20 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

BE AWARE OF ALL HIDDIN FEES. YOU WILL FIND THEM AFTER YOU PURCHASE YOUR TICKET AND NEED TO CHANGE YOUR FLIGHT. I USE DELTA, AMERICAN AIRLINES AND JET BLUE, THEY HAVE THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALSO THEIR FEES ARE VERY REASONABLE IF FOR SOME REASON YOU HAVE TO MAKE A CHANGE.

THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I BOOK A TRIP WITH THIS COMPANY AND I AM NOT USE THIS COMPANY EVER IN THE FUTURE OR EVEN RECOMMEND IT TO NO ONE.

I CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE TO ASK FEW QUESTIONS ON HOW CAN I CHANGE MY FLIGHT OR IF I CAN GET A REFUND BECAUSE OUR TICKET FOR 4 PEOPLE SAYS IT MAY BE REFUNDABLE. THE RESPONSE WAS VERY RUDE WITH NO EXPLANATION HE KEEP YELLING AT ME REPEATING "IT IS NOT REFUNDABLE". I ASK HIM TO BE MORE RESPECTFUL. I WAS ONLY ASKING QUESTIONS TO SEE WHAT DO I NEED TO DO. YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM ARE VERY RUDE. AND AFTER GETTING THE TICKETS I JUST REALIZE YOU ARE CHANGING A FEE AND A PENALTY OF $300 FOR ANY CHANGE. ONES AGAIN I WONT USE YOUR SERVICE OR EVEN RECOMMEND IT TO NO ONE

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
28 August 2017 12:08:00 Neysha Sima

I am Canadian, but I prefer to fly with COPA, I find the services of COPA much better than Air Canada. In my opinion the COPA staff treat customers in a more respectful way, and are helpful at all times. Keep up the good service COPA. Thanks.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 1
25 January 2017 12:01:00 Jorge Moncayo

This is one or the worst company in customer service they are supposed to refund my money and is 4 months already, they never respond the emails and they don't have a telephone number to contact a real person, not even for free I wont fly with them never ever!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
23 August 2016 12:08:00 Jim F

We flew Copa from Las Vegas to Panama City in May. The staff, aircraft, service, and in flight amenities were great. We are booked again for November

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
14 March 2016 12:03:00 Guest

I am very disappointed with copa airlines. I originally bought 4 tickets from them to go to Ecuador, right after the purchase we had a family emergency and thought we would be unable to travel so we call to cancel the tickets. The situation changed that 3 of us would be able to travel and would only need a refund for one ticket. We called again and they told us there would be no problem with this. Now 4 months later we still have not received any refund or are unable to talk to someone that can help us. We have written the refund department several times with no response. When we go on their website to request our refund it says that it in process but we haven't received anything!!! Now everyone time I call the airlines they direct to write the refund department but I explained that I have done this numerous times with no response and they tell can not help me. I am fusterated that I can not speak to anyone that is able to help me. I feel like they are giving me the run around and find this to be horrible service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
21 January 2016 12:01:00 Guest

I flew copa from US (IAD) to Argentina (EZE) twice now. Both times they did not post my mileage credit to my united account even though my frequent flyer details were on the boarding pass. Since the ticket number does not show on the receipt I spent hours calling them and reconstructing my itinerary to have UNITED process my mileage credit.

Also, COPA as of last year no longer will allow UNITED premier customers to upgrade unless they PAY!

And if you are sitting in an exit isle and cannot speak Spanish you could be moved to another seat, at the request of the purser.

Tip: If you want to fly from IAD to EZE using United then perhaps book your flight on UNITED and fly through Houston, last time I checked flights were much cheaper than Copa which flies through Panama. Good luck.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
15 November 2015 12:11:00 BURVENICH Noel

Dear.
Due to the late arrival of my flight fr om Tumaco (Colombia) with Santena Airline, I missed my flight from Cali to Panama with Copa Airlines.
Although the Copa check in counter was already closed, I met an employee who helped me to re-book my flight on 13/11, was useful in advising me wh ere to stay for the night and in every other way. Her name: Claryssa Bermudez. Herewith I would like to thank her for all her help and assistance.
Bothe flights on this 13//, from Calito to Panama and then to Buenos Aires were a very nice experience for me!!! Clean modern planes, helpfull and friendly crew!!! And of course they were all smiling at any time.

Thanks Copa Airlines, thanks flight crew and above all THANKS CLARYSSA!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
25 September 2015 12:09:00 Guest

Always On time!!! Good ticket prices. No complaciera about the airline. New aircrafts, verte clean.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
06 August 2015 12:08:00 Deborah O'Dowd

HORRIBLE!!!!! THREE OF MY RESERVATIONS WERE CANCELLED BECAUSE OF PROBLEMS ON THE COPA PAGE. NO HELP WAS OFFERED BY CALL CENTER AGENTS. NOT ALLOWED TO SPEAK TO SUPERVISORS. ONE CONFIRMED RESERVATION, COMPLETE WITH RESERVATION NUMBER AND SEAT ASSIGNMENT WAS NOT PROCESSED. NO INFORMATION GIVEN AS TO THE FAILURE. ADVISED TO GO TO COPA OFFICE OR AIRPORT 2 HOURS FROM MY HOME ON A RAINY DAY TO CONFIRM MY CREDIT CARD. NOT ABLE TO SCAN AND SEND THRU MAIL. NO RESPONSE FROM COPA DESPITE VARIOUS COMPLAINTS AND MESSAGES SENT THAT WON'T RECEIVE A RESPONSE FOR 15 DAYS, IF EVER, AND LONG AFTER THE TRIP SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN AND ENDED. PATHETIC. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE AIRLINE TO MY WORST ENEMY.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
22 July 2014 12:07:00 Maureen Morris

first time travelling on this airline and I must say I enjoyed every minute of it , from check in to departure staff were excellent , food was great , I didnt know any major spanish words but it worked out okay , I would definately fly this airline again

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
05 May 2014 12:05:00 Guest

I love Copa and have flown with them a great deal.
I have been told that there is a higher fare you can
pay to have refundable tickets. I like their service,
I speak Spanish, I'm not sure if that is a variable.
Travel insurance has helped me make chanes
With Copa before (from economy to 1st class)

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 2
08 March 2014 12:03:00 Guest

Their customer service 's bad. as a travel agent I hate selling CM. They do not offer support or does not have an agent desk. Such cheap service for an international carrier.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
14 February 2014 12:02:00 Patricia Wilson

What a terrible airline and even worse customer service.they made an errot with my checkin at Guatamala City - they were not able to amend it in the 2 hours I waited and so I missed the flight. This meant i missed all my connecting flights. The next day I was put on a flight in economy even though I had paid for business class flights,I did not recieve amy compensation or an apology. I have sent several complaints to Copa through every avenue I can and have no reply from any of them. Rebooking my connecting flights and extra accommodation cost me hundreds of dollars - never again!

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
22 May 2013 12:05:00 Guest

Our travel agency has booked several large groups on COPA and, I must say, this airlines is the most inflexible and difficult airline to work with. All communications MUST be done via email and the airlines does not have any direct telephone number to their group desk department - this is downright shameful and shows a contempt and disdain for customer service. Yes, COPA airline prices are competitive BUT, are not worth the anxiety and ridiculous myriad of rules that favor only COPA, at the expense of the customer. If a bona-fide IATA/ARC travel agency cannot recommend an airlines because of the barriers to direct communications with a live COPA agent, then, woe and warnings to the individual traveler. If you have a problem or emergency, you might get an email answer, 48 hours later and, that email will contain only negative information. COPA needs to completely retrain and reprogram their top management level, starting with their supervisors and going up to their top administrators who make decisions. After our most recent lack of communications and service flexibility for a large group of 40+ passengers, I cannot in good faith recommend COPA airlines.

Is this review helpful? Yes 16 / No 0
16 May 2013 12:05:00 Guest

Not a pet friendly airline. No customer service. Overcharge for everything. So called help in the cabin "worthless"

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
25 January 2013 12:01:00 Guest V. Visnowski

I flew from LAX to Tocumen Airport(last Dec).Called 24 hrs in advance to confirm flight,waited more than 1 hr on the phone,got disconnected and finally an alive person answered.At the LAX,it was a mess checking-in,employees behind counters,others coming to assist the one "stuck" in their pc,more than 1/2 hr to check-in,no lines,people complaining of flights being re-scheduled without their knowledge,etc...It seems the employees are not properly trained and don't know how to read info on their pc.In Panama was the same problem.The plane was very nice,clean and service on board was fine.Would I fly by Copa again,NO,prefer to pay more than use a very disorganized airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
16 May 2012 12:05:00 Tim Cunningham

I am not impressed w/ Copa Airlines, for a large profitable airline, their customer service needs to be substantially better.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 1
03 February 2012 12:02:00 Katherine Perino

My friend and I were recently kicked off our flight from Rio de Janeiro to Panama City because Copa decided to use a smaller plane. We were the only ones kicked off the flight and were not last in line - why were we chosen? Because we were foreign and had booked from abroad without a Brazilian social security number (CPF). Copa's protocol is to book tickets in this category as standby. In the mess that followed, Copa revealed their total lack of professionalism of any kind. We stood in line for 1.5hours before being kicked off the plane. Then we were given $200 vouchers that we were promised we could validate for cash if we emailed the manager, Arlete DeCarvalho, who was there handling our case. We asked if there was anything else they could do since we would be sitting in two airports for an additional 10 hours due to the change. The customer service representative then promised to get us access to the Copa Presidential Lounge in Panama City. However, when we arrived no one knew anything about us. Additionally, the bag check-in person took 30 minutes to check our bags to New York while being instructed how to do it by another senior check-in assistant next to him. Additionally there were no pillows or blankets in my seat on the plane for a 9 hour flight - because "the flight was full." When emailing the manager, Arlete, to receive the voucher in the form of cash back she revealed that her rep had misinformed us and we could only use the voucher to book a flight with Copa in the next year. She then said that we could receive a refund if we had a Brazilian bank account, to which I responded that I had a friend in Brazil with an account. She failed to respond to that email and ignored a second sent a week later. From start to finish, in the critical aspects and in the details, Copa failed and failed again. I will never book another flight pattern involving this airline and I also am disappointed by Continental's choice to partner with them as they in no way meet the standards of service expected from flight providers by Americans and deserved by anyone paying thousands of dollars for transportation.

Is this review helpful? Yes 14 / No 2
21 December 2009 12:12:00 Guest

LAX-PTY-BAQ. I have flown Copa 2 times a year since 2003 fr om LAX-PTY-BAQ roundtrip. The seats are uncomfortable for a 6.5 hour flight and little leg room, I am 6 feet tall. Food is usually good, drinks are limited and service is good on the plane and at the Copa Airlines counter. Never had a problem with delayed flights, missed connecting flights, being bumped or put on stand-by. Copa gives you your boarding pass for PTY at LAX so you dont have to touch your luggage or check-in again, a very nice feature. Movies, food, drinks, blankets, pillows and 2 pieces of checked luggage are still FREE on Copa! (well you dont pay extra)

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
1 - 21 of 21
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2019 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/Copa_Airlines/ 1 1 1