Back to top ▲
Login:
Password:
Registration
Forgot your password?
Login as:
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
 
your guide to airlines all over the world

Alitalia Reviews

Submit your review of "Alitalia":

Your name:   Insert image

Spam Protection (CAPTCHA): Refresh code
CAPTCHA image characters
Sort review by:   date / rating
08 February 2017 Mark M

Miami-Rome in October.....what a horror! Very uncomfortable seats. Filthy bathrooms. No jet way upon arrival and had to depart down steps in the pouring rain....and then huddle under the wing because the trams were full. My wife almost divorced me on the spot. Un- attentive attendants. Overall a mess. They lost our seat assignments in the last week and we lost our aisle seats. We had to share middle space in a 4 across and they did not give a hoot about it. NEVER AGAIN! And if you are wise, find alternatives. The return flight was much better and still a poor product for the money we spent. Take my word for it. DON'T BOOK!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
25 January 2017 Guest

Hi; My partner and I flew on Alitalia last year. We had ordered special meals, specially my partner (a moslem meal) and since it was Ramadan, we totally got harassed by the Flight Attendants. They refused to serve the meals to us and just left it on the dirty floor. The seats were broken and no entertainment and recline option all the way from LAX to FCO (rome). Also, we got charged twice for the extra luggage fee ($300) dollars. Multiple delayed flights that interfered with our visit/vacation. Eventually Alitalia lost both of our bags into Casablanca. No clothing and all the gifts we had for our families were gone. We filed at baggage claim rightaway at Casablanca airport. Nothing was offered and we were told to write an email to Alitalia in Rome and New York. We had originally purchased the ticket with our Delta Miles/American express. Nothing has been offered via Amex or Delta. We have written multiple letters to Alitalia/emails and no apology or refund or reply.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
07 January 2017 Guest

We booked a flight on Expedia fr om CDG to LUQA via Rome. Our eticket specified it would be an AF flight but in actuality it was an Alitalia flight. The entire experience was a disaster. Our luggage scales broke the night before so arrived more than 3 hours prior to the flight departing, just in case. We didn't know we were on an Alitalia flight until after AF directed us to the wrong line three different times. We checked our luggage and did not see one piece again until a week later, after arriving home to the US. We were harrassed and delayed at security because they insisted we check our hand luggage, even after removing magazines and food that tipped it over the 12K lim it. We refused so by the time our luggage was approved and inspected we arrived at the gate with a minute to spare. We were first told we could board, then told we couldn't. We were then told our tickets were no good and we'd need to go downstairs to rebook the ticket. 955 Euros later (originally a 150 euro ticket) we were in a hotel without luggage that was already MIA. We are working on reimbursement now for additional expenses but based on what I've read it will be a long time coming, if ever. The airline is on the verge of folding at present and based on our experience, good riddance.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
04 December 2016 Guest

Guys, I flew many airlines and different airports but the most worst airline and airport in terms of services is Alitalia and FCO airport.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
20 March 2016 Sergio S

Alitalia, together with Iberia, is definitely one of the worst airlines operating in the EU. 1. In-flight crew unable to speak any language other than Italian and English. 2. Crew doesn't have the Customer Service attitude. To ask anything from them is always a humbling act. 3. Entertainment centre in their international flights is mediocre and altogether uninteresting. 4. Food served during the flight has a face of industrial food, little, lukewarm and without much option. 5. I strongly recommend people: STAY AWAY FROM ALITALIA. Even if you have to pay a bit more, go with AirFrance, TAP, British Airways, any other company will be definitely better!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
17 November 2015 Greg

Flight from Paris to Trieste, via Rome. Delayed flights, delayed luggage, pathetic level of customer service and follow up. I could never recommend using Alitalia. Despite experiencing delayed luggage, and waiting two days for it to arrive, our tickets for the return leg of our holiday had been cancelled by the airline because they had no record on their system of us travelling with them on the first leg of our journey!!!! We had to show them our boarding passes to Trieste to show them that we had travelled on our booking with Alitalia, and for them to find us seats on the flight we had booked and paid for!!!. You get a better level of service and value for money from budget airlines such as Easyjet - Alitalia offered a worse than budget service at a premium price ...

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
04 November 2015 Guest

I bought a comfort seat on an Alitalia flight. The receipt came in with no mention of seat number or date of flight. I sent an e-mail to Alitalia customer service, but never got a reply. I called them, and the rep was EXTREMELY rude. She told me that "it's all in the system" and I don't need evidence that I booked that specific seat. As if one could trust a company with such poor records! Now I am holding my breath to see whether I will really get the upgrade I paid for.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
18 December 2014 Guest

This was my first experience with Alitalia airlines. I am sorry to say i am very disappointed with my experience. First of, our flight was delayed, and i knew i wouldnt make my connection due to the delay, yet while Air France was trying to help me get a flight from Paris to Beirut, Alitalia refused to let that happen, made me go to Rome, miss my connecting flight to Beirut, and thus i had to stay one night in Rome. To top it all off, one of my checked in pieces is still missing, and the one that made it with me to Lebanon is soaked. My books, my clothes, boxes with collectibles, and even my nintendo 64. Attached you will find the pictures of all the goods that have been damaged. I am very disappointed with what seemed to be a never ending trip with many firsts, and dreading my return flight to Detroit.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
19 November 2014 Lisa Napoletano

I travelled to Italy in November of 2014. I experienced problems with the airlines on both going and returning from JFK to Rome to Bari and returning from Bari to Rome to JFK. The flight attendants (especially the women) were extremely rude. On the flight over I wasn't feeling well and asked for a glass of ice twice. The first time I was told that they did not have any, the second time the woman assistant looked at me and said "Ice is no good for you!" The male attendant could tell I was not feeling well and finally handed me a glass of ice. Although I reserved my seats at the time of my purchase, they check in attendant gave me a different seat, which was a middle seat. I feel claustrophobic as it is in a plane and it is crucial for me to have an Isle seat. They do not care at all about the comfort of their coach passengers and make you feel like a criminal for even asking for anything. I do not know how they treat their business class passengers, but for $2,000 a ticket, I think the least we can expect is a smile and a kind gesture and a glass of ice, if requested. I traveled with my 80+ year old parents. It was hard for them to get up out of those tight seats. My father was trying to get up out of his chair when an attendant came scurrying by him. Not only did he not stop to try and help him up, he almost pushed him over. The plane on the way home was extremely dirty. The bathroom floor was so filled with urine that my sneakers were sticking to the floor. Flying 8+ hours there and 10+ back is difficult enough, factor in the lack of legroom, nasty attitudes of the attendants and filthy plane I felt degraded and dirty. We paid additional money for two bags of luggage which never made it back to the states. We are still awaiting their return. (I will never take this airline to Italy ever again. I am not one to write reviews but if I can help one person avoid this experience then it would have been worth my time.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
19 September 2014 Guest

Most horrible service !! Staff at desk in Rome don't understand English, when you send en e-mail they don't reply or answer your questions I don't reccomend this company

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
12 August 2014 Guest

The service is horrible, outside Italy the only way to contact them is via e-mail, but after 1 week and 6 emails they still not answering.... Pls avoid this company

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
25 March 2014 Guest

Alitalia is a great airline but, it (of course) doesn't beat Emirates or Qantas The bad thing was lots of turbulence and the engines sounded like a dying bird. But the good things were that the hostesses were nice.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
21 February 2014 Saelens

What I experienced is high INEFFECIENCY. Calling customer care center for booking comfort seats (I am 2 meter) I was kept on the line by the operator the first time 12 minutes the second time 10 minutes and no answer on my question and the third time after 3 minutes I was told this service can not be offered. In Alitalia in Belgium this was handled in a couple of minutes..PIY

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
29 December 2013 S Jega

I flew from Rome to Toronto in an old outdated plane with the world's most rude flight attendants. The Attendants were rude. They do not respond to individual calls. You have to get up and walk to the front or to the back of the airplane if you need water. I traveled with an infant, when I asked for some milk, one attendant bluntly said no. Another was good enough to accept the bottle and asked for my seat number. However, most of them were grumpy and look annoyed. Entertainment - No personal entertainment, No power, No USB. There are TVs at the center which play videos. Most TVs were not functioning properly, some screens were in mono color. Transport to Airplane - on crowded buses. So unorganized that passengers were asked to stay inside the bus for a long time after the bus had reached the plane. I was so frustrated with the whole episode that I found myself boycotting anything that reminded Alitalia including Italian food. I do not recommend.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
22 October 2013 Raul and Amalia *

Our flights to and from Rome were terrible (#AZ0615 and AZ0614, 23/09/13). The service was the worst part , the cabin attendants beeing rude, unattentive, lazy and with bad attitude. After serving the food (terrible, not even warmed-up properly), they did not remove the trays for more than an hour, which ment that nobody could get up to use the toilets. Upon passengers complaint, their excuse was turbulence, but the flight was very smooth. When the trays were removed everibody had to go at the same time creating a logjam in the aisles. Did not get the seats assigned upon reservations, making us travel separated. Don't know what have they done to the seats, but they are for people under 150 pounds.E5TKP

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
10 July 2013 Guest

Unbelieveably bad. Alitalia sold us two roundrip tix in Dec. 2012 for flights between Newark and Rome. Yet, upon arriving in Newark for the departing flight, we learned that they had ceased flying from Newark in October 2012. They never notified us. And when we filed repeated complaints to at least get reimbursed for the almost $300 in taxis to and from JFK from EWR, they did nothing at all. Their food and service reinforced our advice: don't fly with them if you can help it.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
02 March 2013 Guest

The very worst!! Due to their poor cabin maintenance my seat during an 11 hour flight from Rome to Miami did not recline at all and had no entertainment. I was forced to endure an upright position with the person in from fully reclined for over 11 hours!. I had about 12 inches between my face and the back of the person's seat. It felt like I was in a box for 11 hours, unable to move or even watch a movie. I filed a formal complaints since my knees hurt for days and the best they could do was offer me 179 EU which I refuse and then they offered 200 EU and I refused to take the credit because I will not fly Alitalia ever again and I don't recommend it for anyone else.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
09 May 2012 Olga

We flew from Rome to Moscow today. Both our suitcases didn't arrive despite the fact that my husband sent his one at the registration and I sent my suitcase from the VAT return counter an hour later. Will post tomorrow how it finishes. At the moment no Alitalia officials are available for comments!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
10 February 2012 Osvaldo

Before I purchased some Gift Cards that Alitalia offered, I made a phone call to Costumer Service to confirm the Card use, restrictions and conditions. The agent who responded the call told me that I could use them the way I explained. Once I purchased and tried to pay the airline tickets with the Gift Cards, it showed ALL kinds of restrictions that I was not notified before. After spending hours on the phone with the Airline, they refused to give me a refund. Now, I have $1,186.98 worth of Alitalia Gift Cards that I cannot use. I definitely feel that Alitalia ROBBED ME

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0

Copyright © 2008-2012 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.

Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.