Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
 ⇒  ⇒ Small Planet Airlines


Small Planet Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Small Planet Airlines

07 April 2018 12:04:00 William Jones

Flight out from Manchester to Cyprus delayed 9 hours - flight back delayed 13 hours and they refused compensation- absolutely disgusting

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
31 October 2016 12:10:00 Philippe

After dozens of negative comments i was expecting the worst, but it seems that it is a classy situation - those who have positive feedback, they dont leave a positive comment. Only negative experiences are expressed loudly. Flew with Small PLanet to Tirana, had a quite pleasant flight. It was on time, food was more than good and everything went smoothly during check-in etc.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
06 September 2016 12:09:00 Guest

Rubbish airline, sent everyone's bags to Manchester and passengers to gatwick saying they were following on small planet plane, and would be delivered overnight, and to us Monday. And that was after a two plus hour delay in take off. They lie and so do their handling agents who told me luggage was with the courier at gatwick, it isn't, and it's now Tuesday and I have spoken to a guy in Manchester airport and that is where our bags still are, and everyone else's who was unfortunate to be on that plane. So my question? What was in the hold that took priority over their customer? Obviously something lucrative. Disgusting treatment will be lucky if we get our bags tomorrow!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
04 September 2016 12:09:00 Amy M.

Manchester-Rhodes. Everyone got onboard on time, no delay. I was especially happy that there were no loud and noisy travelers so everything went smoothly and the flight already felt like vacation. The crew was really friendly and helpful.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
11 October 2015 12:10:00 Guest

we have just returned from Cyprus flying with Small Planet on time both ways and very efficient. Would recommend

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
23 September 2015 12:09:00 Guest

I have just been on holiday to Crete flying with small planet. I had not heard of them before as I had booked on the Monarch site. The flight there and back was uneventful and the staff were very happy, polite and helpful. There was a delay taking off from Gatwick but that was due to a no show so his bags had to be removed from the hold. On the way back from Heraklion the plane was delayed but so were most of the others planes due to take off at the same time. I was most impressed and would not hesitate to use them again

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 3
02 July 2015 12:07:00 Guest

Just returned from Larnaca to Manchester, both ways the flight was on time. The cabin crew were friendly and the aircraft was clean and tidy. I've seen people complain about the age of the fleet however, airlines such as Thomas Cook and Jet2 have similar ages planes so there really is nothing to worry about. I'd happily recommend SPA to anyone in the future. Keep up the good work.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
15 June 2015 12:06:00 Guest

Just returned from Kefalonia, our flight out with small planet was delayed by an hour, they started boarding passengers so late they were never going to make their scheduled departure time, so we sat on the plane for an hour before we were able to depart. The staff were rude to say the least.
The flight back was even worse as the plane turned up three hours late! I have to say it's worth spending extra to fly with a decent airline

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 2
11 June 2015 12:06:00 Guest

They have just changed our flight time 3 times, the latest change just 12 hours before we were due to fly. What a rubbish airline

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 0
31 May 2015 12:05:00 Guest

Flew.with small planet 2 yrs ago and were very pleasantly surprised. Leg room a bit tight for my 6 foot 2 son but so are some other airlines. We were amazed when the crew came around with hot ham and cheese panninis and a cold drink with no charge!!!!! Also boiled sweets on landing was a nice touch and a blast from the past. Like all things you get what you pay for and as long as they get us there and back safely we are not worried about our forthcoming holiday to Cyprus on 2oth June. Must say staff were lovely too.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
14 May 2015 12:05:00 Guest

We booked a holiday with Monarch last August to go to Kos with small planet airlines this August. We received an email 2 days ago informing us that the airline is no longer flighing into Kos this summer on a Saturday! Therefore we have now lost our holiday as the hotel is booked now on alternative flights that were offered. We would never recommend Monarch or small planet airlines to anyone!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
17 January 2015 12:01:00 Guest

THEE MOST DISGRACEFUL AIRLINE EVER. 5 hour delay on the way there 36 hour delay on the way back the airline was not apologetic at all. olympic holidays are going to lose a lot of customers as this is the main airline that they chose to use. i would rathe never go abroad again in my life than use this disgusting company DO NOT USE THEM. They offered £100 compensation for the terrible delay and 7 months later I have not received a single penny. they also smashed my suitcases to pieces both wheels were broken and it was sliced down the side. I am still so * about this airline

Is this review helpful? Yes 14 / No 2
29 September 2014 12:09:00 Len Sullivan

Lat week, we flew with small planet from Gatwick to preveza in Greece, with Olympic tour operator. Was very concerned about possible delays because of reviews. Pleased to say that Outbound and inbound flights were on time. Crew were really pleasant. Check in was excellent. Its no frills but plane was clean and leg room ok. Its what we expected having paid next to nothing. Excellent value for money.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 2
26 September 2014 12:09:00 Guest

Hi there,
I flew with Small Planet Airlines back in July and must say, I was terrified due to all the terrible reviews. However I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.
We arrived at Gatwick airport and checked our bags in at 3.40am this was all very smooth, quick and easy.
Delays are a very big part of this airlines bad feedback and we were delayed an hour due to a late arrival of the incoming plane. We were flying to Santorini on the other hand, so frankly, expected delays as the airport there is so tiny. I think their delays must be a case of luck on the day.
The plane from the outside looked clean and maintained and clearly labelled with the small planet logo. Obviously it was an older plane, only big commercial / long haul airlines can afford the new planes of course, so it was expected that the plane would be older. It was the same used by those of EasyJet.
Inside the plane was clean also and although it was small it wasn't daggy or unkept, there was slight wear and tear to the chairs, but it was clean and colourful.
The cabin crew were always alert and on hand to help, completely fully qualified of course and a range of british and foreign crew. The food and drink trolley came round twice throughout the flight, quickly and efficiently. I didn't have any of the food and drink service so can not comment on that.
The toilets worked and didn't smell, just the typical toilet whiff when opening and closing the door - what can you expect in such a small space?
The take off was smooth as was the landing.
The plane was equipped with screens stating times and altitude, speed etc. and on landing you were offered a traditional boiled sweet.

The return flight from Santorini back to Gatwick was exactly the same standard and if anything took off early!
I would not necessarily recommend the company, I wouldn't want to frighten anyone with the bad reviews, however I would fly again with Small Planet airlines.

Those of you who are worrying, you have nothing to fear, except maybe a slight delay.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 1
22 September 2014 12:09:00 Guest

Worst airline ever ! Do not even consider flying with them. We waited in Malta for flight to London for 13 hours. No information or help. We thought we were booking a monarch flight - booked on monarch website and didn't realise we would be put with their 'partner airline'. A terrible experience all round. Will never ever consider them again - in addition have just seen that watchdog have previously looked into them for refusing to treat passengers properly in delays and provide due compensation. Definitely avoid !

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 2
10 September 2014 12:09:00 not a happy shopper

The comments below say it really. Delay Delay Delay. Excuses as to why there were delays but In my opinion they were actually Lies?! Its not a delay if you have not purchased the flight slot until the day before the flight, dispite having sold your passengers a time slot months ago. 4 hour 'delay' on way out, 4 hour delay on way back. This airline is a joke. I would have got home faster by swimming and jogging!

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
26 August 2014 12:08:00 Catherine Thorn

Hi. I'm a very nervous flyer and booked through Monarch thinking I would fly with them. On finding out it was going to be Small Planet Airways I looked them up and read all the negative reviews. This obviously made me extremely stressed to the point of sleepless nights considering changing flights but my husband and bank balance put a stop to that. I then spoke to a couple of friends who know a little about aviation and they explained to me about all the regulations and strict standards an airline must follow to fly within Europe (google it as it certainly reassured me). We have just returned from Malta flying from Gatwick. The plane was delayed by about 30 mins going out due to a late passenger and was on time on returning. The plane was not new but clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely fly with them again and recommend to my friends. It is no worse than any other budget airline I have flown with. I hope this reassures anyone who is due to fly with this airline as the reviews did cause me a lot of unnecessary stress.

Is this review helpful? Yes 26 / No 0
22 August 2014 12:08:00 Guest

We flew with this airline to Larnaca returning 20th August no problems with flight just the long check in time at Gatwick and the 50mins wait to check in at Larnaca for our return, then the enormously long walk back to passport control and the huge queue to get to the desk for the priviledge to re-enter our own country!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
21 August 2014 12:08:00 Sarah

We flew with Small Planet in July and had absolutely no problems with them. Took off on time in both directions and the staff were perfectly friendly.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
08 August 2014 12:08:00 Guest

Truly awful I'm just going to list what was wrong!
- delays, delays and more delays
- no leg room and lots of people on a tiny plane
- no food
- lazy staff with lots of excuses
-pilot was a bit crazy

You get the point that are absolutely appalling! Give them a miss for your own sanity!

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 4
27 July 2014 12:07:00 Guest

Thomas cook holiday to Cyprus in July; flew with Small Planet.
I was extremely concerned having read the reviews.
I shouldn't have worried it was in fact the best flight I have been on in years; staff were excellent, friendly and * hard working. They never sat at all and were on hand the whole flight out ward and return. No sales pitch, clean plane and on time.
Will def use again well done Small Planet!

Is this review helpful? Yes 13 / No 2
07 July 2014 12:07:00 Guest

Just come back from Canary Islands with Small Planet airlines. They were on time and nice plane! Nothing bad to say about them

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
14 June 2014 12:06:00 Guest

This plane was absolutely filthy , toliets stunk , and really , really shabby !!! My husband works for an airline on the service side , and he said they would never ever let their planes out like that , i actually asked him if this plane was safe , it didn't feel like it . Oh and 4 hours late due to a techincal problem , they did give us food and drink though .Yes , the cabin crew was lovely , funny and friendly , but calling their plane a "retro " was far off of the pace . Newmarket holidays yes (only if not using them ), small planet airlines NO!!!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
28 March 2014 12:03:00 D Marsh

We flew with Small Planet for our flight to Greece in July 2012. This airline was dreadful. The aircraft that we flew out on was old and scruffy, the toilets didn't work and we had a 90 minutes delay because the crew did not turn up! We were then diverted to Rome due to a technical issue that was never clarified. No one met us as we disembarked, some passengers actually went through passport control and it was two hours before anyone came to help us. We had to wait 6 hours with no proper amenities. A total shambles! On the return journey we were delayed by over 11 hours because of a 'technical' issue. We were never informed of what this technical problem was but looking at the state of the planes that Small Planet use, I'm not surprised that they have mechanical issues. Flying with Small Planet was the first time I have ever been concerned about getting on a plane. Avoid them at all costs. For the past two years I have been trying to get compensation from them. They have ignored me and the CAA. Cowboy outfit. Do not fly with them!

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 2
22 October 2013 12:10:00 Guest

we travelled to malta on the 5th october, returning on the 12th with small planet airlines, after reading travellers reviews, we were a bit worried, but we have no complaints, we enjoyed our flight , they were puntual, smooth flights, and friendly staff, will use them again! j bailey

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 3
03 October 2013 12:10:00 Guest

Ghastly experience, left on the runway for over three hours, the pilot said we could not take off due to weather, didn't seem to stop easyjet, BA or anyone else however. Spoken to what they call customer service, simply dreadful. Not our fault, instructed solicitor in their country to get refund. Plane also pushed off fr om the stand with no warning and passengers still standing/walking about. Unlike some I do travel a lot with other companies. Clearly people who have little experience may find the service acceptable, no schedule airline could get away with this. Fleet over 19 years old, I would not fly with them again, there are cheaper and better options if you know wh ere to look.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 4
28 September 2013 12:09:00 Guest

Holiday to Larnarca cyprus from Gatwick on 11th September coming back 25th September 2013 flights on time both ways staff pleasant only complaint very poor leg room.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
16 September 2013 12:09:00 Matt

Having seen the horror stories and followed this forum for the months leading up to my holiday I wanted to just pass on my experience.


We flew from Gatwick to Kos on 05/09/13 and returned on the 12/09/13 with Small Planet. Both flights landed early and were trouble free. The aircraft was a little tired looking on the inside but certainly not the worst I've been on. And overall the experience was perfectly acceptable and no different to easyJet or other budget/holiday airlines but with the benefit of allocated seating (no free-for-all at boarding time) and a generous 20kg luggage allowance.


I think many of the problems on here have been related to Olympic holidays and operations from Birmingham. From my experience and the Small Planet 'stalking' I was doing prior to my holiday it would appear that the majority of their UK services (Gatwick in particular) have been on-time or early recently.


If they are improving their fleet for next year I certainly wouldn't be overly concerned by booking with them again. Particularly as the flight times were the best I came across in terms of early arrival and late departure.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
09 September 2013 12:09:00 Guest

flew back from Corfu last Monday with Small Planet. Flight out was on time, but plane very old. Flight back was delayed/ rescheduled by 10 hours. This would have been a big problem with car hire and accommodation, but both were very understanding. Staff on the return were excellent and the steward said they always flew in the evening not the morning!!!
A friend trains pilots at BA and and flew with Small Planet. She was shocked and scared to see two bald tyres on the plane!!!
Also the guy at the airport said he had seen several airlines go bust in the last few years. SPA would be added to the list soon.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
02 September 2013 12:09:00 Guest

I flew two days ago from Dalaman,Turkey to Gdansk,Poland. I found the whole flight really comfortable. The cabin crew as well as the plane was just fine and did not preoccupie me, even though I am not an ardent fan of flying. Without a doubt I would reccommend this airline to everyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 1
20 June 2013 12:06:00 Guest

Flew out from Humberside to Naples on 8 June and back on 17th. No horrors but the plane was old and grubbyand cramped, the staff were the worst I've ever come across - they took one and a half hours to serve snacks and drinks to the passengers on the way back. No hot food or even sandwiches. The delay was an hour going and two coming back with no explanations.
From the other posts I think I got off lightly

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 6
06 June 2013 12:06:00 Gemma Storan

Just returned off a small planet flight from manchester to larnaca (Cyprus) and I have to say we had no problems at all, no delays, seats comfortable, legroom ok, polite cabin crew and informative pilots.
No hot meals are served but you can buy toasties, paninis, snacks etc... They serve alcohol hot drinks soft drinks etc... They do sell duty free but no cigarettes or alcohol more perfumes gifts etc...
They gave the children little colouring packs to do, handed out pillows and blankets and you even got the old traditional sweet for landing! All in all no problems whatsoever.

Is this review helpful? Yes 29 / No 3
13 May 2013 12:05:00 The Aviator

Hi all,

I flew with Small Planet Airlines 3 times last year through Sunvil. (i have a house in Greece)

Biggest delay we had was 20 mins due to a late passenger!

Yes the 737 we were on wasn't exactly new, but after looking up Small Planets A320's they are really new compared to some of the Monarch fleet!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 30 / No 1
03 March 2013 12:03:00 Guest

Would never travel with this co again. The flight was over 7 hours late. Little info given. Plane was old, smelly, we had a broken seat and the emergency floor lighting strip was peeling away from the floor. Tried to complain but the don't appear to have a customer care dept or manager or indeed any service levels at all. Truly dreadful.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 5
19 October 2012 12:10:00 Guest

Just returned from Alicante with Small Planet through Monarch and the flight was fine. After reading reviews we were a little worried but no need to have been! Fair enough the planes were looking a little old and tatty inside but they were on time and cabin crew were friendly with flight info throughout from the captain. Wouldn't mind travelling with them again!

Is this review helpful? Yes 17 / No 3
11 October 2012 12:10:00 Terry

Flew from Bournemouth to Oporto with Small Planet, plane was clean, tidy and on time both ways. Same sort of legroom as any other charter plane, crew were pleasant. No complimentary food, we had to pay for it, no problem there either. 20kg baggage included. What is the matter with some people.

Is this review helpful? Yes 19 / No 4
06 October 2012 12:10:00 Guest

Replacement for monarch from East Midlands to Malaga 28th Sept & return 5th Oct. Plane looked a little dated & cabin crew didn't speak 'perfect' English but excellent flights both ways. Plane was clean & had plenty of legroom in all seats - very unusual for a budget airline! No duty free available on board but prior warning was given so purchases could be made at airport shops if required. Had been worried after reading reviews but no problems at all!

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 1
26 September 2012 12:09:00 Jfm1111

September 26th 2012
Just got back from Malaga flying Small Planet through Monarch from EMA we have flown to Malaga from Birmingham previouslyone way with no problem, great flight on time both ways staff, were helpful and spoke good english, I could understand what the Pilot actualy said for once, aircraft are old but so were BMI Baby's, We are traveling again with them next month

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 2
22 September 2012 12:09:00 sandy

just came back from kos on a small planet plane. worst flight ever! sat in boiling heat for an hour. no air con. drinks not offered until 2 and a half hours into 4 hour flight. toilets stank. no in flight info. they just packed us in and closed curtains! booked through secret escapes. never again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
14 September 2012 12:09:00 Guest

We were on a flight from Bournmouth to Naples, which was delayed by 10 hours outward and 4 hours inward. No information from the airline or tour operator, we had absolutely no idea when or even if a plane was going to arrive, there was no offer of complimentary food or drink on either flight. Absolutely disgusting service we will certainly never travel with Small Planet Airlines again. We are pursuing a claim for compensation.

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 2
22 August 2012 12:08:00 Guest

We have just been on holiday in Crete and flew with Small Planet. We found they were great, yes, the plane isn't the most modern, but we left on time, arrived on time and the pilot was a good communicator. The cabin crew were also very friendly. I recommend them

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 3
11 August 2012 12:08:00 Guest

worst airline I have ever travelled on. Truly ancient plane, rude staff (who spoke very bad English), terrible pilot who gave no intelligable information, very steep take offs and sharp banking. We were sweating as it was very overheated on the plane and were told the people at the back were freezing, so couldn't change the temperature. The table came off in my hand and so did the armrest, and they were not interested in trying to help.

Pretty sure if they called it what it actually is, air auralia, a lithuanian airline, and didn't try to pass it off as an english sounding airline, most people would not book to travel on it. I certainly would not have booked if I had known.

I think the CAA should question the ethical issue of passing of an eastern european airline as (what seems by the name) a small british charter airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 13 / No 5
19 July 2012 12:07:00 Guest

Flew with Small Planet to Lake Garda from Inverness with Newmarket Holidays, hot food & drinks available both ways, outbound & return flights on time, crew ok, toilets worked, fairly old Aircraft but if not airworthy it would not be allowed to fly so no complaints.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 5
13 July 2012 12:07:00 Simon Godfrey

We flew with Small Planet for our Olympic Holidays flight to Greece. No complaints about the Olympic staff who did their best but the airline was dreadful. The aircraft that we flew out on was old and scruffy, the toilets didn't work and we were kept waiting on the runway in sweltering conditions for about 45 minutes. This was on top of a further delay because of an issue with the crew. On the return journey we were delayed by over 11 hours because of a 'technical' issue. We were never informed of what this technical problem was but looking at the state of the planes that Small Planet use, I'm not surprised that they have mechanical issues. In the end, Small Planet never turned up and an alternative airline was called in to get us home (Strategic Airlines) who were very good and use decent planes. Flying with Small Planet was the first time I have ever been concerned about getting on a plane. Avoid them at all costs. Hopefully Olympic will look at using an alternative Airline in the future.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 1
29 June 2012 12:06:00 jeff arnold

25th June 2012 Oporto to Bournemouth flight. The aircraft was old but of reliable make and the crew were friendly which is all you can expect for a low budget,no frills charter airline.
I have flown with a lot worse so have no complaints.

Is this review helpful? Yes 3 / No 2
26 June 2012 12:06:00 Edward Fowler

Newmaket Holiday to Italy crammed in Small planet plane like sardines, no hot drinks going, no hot food on way back. Never again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 2
19 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

Newmarket Holidays are using Small Planet on flights to Lake Garda. Must have paid peanuts. Flew with them 10/17 June. Old aircraft, do not look very well maintained. No water in toilets,both flights. No hot drinks and limited hot food coming back. Cabin crew not much good, seemed to lack experience. Definitely would not use again .

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
15 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

What an appalling airline, they are a complete shambles, I read a review before flying with them which actually said 'you're in gods hands' well he can't catch!!!!!!!!!!!!!crew went awol making the flight 3 hours late no proper explanation given, service on board was shocking, pilot had two attempts at landing, never agin.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 1
08 June 2012 12:06:00 paul

what can i say thank god we got down ok crew clueless give you no reassurances will never fly again with this airline

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
10 July 2011 12:07:00 Guest

Old aircraft, inexperienced crew. Your in Gods hands.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 1
Отзывы 1 - 50 of 50
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2018 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/Small_Planet/ 1 1 1