Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
 ⇒  ⇒ Silver Airways


Silver Airways Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Silver Airways

09 August 2018 12:08:00 Guest

Flight from Eleuthera was delayed 5 hours with little to no communication during this time. Of course we missed our connection in Ft. Lauderdale and due to the lateness of the hour had quite a bit of difficulty finding a hotel. No assistance was given at all! All complaints must be submitted online and they take months to respond. The result is that they take no responsibility and you end up paying the bills. I suggest you find another airline!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
15 June 2018 12:06:00 Guest

The name silver airlines is appropriate, because by the time your plane arrives your hair will have turn silver 😉

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
30 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

Just shut it down and let a competent carrier serve the routes.
To start with, 90 minutes to check in the 8 parties ahead of us. Then, the flight out of Marsh Harbour was 90 minutes late departing. Not a problem, as we all know Silver is the worst airline on the planet and a mere late departure is a win compared to a cancellation, which is fairly regular.
The connecting 2:50 flight from Ft. Lauderdale to Tampa was delayed until 4:40. We went to find food. At 4:25 we arrived at the gate to learn That the flight left at 4:17. The surly gate agent said the 4:40 departure time was an estimate. 6:59 delayed to 7:59 estimated.
Not the first time Silver has been a bust. Do yourself a favor and fly any other airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
10 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

Cancelled my flight after three time changes. Called number and they are having a system problem. Looks like they stole $500 from me. And, it appears theyve ripped off several others. Someone needs to sue them. Im betting the owner is living like a fat cat and enjoying our money.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
10 May 2018 12:05:00 Larry MOORE

One of the worst experiences I have ever had with an airlines. I booked 2 tickets for my daughter and myself to Orlando from Huntsville, round trip . We were going on a cruise and booked them for our flight. I received 3 emails from them changing flight times that really made our return flight unavailable because of when my cruise returned. I was able to make it work however. Then I have recently received an email stating flight cancelled and to call the number provided. I have called this and every number I can find for them and nobody ever answer the phone. It is just hold time in automated system.I have held for as long as 45 minutes and still nobody picks up the phone. As of writing this, I am yet to speak with anyone at Silver Airways and I am assuming at this point I am SOL in regard to getting a refund for my tickets. I recommend for anyone that reads this to not book with Silver Airlines.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
20 December 2016 12:12:00 Guest

I had an excellent round trip experience with Silver Airways this past weekend, starting from entering into the airport, to arriving at my destination. And again on my returned trip. They were on time from beginning to end. It was comfortable with friendly staff both on ground and in air. But then, I start happy which is contageous and the staff responded in turn. I'm looking forward to flying Silver Airways again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
22 January 2016 12:01:00 People

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!! Silver offered no help with another flight or alternative airline after cancelling my flight. Their response was we can't help you good luck. I have been attempting to get refunds for cancelled flight and baggage for a month, their response is more time required to look into the issue. I have had to send them copies of baggage receipt 4 times.

I would walk or swim before ever using this horrible airlines

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 1
17 January 2016 12:01:00 Guest

I have seen many negative reviews about Silver Airways. I have flown with this airline twice. Both flights were from Orlando Fla. to Pensacola Fla. Both departure and arrival times were on schedule. My checked baggage was there at the baggage pick-up belts on both flights. Because of reviews I had read before first using this airline, I payed attention to all the personnel I could see. It did seem that the people at the service counter, and at the gate, were not what I have experiences with larger airlines like Jet Blue, Delta, and Southwest. They seemed to be a bit stressed. The pilots and attendants appeared to be as I would expect on any other flight. They looked relaxed and acted like professionals. I have flown with other "commuter airlines" and know that they operate on smaller budgets, which generally means that service is not what you would expect from larger airlines. I will say that this airline has some work to do to meet the expectations most customers expect, but they do have many more direct regional flights here in Florida, and at lower costs compared to those larger airlines who charge more and take you to northern hubs,have layovers, and then take you back to your intended regional destination. You do get what you pay for. I doubt very many satisfied costumers took the time to leave positive feedback here. I'll use this airlines again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 6
13 July 2015 12:07:00 Guest

I have flown Silver airways the past two years as they are the only nonstop carrier to many Florida cities. They are almost ALWAYS late with very poor to nonexistent help from the airside staff. On holidays they are either many hours late or will CANCEL the entire flight after keeping you hostage at the airside fir many hours. You are then stranded at an airport overnight with little compensation if any even after arguing. I have sometimes been transported by bus over 4 hours to my final destination that should take an hour or so.
It is my opinion to avoid Silver Airways at all costs and even consider WALKING as a better alternative

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 0
24 June 2015 12:06:00 Rick D.

I have flown Silver Airways many times and have never been overly impressed with their service. Every flight I have ever taken has been delayed and I have never complained and just accepted it as the reality of flying a "bargain" airline. However this last problem I had with Silver is the last straw. My friends and I planned a trip to Green Turtle Cay, Bahamas for a week to celebrate my birthday and another one of my friend's birthdays. Our group totals 15 people. I first contacted Silver 6 months prior to our trip to attempt to book a group rate or see if there is some kind of group program that will allow us all to get on the same flights. Since their planes seat 30 people I figured they'd likely be happy to book 50% of their plane in 1 booking. Apparently you cannot directly contact their group booking agent. All you can do is email the agent and wait for a reply. Sent 3 emails, and all went unanswered so we all booked individually. Since booking our itinerary was changed 3 times, each of which became more and more inconvenient. I had originally booked a direct flight from St. Pete/Clearwater to Treasure Cay, Bahamas which was great because we are traveling with small children and we will still have to take the ferry boat to Green Turtle Cay. After the 3rd schedule change they put us on a flight that would force us to get up at 3AM to get to the airport on time for a flight that would have a 4 hour layover in Ft. Lauderdale then take us to Marsh Harbor, Bahamas which means a 30 minute cab ride to Treasure Cay, then a 30 minute boat ride to Green Turtle Cay. All this while traveling with 5 kids under 2. If that's not bad enough every time I called to rebook the staff seemed indifferent and gave the distinct feeling that attempting to rebook was such a burden that it was too much trouble for them to deal with. if you try to express your displeasure with the situation they just talk over you and get very rude.

Here's the summary of all of my experiences with Silver
-Always Delayed
-Rude & Uncaring Customer Service Agents
-Multiple schedule and airport changes for the same trip
-Inconvenient flight schedule

Bottom Line - I will NEVER fly Silver Airways or United Airlines ever again

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 1
20 June 2015 12:06:00 Guest

Very poorly run airline with many flight delays! Flights are on old small propeller aircraft that have been repainted and are frequently breaking down causing many of the flight delays. Very noisy in cabin due to aircraft propellers. Also, planes are very hot on the ground due to no air conditioning being available. Luggage is frequently bumped off a flight due to weight and balance limitations for the aircraft. If your looking to get to your destination on time and with your baggage, you would be wise to find another airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
03 June 2015 12:06:00 Regular flyer

I have never written a complaint on one of these sites. I fly a lot. I empathize with airlines, I understand the low budget, low fare airlines business model and applaud them for offering very cheap tickets. But Silver advertises direct flights to places, and then you find out that your flight is actually connecting. I received a email that touted direct flights Tampa to Marsh Harbor, Bahamas 1.5 hours. I booked it as direct. The connecting flight that they provided too 7 hours to arrive at destination. A call to the airline the day after arrival to discuss the seemingly bait and switch tactic resulted in a directive to email customer service because the issue is "more than 24 hrs old" . Email was sent. No response. 8 more emails sent over the next 110 days . Finally a response- $25 voucher. Fly silver if you have lots of time to get there and are comfortable hanging out in airports

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
06 May 2015 12:05:00 Guest

I also had a very bad experience with Silver Airways in March 2015, flying from South Carolina to Florida: flights delayed one after another and then cancelled, misinformation given to passengers, no update on the departure boards (indicating flights left on-time), no notice to travelers despite knowing that planes hadn't left the earlier departure points, no response on their telephone line (other than a recording that repeated for well over an hour before I gave up), etc.

At this point, I would suggest that those with similar experiences file a complaint with the Department of Transportation's Aviation Consumer Protection. It is important that either changes be made or this airline lose it's ability to carry passengers.

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 0
06 April 2015 12:04:00 Guest

Beware of flyiing on Silver Airways
All flights are delayed and sometimes cancelled. Delays are in hours, connections missed, unpleasant employees ( can you blame them having to deal with irrate customers),waits of 30+ minutes on the phone to contact anyone, no responses to emails.... need I go on. The only nice thing I can say is that their flight attendants were delightful.
How they stay in business and get recommended by CONDE NAST is behond my comprehension. Check out reviews on other sites and their employee reviews. It is SCARRY!
I will never fly on this airline again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 0
18 March 2015 12:03:00 Guest

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!! Lost our luggage, flight delayed, then finally cancelled ten hours later!! Promised refund on flight several times, yet nothing done. Repeated calls go nowhere and the exact same person you talked to pretends they don't remember or it wasn't them you talked to. You can't make this stuff up. Promises of refund over and over and still nothing. DO NOT FLY THIS AIRLINE. Find another way. You will have to anyway.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 2
18 February 2015 12:02:00 Guest

Silver Airlines is terrible. I had a round trip flight from Jacksonville, FL to Fort Lauderdale, FL in Feb 2015. They were 3 hours late leaving on both flights. Some flights were cancelled. People were missing their cruises and connecting flights. Their excuses kept changing so they weren't honest and the staff was unfriendly. The only nice thing I can say is we didn't crash.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
13 February 2015 12:02:00 Guest

I am still waiting in the Key West airport (8:15 pm) for my flight which was supposed to depart at 3:30 pm. I'm not even sure there really will be a plane. We have been told different departure times every hour. I have never been on such a rinky-dink airline. I had a three hour delay on my flight from Tampa to Key West. My advice is to use ANY means of transportation other than Silver.

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 1
23 January 2015 12:01:00 Guest

Silver Airways is awful, awful, awful and you should never fly them. I was scheduled to fly fr om Tampa to Fort Lauderdale at 8:30 p.m. on January 23, 2015. I arrived an hour early and was told the flight was delayed until 10:00 p.m. When the departure time arrived a number of passengers demanded to know what was going on and the attendant had no clue. Finally she called Tallahassee wh ere the plane was leaving from and was told that one of the engines had failed and the plane was still in Tallahassee. They cancelled the flight at 10:30 pm. We then had to stand in line for another 30 minutes to get a hotel voucher. When my turn came I told them that I had scheduled a flight on another airline the next morning and they refused to give me a hotel voucher. The airport hotel was full so I am spending the night in an airport chair. I told my travel agent never to use them again under any circumstances. They are the worst airline in Florida

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 0
23 May 2014 12:05:00 Guest

IF there were a negative number to rate them with, that's what I'd rate this airline. Our flight time was changed fr om 7:00 AM to 6:40 PM with no notification whatsoever. Luckily it was 1) at Ft. Lauderdale airport wh ere Southwest flies, 2) Southwest had 2 available seats on a 10:30am flight, and 3) a business trip therefore re-booking an expensive last-minute flight was paid by the company. Otherwise we would have been stuck at the airport waiting for a 6:40 PM flight that may or may not have been cancelled too.
Never again, AND I will warn everyone that I know to avoid this airline like the plague.

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 0
27 March 2014 12:03:00 Mary Jane Mulaski

My flight 4027 on March 9 was scheduled to depart 7:50 am. The board said it was on time. No one was even at the check in desk till after 7 am, and the flight didn't leave till after 11am. We were never notified of a delay and had no idea what was going on. We could have had three more hours of sleep and avoided waiting three hours in the airport not knowing what was going on, if we had been notified ahead of time.
What a poor way to run an airline!

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 0
19 March 2014 12:03:00 Guest

terrible service, never on time, lots of cancelled flights. They offered me a voucher, then when I went to use it, they wouldn't honor the voucher for the same route for which they gave me the voucher.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
19 March 2014 12:03:00 Guest

Avoid at all costs. Their staff, while friendly, does not have a clue about their own procedures. One flight was delayed for several hours because the lavitory on the plane was broken (it was a one hour flight). I over heard one of the flight crew state they were checking Lowes to see if they could find a replacement part. Today, flying from Atlanta to Mississippi. AFTER I checked in, I was informed the flight was delayed by half an hour. Then I overheard other passengers discussing cancellation. Only after I approached the counter with my concern was I informed that yes, all flights to everywhere in Mississippi that day were cancelled because of no flight crew. I was not offered any help, apology, explanation or alternative. I was simply left standing there completely agape while the attendant tried not to make eye contact with anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
16 February 2014 12:02:00 Guest

Horrible airline. I had multiple flights delayed or cancelled due to a shortage of pilots and crew members. The airport staff was also inadequately trained and did not keep customers informed about delays and cancellations.

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 0
28 January 2014 12:01:00 Jim

Delayed by 2 days in Key West January 6-8 due to mechanical failure. No response from Customer Service. On file with Better Business Bureau as of January 28. Promises made to partially refund money spent on Hotel Rooms in Key West but were never delivered upon. Very Professional staff at the terminal. Staff in Home Office has been dysfuncitional and discredit to the airline industry.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
21 January 2014 12:01:00 Guest

I would STRONGLY urge you NOT to use this airline. I have been a faithful United customer, but my interactions with United, Silver, and U.S. Air over the weekend have made me rethink my airline loyalties. First of all, I booked a round-trip flight to FL through United and I had no idea that I was flying on Silver until the day before my flight, when I didn't get my usual "advanced check-in" email fr om United. Thinking that was strange, I went to the United website to check-in and found that one of my flights was with Silver- some airline I had never heard about. I tried to stay optimistic and just go with the flow. Unfortunately that optimism was short lived because when I arrived at the airport in FL, I found that Silver took 30 minutes to check me in, was unable to print my boarding pass, and then LOST MY LUGGAGE. Granted, I did have to change planes once before ending at my final destination, but Silver is the company that checked my luggage and was unable to route ONE BAG to my final destination. To make matters worse, I was stuck on a very tiny Silver aircraft, wh ere my 5' frame felt trapped in the isle and the engines were so loud that I could barely hear myself think. Anyways, I normally never write these kinds of reviews, but I just felt the need to prevent others from getting duped into flying this airline just because they book with United. GET YOUR MONEY BACK NOW.

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 0
15 October 2013 12:10:00 Guest

Absolute garbage of an airline. They repeatedly cancel and delay flights for no explanation. I've flown with them 6-7 times and they have never departed on time. The only reason anyone should use them is to save money. F rating from me.

Is this review helpful? Yes 13 / No 1
11 October 2013 12:10:00 Guest

REally slipshod about scheduling flights. As so often happens with American airlines, the customer comes last.....after the main motivations being 1) priority transporting their own crews to be in place the next morning 2) making sure they have enough passengers in any single flight to make it profitable - therefore all the weird, unexplained cancellations.

Is this review helpful? Yes 15 / No 1
18 July 2013 12:07:00 Brian

The stewardess was not friendly. Our luggage didn't travel with us. We had to stay the night in key west with no clothes. When we returned the next day to get our luggage, no one was at the counter to help us. Worst airline ever! Not the regional airline of the year!

Is this review helpful? Yes 17 / No 5
10 June 2013 12:06:00 Mary Griffis

The flights were nice, however, we were bumped off a scheduled flight for a family of four. At a connection in Fort Lauderdale, we boarded the plane to Orlando. The airline staff came aboard the plane and made us exit the flight. This was completely due to them overbooking the flight. We only had the option to get a hotel and fly to Orlando the next day or rent a vehicle and drive four hours home. We are not regular travelers, and this was an important family vacation. There should be no reason to bump us from a flight we paid for months ago. We ended up having to rent the vehicle due to employment and appointments. They sent a piece of luggage to Orlando on that plane that contained medication. This is the next day, and they are asking us to drive to the airport to pick up the piece of luggage. This would entail hours of lost wages, cancelled appointments, etc. This customer service is shameful.

Is this review helpful? Yes 29 / No 2
1 - 29 of 29
First | Prev. | 1 | Next | Last
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2018 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/airline_reviews/Silver_Airways/ 1 1 1