Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
HOME ⇒ Commercial Aircraft Reviews ⇒ Sunwing Airlines


Sunwing Airlines Reviews

Your name:   Insert image
Rate this airline
Rate please

All reviews about Sunwing Airlines

11 July 2012 12:07:00 Guest

Never fly with Sunwing .IF you ever have any issues be prepared to speak with no one and only by email or letters .They drag out the complaint resolution process until you give up.

Is this review helpful? Yes 44 / No 5
17 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

Where to start? We were so excited for our trip to Mexico that we shrugged our shoulders when our departing flight was an hour late and we were squeezed like sardines on to the smallest plane ever where my boyfriend had to sit with his legs open the entire time due to absolutely no leg room, and I couldn't even get up to pee.

Our first morning orientation with our assigned Sunwing rep was lovely. She was charming, energized and all too eager to sell us trip packages. After the meeting she took her card back with her contact number on it, and we never heard from her again, instead, were passed on to a bunch of indifferent morons who couldn't care less about us once our money was gobbled up for our planned day trip (a Tulum-Xel-Há combo that cost us $260).

A long story short, we were abandoned in Tulum by our tour guide who started driving the bus away without us (but with all of our money and belongings!) despite that we were at the mentioned meeting place on time. We only managed to catch the leaving bus when my boyfriend jumped off of a moving tram, screaming and tearing up his feet somehow managing to catch up with it, and pounding on the side of the moving bus. We found out from other passengers later that they had seen us and were telling the guide and driver to stop, but they were just ignoring us as long as possible. Once we got on the bus injured, crying (me anyways) and out of breath, the tour guide had the nerve to blame it on us and say "Don't do that again!". Are you kidding me? We were a split second away from being stranded an hour away from our resort with no money, and nobody at Tulum willing to help us or even provide us with a telephone to contact our resort!

After complaints to multiple Sunwing reps, a hand written * of time letter, and a full day of waiting, they said they could do nothing for us. No money back, no credit towards another day trip. They told us that "maybe" we could have a free hat or tshirt!?!?!?!?

Our flight home was 5 hours delayed (despite that it's only a 3.5 hour flight to Canada) which meant after check-out we had no room at the hotel for 8 hours until airport shuttle pick-up. Sunwing didn't let us know until the last possible second, any only via a cowardly, hand-written note with no contact info or trace of a Sunwing rep. After the hotel spent 20 minutes helping us track down someone who works for Sunwing, they said they would only comp us (with a room or anything) if the flight was delayed more that 24 hours!!! The flight home was freezing on top of the sardine squish, and we were miserable and disoriented upon return.

Anyways, I'm leaving a lot out but let me just advice - pay a few hundred extra bucks and book your package with Westjet or a better company than Sunwing!

Is this review helpful? Yes 45 / No 8
24 February 2013 12:02:00 Guest

We were on a Cuba return to Ottawa on Feb 17, 2013, our departure was delated by 18 hours, they say due to a part needed. They did not supply any information at the Airport and finally took us back to a hotel in the early morning.

DO NOT USE THIS AIRLINE.......

Is this review helpful? Yes 39 / No 3
04 December 2012 12:12:00 Guest

Never fly Sunwing. They lost my luggage. Noone ever picks up the phone. Information they give is misleading and probably aimed at wearing our the client to the extent he/she gives up. The flight was delayed, check-in can take you many hours. It does not seem that this is a very honest business model

Is this review helpful? Yes 39 / No 4
23 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

I will never ever fly sunwing again. They are the worst airline. I would rather pay an extra $1000 to fly with someone who doesn't show up 20 hrs after your original departure time to go home.

Is this review helpful? Yes 37 / No 5
25 September 2011 12:09:00 Guest

They do not bother addressing or caring what the customer's issues are. Do not book with this airline!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 33 / No 2
11 June 2012 12:06:00 P.ZACH

BOOKED AN ALL INCLUSIVE DEAL TO RIU VARADERO FOR JUNE 1, 2012..WE WERE SUPPOSED TO DEPART AT 6. PM FRIDAY BUT WE WERE DELAYED FOR 17 HOURS .WE GOT A $20 FOOD VOUCHER AND A HOTEL ROOM AT THE AIRPORT FOR THE NIGHT .WE GOT TO OUR HOTEL IN VARADERO AT 1 PM SATURDAY .THE SUNWING REP OFFERED US A $150 VOUCHER TO USE IN FUTURE VACATION .. WE ARE VERY UNHAPPY WITH THE WAY WE WERE TREATED BY SUNWING STUFF AT THE AIRPORT AND ALSO DISAPPOINTED WITH THEIR REPS AND COSTUMER SERVICE PEOPLE AT THE RIU .. OTHER PEOPLE WERE COMPLAINING ABOUT LONG DELAYS THEY HAD EXPERIENCED IN THE PAST ..VOUCHERS DON'T MAKE UP FOR LOST TIME AT THE BEACH AND THE SUN FOR US CANADIANS .

Is this review helpful? Yes 30 / No 2
18 April 2014 12:04:00 Guest

Stay away from this airline. Bad service, discusting food, rude staff and terrible customer service. Just stay away.

Is this review helpful? Yes 28 / No 1
10 February 2012 12:02:00 Gaves76

Will never fly sunwing ever again. The turn a five hour flight to a seven and a half hour flight because they decide to fly six hundred miles south to Aruba to pick up passengers. We pay for two elite rooms and we get offered one room with two cots. I call to seek issue with the company and they tell me to email them. I do and no response. I will be telling everyone NOT to book with sunwing. We finally speak to an agent at the hotel who tells use that they always overbook the elite rooms and that ey do not have access to the rooms they book. That comes from a sunwing rep wearing their trademark orange shirt.

Is this review helpful? Yes 26 / No 0
01 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

I had a very bad experience with sunwing airlines. We were supposed to fly to Mexico, los Cabos, 6:10 am. When we got to the airport at 4:00 the line up was soooo huge it would scare you! The reason was explained as a problem with their computer system so everythinggg had to be done manually! Just imagine all the passengers where checked in manually and although it was already past the time of our departure, the staff made everyone to open their luggages and take out say a kilo!!!! anyways, on our way back, we were supposed to leave 7:30 am to catch our flight of 10:40am, but when we came to the lobby, we were told we have 6 hours delay!!!!!! the sunwing staff kept saying they have no further information!!!! Then again, after checking out at 12, we were informed of another 2 hours of delay!!! the funny part is that we had another flight to catch in 18 hours and already we have lost 8 hours in between them!!! anyways, the staff were not helpful and a liitle bit aggressive as well!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 24 / No 0
15 June 2012 12:06:00 Guest

Another bad experience on June 1 to Cabo. Delayed 8 hrs and then returned to Toronto when we got over Chicago. Very frightening for everyone on board. Were treated very badly upon return. Missed 2 days of vacation that we had looked forward to for a long time. This airline is so disorganized we will never fly with them again.The staff did not know what was going on and we were made to feel it was our fault and we should not be upset.Sounds like this happens quite frequently. I am waiting for response for compensation. I will fly out of Detroit from now on, as this never would have happened there.

Is this review helpful? Yes 27 / No 3
28 January 2014 12:01:00 Mona

Disapointed with Sunwing Customer service after a vacation, I have sent two emails since they will not take your complaints over the phone and have received no response not even a confirmation email.......poor business practice

Is this review helpful? Yes 28 / No 4
18 September 2011 12:09:00 MMC

Sunwing airlines lost my lugagge on a trip from Torornto to Rome on August 27th - Sunwing's partner overseas AVIA opened the Sunwing Irregularity Report but when I came back to Toronto, I was told that there is no lost/delayed report filed for me....since August 27th, I do not have any news about my lugagge and chances are that i will find my item on sale on Ebay.
Sunwing it is not part of the World lugagge Tracer System hence there is no way for the customer to get updates - the paper is probably sitting on someone's desk collecting dust...No one cares at Sunwing Airlines.

Is this review helpful? Yes 25 / No 3
20 January 2013 12:01:00 Evelyn

Our first time using Sunwing airlines for holiday to Puerto Vallarta.The flight to PVR was uneventful and nice.Highly recommend to other travellers.

Our flight home is a different story.Check flight status online before heading to the airport and no changes in schedule.
Always try to get to the airport 2 or more hours before flight times however was shocked to find a 2 hour flight delay.
Sunwing provided us with a dinner voucher,which is nice but does make a long day,we finally got into Toronto at 4:40 a.m.

Sunwing has my email to notify me of any changes,never got that email. This is the reason why I had to do this review.

Hope your company will try their best in the future to do a better job in informing passengers of changes.

Is this review helpful? Yes 26 / No 5
28 August 2014 12:08:00 Guest

Always delayed, small planes, rude staff

Is this review helpful? Yes 20 / No 0
03 September 2011 12:09:00 Guest

If I could give this airline Zero stars, I would.
Do not bother booking with them, the minor savings in price are not worth the headache!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 23 / No 4
02 February 2015 12:02:00 Coby & Jonathan

Simply stated, avoid this airline. The check in served only to catch any overweight carry on baggage, in order to charge overweight penalties. They got us in Punta Cana by refusing to check us in until we gave them our carry on baggage to weigh in. They charged us $200 to put what they claimed was a 0.7 kg overweight carry on in checked luggage. As experienced travelers we weigh our baggage. They wouldn't even consider that their scale could be wrong. It was either pay up or miss the plane.

Is this review helpful? Yes 21 / No 3
29 January 2014 12:01:00 Guest

January 20 sunwing had a 7 hour delay prior to leaving vancouver to cancun. On the flight home it was late again and we were told by the cabin stewardess that people would be removed from the plane if they kept complaining

Is this review helpful? Yes 24 / No 7
12 January 2015 12:01:00 SeeKay

I didn't think getting cheaper plane tickets meant I would have to endure horrible service and attitude from the staff. First time taking Sunwing airlines from Toronto to Vancouver. Check-In was horrific at the airport because we already checked-in online and they did not have a specified line just for baggage drop off. So we had to wait forever in line just to put our baggage down, in the same line as the people who hadn't even checked-in yet. So what was the point of checking in online? Customer Service was very rude to us during check-in.

On the way back from Vancouver, same thing with the lines being a mess. There was no counter specifically for baggage drop so we had to fight with the non checked-in customers to get a counter. Our flight was boarding at 11pm. After hours and hours of delay after delay, we finally boarded our flight THE NEXT MORNING at 8:45am. Customers complained to the staff and the people simply said they don't care how we feel about their airline.

We are still paying customers even if we get cheap tickets. I don't think just because we pay less it means we get to be treated this way. I would rather pay more for other airlines than to take this airline ever again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 19 / No 3
04 August 2011 12:08:00 M. Porter

I bought a trip on Sunwing and paid for TRIP INSURANCE. I had to cancel and they only refunded HALF MY MONEY and gave me a useless certificate (good only for one year) I will never use for the other half. They have no number you can call, demand you email your complaints, and then never respond to the emails. DO NOT FLY WITH THIS COMPANY. YOU WILL BE SORRY.

Is this review helpful? Yes 15 / No 1
08 August 2011 12:08:00 Guest

Worst experience ever. We were to fly to Rome on July 23, 2011 at 10:00 pm. There was no indication that the flight was delayed when we checked in. The flight was delayed until 1:00 am. At 12:00, we were told the flight was cancelled until Sunday at 10:00 am. Sunwing offered vouchers for taxis home, however it took 2 hours to get a voucher. The 4 reps had to hand write 2 voucher (to/from) for each person wanting one. We got our voucher after 2:00 am. We had to be back at the airport for 7:00 am. We checked in again, was told that the flight was leaving on time. They did board us at 9:30, but we did not take off until 11:30 am. We arrived in Rome in the middle of the night...missed all connecting trains. We were told that there was going to be a Sunwing Rep in Rome to assist and to get those who had missed their cruise onto a shuttle. We were with one of those couples that had missed the cruise and there was no Sunwing Rep or shuttle for them. All of the luggage that came off the plane was soaked. You could see the watermarks on all the bags...and it had penetrated our luggage...wet clothes when we reached our destination. For all of this trouble, we were given a $75 voucher, IF we fly Sunwing again. Not worth the paper it was printed on.

The return flight was no better on August 7th. We stood in a check in line for 2 hours. We barely made it to the plane as the security line was also large. We boarded about 30 minutes before the flight. There was another delay as someone had lost or had their passports stolen and they and their luggage had to be removed from the plane. I do realize that this was no fault of Sunwing. However, this delay us leaving over an hour....and our flying time changed from 8 hours to 9.5 hrs. My audio control at my seat did not work. Finally when we landed in Toronto, it took 1.5 hours to get our luggage.

It was the worst travel experience ever and I would not recommend this airline to travel to Europe.

Is this review helpful? Yes 15 / No 1
07 September 2011 12:09:00 jacques Leclair

sunwing flight was great and the service on board but my suitcase did not arrive with us and still upon our return .We were going to my sons wedding in paris so our stress level was very high.We had one day to purchase clothing and in August most places are closed because of vacation time.We called every day for 11 days and we were told it went to Amsterdam then it never left Toronto and the flying that day and call next day to say it was not sent .Also it left by airfrance and we will have it next day . Upon my return home baggage claim said he sent it himself and was received at the airport with conformation.The tags on the suit case show it went once to Paris but they said it did not come in not amsterdam like we were told .We now have it back 17days later . I want compensation for our hardship stress because of wedding and the entire vacation and my wife also had extra medication in the suitcase as well as gifts for the wedding.Please respond or a Lawyer will be involved I can be email at ctowers@bellnet.ca thankyou

Is this review helpful? Yes 19 / No 5
06 January 2015 12:01:00 Guest

My wife and I were on the Sunwing flight 262 fr om Manzanillo to Vancouver on Saturday Jan 3rd 2015 that was diverted to Abbotsford due to low fuel. The flight was supposed to land at 8:40 pm...we ended up leaving the airport at 12:40 am on the 4th. Many bags did not arrive in Vancouver and mine was one. I have contacted Sunwing 4 times, it id now 5:45 pm on the 5th and no one from Sunwing has bothered to return my inquires about the wh ereabouts of my luggage. It is very frustrating and I find it totally unacceptable. Sunwing is a joke of a company, they couldn't care less about their customers.

Is this review helpful? Yes 17 / No 3
12 July 2019 12:07:00 Guest

I have not traveled with Sunwing yet, my trip is booked for September 2019, but unfortunately already disappointed and regretting my decision to vacation with them. My wife and I booked a trip to St. Maarten with our 7 month old son. We booked our trip and flight specifically with him in mind to ensure his first plane ride went as smoothly as possible. We had booked a direct flight which was originally 4 hours and 40 minutes, but were recently informed that the flight time has now changed along with an added stop-over in Montreal adding an additional 3 hours to our flight. A stop over with Sunwing is used to pick up additional passengers at another location, which means we are not to exit the plane, forcing us to sit in the plane for 8 hours. This was added to both our departure and return flight. I called Sunwing as soon as I received this notification, explaining that I cannot keep my 7 month old on a now 8 hour flight, also him now having to deal with the pressure of the airplane going up and down four times. I booked a specific flight to make flying with a baby as easy as possible and also save the other passengers from listening to a baby cry for an entire flight. Not only did every representative at Sungwing show no sympathy for my situation, they also offered no recommendations, alternative options or any kind of compensation for the change. They would not even offer me free seat selection to ensure my wife and I are seated together to take care of our child on this now 8 hour flight, you would think that would be the least they could do. So disgusted in the service and unreliability of Sunwing. Truly regret our decision to book with them, and will ensure we never make this mistake again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 13 / No 0
27 January 2015 12:01:00 Guest

Sunwing planes are old not modernized, they are squeezing every back out of you, even a free can of coke is split to plastic cups by 3 (more pollution) they were short of sandwiches at the half of on the plane, and telling everyone that the only free option is some dry, crusty bun with Montreal meat (only people from Montreal like that kind of meat , why do they feed the whole world with that ? Arabs, Lithuanians , Swiss they don't eat that ) , no personal TV , movies played , such a drags, hard seats, headphones inputs work only in mono if you don't purchase their headphones ! Unless you have the old two jack systems by any chance with you ( You are not , because today you use I phone or Samsung, 1 jack system Headphones ), 6 hour trip from Edmonton, Canada to Cancun , Mexico could more pleasure.....and they are not the cheapest either , 1000 more then Transat or West jet which are way more pleasure to flight , personal TV, and free WI-FI on board! ....Sunwig has to improve their planes and service, next year if I don't see newer planes I am not going with them , that's for sure ... . They have good pilots going smoothly with those 20 years old Boeings over brewing storm over the Gulf of Mexico , but they have to go with the time common !

Is this review helpful? Yes 15 / No 3
25 July 2011 12:07:00 Guest

We had a horrible experience with Sunwing. We were suppose to leave Rome and arrive in Toronto on Sunday. We didn't get home until Tuesday! No representatives at the airport wanted to get involved or direct us. Total chaos. First we were told we were just being delayed. 3 hours after sitting on the plane we were finally told we were leaving the plan and then later told the flight was cancelled due to mechanical issues. We finally got to a hotel at about 10 or 11 at night, with a 100 people still left at the airport, with no idea what was going on. We were told we were leaving the next morning. Needless to say, that didn't happen. We didn't get on the plane until 11:00 at night! And it doesn't end there. Everyone starting clapping thinking we were actually taking off BUT NO.... right before take off the plane stops. The ground crew refuelled the plane incorrectly putting an extra 5 tonnes of fuel in one wing than the other! We were delayed another 3 hours - sitting on the plane! We didn't leave until 2:30 in the morning! But the funniest part was a flight that took 8 hours to get to Rome took 10 and a half hours to get home to Toronto!! Something to do with time permitted to land by chance.... Absolutely horrible experience and Sunwing offiered everyone a $100 voucher for future travel!! wow! Will never fly with Sunwing ever again. 2 days of missed work and they take no responsibility and provided no communication at all during the whole process. We actually found the two "Sunwing Representatives" sitting down somewhere in the airport as if they were travellers and would get upset if you tried to ask them what was going on.

Is this review helpful? Yes 14 / No 2
01 December 2014 12:12:00 Brenda

Flew to Las Vgas Nov 27-30. Paid 35 each for Elite Plus. Extra leg room in row 1 but seats very narrow and uncomfortable. No champagne service and hot towels provided only on return. The Bistro service meals were disgusting - in fact my "vegetarian pizza" looked no different than my egg/cheese on a pastry bun on my previous flight 4 days earlier (other than having pizza sauce inside). The staff carried on long and loud personal conversations that included much complaining about other crew members. On the way home there was even complaining about having to do the manifest and doing a head count which was deemed "a real pain" so it was assigned to a trainee to do. Incredibly, a female attendant spent 10 minutes in the bathroom doing her makeup and when she came out she told the poor guy who was waiting for awhile that she wasn't finished yet and he would have to wait a few more minutes while she got another toiletries bag and finished her personal freshening up! The movie on the way down couldn't be seen due to poor screen quality and on the way back it was "How To Train Your Dragon" - for a flight of adults - ridiculous! Where are the screens every other flight I've taken where you can select from a choice of movies, TV shows, radio, etc? The volume control didn't work well so it was either too quiet or too loud. My luggage on my return flight NLT came out towards the end. Elite Plus is a joke and I will never ever fly Sunwing again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 13 / No 1
18 April 2015 12:04:00 Guest

Flight to and from Los Cabos over New Year had endless issues. We were 3 hours delayed leaving Toronto and when we arrived late at night in Mexico many passengers found their luggage had not arrived. We were told it was a weight issue with the aircraft but interestingly all the heavy golf bags made it!
One family member had no luggage, including eyeglasses and some medication for 2 1/2 days. She was given a $50 bill (CDN) to buy things but $CDN not accepted there.
On the day of departure we packed and assembled in the lobby only to be told there was a 4 hour delay. We hung around the lobby for longer only to be told eventually that the flight was cancelled and we had to stay another night.
No communication from the airline during or since the trip despite numerous emails and phone calls from several people on the flight

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 1
05 January 2016 12:01:00 If you like gambling...

...fly with Sunwing!

PROS:
* Usually cheaper than other airlines. Sometimes MUCH cheaper.
* Hot meals included
* Seats are actually pretty comfy. Elite Plus upgrades have more legroom (but double-check when booking to be on the safe side)

CONS:

* Delayed Flights (half an hour up to 6 hours if you are supposed to leave on a red-eye)
* Lost luggage or items that you may or may not get back
* Having to check carry-on luggage over 5kg/11lbs and pay a $25 fee by being sent into a second line where it takes 10 minutes for your payment to go through once you get to the front of the line.
* Longer wait times in check-in lines compared to other airlines due to so many people having to check carry-ons.
* Attendants who don't care much because their job sucks (I had to listen to the attendants complain in the back about how the person who does their schedules is totally incompetent).
* Limited/zero help from Sunwing representatives if something goes wrong and you try to contact them by phone. If you do manage to contact someone, they might tell you to call another number...which doesn't exist.

CONCLUSION: You get what you pay for! Only travel with Sunwing if your priority is to save money and you can handle the above possible inconveniences (all based on experience). Good and economical if you AREN'T on a tight schedule and can go with the flow. TERRIBLE CHOICE for anyone who cannot handle stress well.

Is this review helpful? Yes 12 / No 1
24 February 2016 12:02:00 Guest

First time with Sungwing, but I'm sure will be the last time!!! We flew to Varadero on Jan 27th from Pearson Airport. What they called champagne service just a tiny cup for it. I was ok with that. But our returning flight was horrible. After we passed Miami, the pilot told us we have to go back to Varadero because of the problems of the airplane. We never met this condition before. After we got to the Varadero airport, no staff showed up to take care of us. Our flight was around 9pm, but we left the resort at 6pm, didnt have anything to drink or eat since the whole afternoon. Finally one of the staff showed up after 3 hours, and told us we have to go back to the hotel at 2am in the morning. The day after, we had to go over the security check in the airport again, all the duty free sealed bags had to go into out overweight luggage. We didnt receive any champange service at all ,the only selection of the food is Vegetarian sandwich which full of carrots. It was disgusting! I tried to contact with sunwing customer service, but couldnt hear anthing back from them. I promise this will be our last time fly with sunwing

Is this review helpful? Yes 13 / No 2
05 September 2019 12:09:00 Guest

Terrible airline with service.

I don't understand how they operate with this type of behavior/service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 0
03 November 2009 12:11:00 Glenn Mair

Recently flew Sunwing Vancouver-Varadero (via Saskatoon). This was my first time flying a charter airline, and I was more than impressed. Plane was a second-hand, but not old, 737-800 in good condition. Seats comfortable and legroom acceptable (even for someone 6'0") given the mid-length flight. Service both on the ground and on the plane was efficient and courteous. Food above-par for airline food, and complimentary champagne and wine was a nice treat compared to most discount airlines. The fact that they offer packages with transfers to hotels in Havana (not just Varadero) gives them an advantage over Air Transat. My only complaint was that one of my bags got left in Vancouver, but the local staff in Cuba were very good and the bag arrived on the next flight from Vancouver (which admittedly was three days later). I give Sunwing 4 stars.

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 1
17 December 2019 12:12:00 Guest

Worst airline available.
Dirty uncomfortable cramped planes.
Incompetent booking staff, thoughtless.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 0
13 June 2011 12:06:00 Linda

Travelled to Cuba in March 2011. Experienced a lot of problems with the vacation package they advertised. We paid for an upgraded room but did not get it. Sunwing changed the hotel to airport pick up time because of the Spring time change in Canada, which does not affect the departure time in Cuba. Reps were rude. Airline seats were terribly cramped. Washrooms terrible! Airline refuses to speak with me after many many emails on my half. Terrible customer service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 0
15 January 2019 12:01:00 Guest

Paid $200 for advanced seat selection. Then I realized afterwards that I did not need to do this. But Sunwing would not refund my money. They claim to have no way to cancel seat selections. That is their problem no mine. Wasted $200. Bad airline. Bad customer service. Don't fly with them.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 0
23 February 2019 12:02:00 Guest

The Sunwing experience started with a 12 hour delay due to "operational issues" - 4 times travellers were summoned to gate only to be sent away again. No communication to passengers before or during the delay. $100 vouchers were issued however could not be used onboard, or in resort only in excursions or future trips were passengers were expected to spend more, rather than being compensated for the delay. Post-trip follow-up with customer service was a nightmare, 2 hours to get through, forgotten follow-up and goose-chase to online options with "48 hour response times" - a week later, only to be deferred again. A firm believer in - "stuff happens" its how service organizations course correct is what matters. Committed to never fly Sunwing again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 0
14 August 2019 12:08:00 Frank S

Toronto to Costa Rica August 5-12 2019

WG 725

If you are looking for a stress free vacation and flight I would advise against choosing Sunwing. Standing at 67 I made sure to prepay in advance for seats that I could fit in comfortably on my flight. When it came time to board we found out that Sunwing was not operating our flight but rather we were flying with Eastern Air in a jet with a completely different configuration and our prepaid seat selections were irrelevant. I found myself assigned to a seat that I physically could not get into unless my knees were tucked into my chest. In an effort to avoid this on the flight home I spent over an hour on the phone with Sunwing while I should have been enjoying my vacation. After an hour of circular conversation the representative promised first class seats as a compensation for our troubles, to which I was satisfied. But the surprises dont end there. Ten minutes before boarding we were called to the gate and informed our seats were broken and that we would not be flying in Elite Plus, but rather assigned the same seats that I do not fit in. When I asked the representative what the purpose of pre paying an additional fee was if it would not be honoured on either flight, their response was that their only obligation was to provide us with a seat, not necessarily the ones we paid for.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 0
19 August 2019 12:08:00 Jashua

My sister unfortunately booked her destination wedding with sunwing.
Our flight was changed, once atbthe airport we were lied to told we had an hour delay only to find out that we would now be leaving at 10:30pm and would not arrive until 1:30am. My sisters wedding is ruined. Terrible company with zero customer support.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 0
31 August 2019 12:08:00 Dennis S.

Originally booked a trip to Antigua on June 26/19 to celebrate our 46th. Wedding Anniversary.
Original flight was a direct Flight, leaving Toronto at 9:25am on Friday, September 20/19 and arriving in Antigua at 2:25pm on the same day.

On August 09/19 we were notified that our Flight times were changed to leaving Toronto at 7am and arriving in Antigua at 2:10pm and was still indicated as a direct Flight, which seemed odd, as the total flight time had now increased.

Then on August 29/19, we we notified that our itinerary had now been revised, so that we would be leaving Toronto at 7am and flying to Montreal for a STOPOVER of approximately 2 1/2 - 3 hours, before heading to Antigua.

Since I did not originally book a STOPOVER in Montreal, I was very unhappy and with the help of my Travel Agent, we requested that Sunwing change our flight to another day, in order to fly directly from Toronto to Antigua, without any Stopovers.

Sunwing refused to accommodate and/or compensate us for this terrible inconvenience.

Sunwing basically informed us that we had no choice but to abide by the changes to our itinerary, as they had the right to make any changes that they deemed necessary and basically said that we were forced to fly to Montreal for a 2 1/2 - 3 hour STOPOVER. in order to get to our destination.

I asked them to cancel our booking and issue us a full refund.
Sunwing refused to consider our request and told us we had no choice but to report to the Airport 2 1/2 hours earlier than our originally scheduled flight, in order to do a STOPOVER in Montreal.

Sunwing speaks of Customer Service & Commitment, however, this Airline don't give a * about their Customers.

Their stated mission is a JOKE, and they should consider changing it to Sunwing First and Customers Last.

We travel on vacations at least 3 times a year and must say that Sunwing is, without a doubt, the WORST Airline from our experience.

Sunwing gets around the new "Bill of Rights for Passengers" by bending the rules and force Customers to * their valuable time, so they they won't be held liable on these new "Bill of Rights".

These new "Bill of Rights" are useless, as unscrupulous Airlines like Sunwing, find ways around them.

So, in fact, Airlines still have all the rights to do whatever they want and Passengers have no rights.

One thing for sure, this is the last time we will ever travel with Sunwing, as they are, undoubtedly, the worst Airline and have ZERO Customer Service & Commitment.

Also, I have noticed that the individual with the initials (MD) that responds to these reviews, just gives the Standard responses, such as, Sunwing has the right to make changes and Customers have no rights and Customers should just accept our deplorable Customer Service.

I would advise Travelers to avoid travelling with Sunwing at all cost, as we would definitely not recommend Sunwing at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes 11 / No 2
20 March 2011 12:03:00 Guest

This company does not believe in CUSTOMER SERVICE. We travelled from Edmonton to Puerto Vallarta and paid for pre-booked seating for our family, they kindly took our money for the pre-booking but did not provide the seats! They have been giving us the runaround ever since we returned. This company only cares about what they get - not how they serve. I guess that is why the owners/CEO/President are making billions of dollars and doing nothing to provide support to their customers. This is by far the worst company we have ever dealt with. I am a business owner, and I said shame on Sunwing. If they want to stay flying high - maybe they should consider some classes in dealing with the public.

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 2
01 July 2011 12:07:00 Guest

This airline is beyond horrible! If you are unlucky enough to lose your luggage, you get ignored and there is NO ONE that you can speak with. All you get is voicemail. It may cost a few dollars more than another airline...but you definitely get what you pay for..barely! I suggest paying the extra $100 and have a peace of mind knowing that you will get service. I am utterly DISGUSTED with the lack of customer service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
30 December 2018 12:12:00 Jan

On our return flight WG210 from Mazatlán Dec.28/2018 to YVR I sat in 4C next to father and teenage son. Then nearing our decent to YVR the son threw up into a bag but what made matters worse I was asked to move out of my seat as he and his father had to go to the washroom. I guess I should call myself lucky because just I got out of my aisle seat either the father tripped and spilt the bag contents directly on my seat back and bottom and floor area, well there was puke all over the place.
I immediately notified a young male sun wing employee of the problem and he told me he would clean it up right away but never did he say that he would put me in another seat. I blew up and told him that I had no intention to sit in my old seat with some ones puke. I feel that this sun wing individual had no control of a bad situation and I even asked him if there was another seat that I could use.
I understand that this was an accident but your employee did not handle the situation properly as to my inconvenience. Now as for your airline. This has been only my 2nd time using it and never again based on your poor service and the seat configurations which remind me of a cattle movement. Deplorable. There is no way your CEO would fly for 4 hrs or longer is such badly cramped conditions. Hell, the flight was more than 4 hrs and you don't provide movies or monitors. That to me is too much to cut out for the traveller and it only shows your corporate greed.
You have lost a customer for ever. The world does not need such low standards.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
26 February 2019 12:02:00 Guest

THE WORST EXPERIENCE I EVER HAD IN MYLIFE DO NOT BOOK ANYTHING WITH THIS POOR EXCUSE OF AN AIRLINE
Let's start with the most shocking part then the disgusting part, the rudest airline staff I ever encounter in my life, from the check in point to the airline staff, I fly a lot so trust me, How this airline company is still in business I have no clue, now the disgusting part waiting for the plane to take off inhaling exhaust fumes for an hour plus straight that's very healthy wouldn't you say wow great for the lungs now the worse part the airline losing my luggage for 2 days and the people working lying to me telling me I will get $50 US every day that I don't have my luggage then telling me sorry it's only $60 Can. then after I buy all my necessities they tell me you should have kept your bills you would have been compensated for them 2 days later DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT FLY WITH THIS AIRLINE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED AS LONG AS 1 PERSON WILL READ MY REVIEW AND NOT BOOK IS ALL I CARE ABOUT IM VERY SURE THERE WILL BE THOUSANDS DISGRACE TO THE AIRLINE INDUSTRY IS WHAT THEY ARE

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 1
12 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

Sunwing is a joke and has fallen to below the depth of horrendous. They are notoriously late and screwing up people's hard earned vacations. I will not go into detail cause I think all reviews over many Web sites show the lack of caring and accountability that sunwing shows to their clients that they view as nothing more than cattle.

Warning to all that book through this horrendous airline and their soon to be sister companies .... signature vacations and sell off vacations.

People, we need to get this airline out of the sky.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
13 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

This airline is 100% a complete joke.

First off, our flight was delayed 6.5 hours. Okay, stuff happens. BUT they KNEW about the delay early that morning and failed to communicate that with any of the passengers. The only reason we found out that our flight was delayed was because we went to board and it wasn't there. They gave us $15 "meal" vouchers, which if you have ever eaten at an airport you know that this doesn't cover the most basic meal. So far, we all missed a day of work, were stuck in the airport for 8.5 hours, were treated HORRIBLY by customer service and missed a day of our vacation.

We finally boarded the plane and then proceeded to sit on the tarmac for another hour. Once in the air, we were informed that there wasn't enough food/drinks/cups for everyone on board. Which is against airline laws as this flight was 4.5 hours long. The staff on board we also nasty and mean. They routinely ignored us, rolled their eyes and had a poor attitude.

All Sunwing can say is that "delays happen". That's it. Nothing more. No apology for the lost money we all suffered, no apology for the horrible RUDE staff and no apology for not stocking the plane in accordance with airline laws.

Skip this airline and fly with literally anyone else.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 1
30 November 2019 12:11:00 S Marklew

Delays, delays, delays, and poorly maintained airplanes. It has taken maintenance over an hour of "delay time" to effectively put an "out of order" sign on one of the two washrooms on board. Really unacceptable and very poor communication from staff.

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 0
03 January 2020 12:01:00 Jordan

Buyer beware: Sunwing will change their flight times after you book. They do not care for the customer at all. I have a wedding in Negril & picked this Sunwing flight so I can be there for the wedding & now Im having to spend $900+ more to fly on Air Transat. They dont care.

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 1
17 January 2020 12:01:00 Kymber

Sunwing representatives in Dominican Republic Puerto Plata refused to help. My husband had to be admitted into hospital transported by ambulance because of food poisoning at the playa bachatt resort. The hotel did not care he was ill and made no attempt to help until they realized we would not be getting on our plane. Then they called a dr etc. The Sunwing reps wouldn't come to our room to help they expected us to go to them (not an option) then promised to meet us at the hospital. More than 6hrs later and many calls made to Toronto we were told to come back to the resort and pack our things or be charged for the room. They never came to see us at any point, not even to see if my husband was okay. No help with a flight back, transportation from the hospital, or accommodations. I had to call Toronto because the resort and reps here would hang up on me as soon as i said my name or room number. They didnt want to help or even communicate with us. Sunwing you should be ashamed of your customer service, hospitality and most importantly your compassion towards others. I will never fly with Sunwing again

Is this review helpful? Yes 9 / No 1
13 August 2015 12:08:00 Guest

My family and I took a roundtrip from Charlotte,NC to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. I will say we have never had such a wonderful experience flying. The staff was fantastic, check in perfect, flight was amazing and we were treated wonderfully on the flight. How awesome is it to watch movies both ways eat a pizza have a drink and relax. Our transportation to and from airport was amazing as well. I was so nervous when I read the reviews before we went. I am here to tell you we will definitely book again and recommend this airline. Thank you Sunwing!

Is this review helpful? Yes 10 / No 3
26 December 2016 12:12:00 Guest

Awful experience! We were supposed to leave Santa Clara (Cuba) on December 17, 2016 to land in Montreal at 00.40 am. As the plane from Canada arrived to Santa Clara late, it was impossible to land in Montreal airport before 1 am. So the Sunwing company made a decision to take us to Toronto instead and promised that we would leave for Montreal early in the morning, around 6 am. LIES!!!! We landed in Toronto about 2 am December 18, 2016. We had to spend more than two hours standing in a huge line waiting for check-in just to get our boarding passes for a 10 am flight (not a 6 am flight as promised). But it was not the end!!! At 10 am, we learned that there was no crew to take us to Montreal, as "our:" crew had left for Quebec. They suggested that we wait till 1 pm hoping that the crew would get back from Quebec. At 2 pm, we got in the plane. As the result, we had to spend 12 hours in Toronto airport waiting for our flight back home to Montreal....We landed in Montreal at 16.00 (not at 00.40 as it was expected). Wonderful vacations were ruined. I will never travel with Sunwing again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
17 April 2018 12:04:00 D. Bezjak

Worst airline ever. They ruined my five day vacation to Puerto Plata on April 15, 2018.
After a delay of more than 18 hours (flight was originally scheduled to depart at 2:15 pm) we were not able to get any answers fr om anybody at Sungwing. No idea how much longer we had to wait. Changed gates three times. Four different Sunwing flights had the same situation, while other airlines were boarding and leaving Toronto despite the bad weather situation. At 1 am we were asked to pick up our luggage from the baggage area and go back to the desk to check in for our flight that supposedly would leave a 6:15 am. We waited until 5 a.m. in the baggage area and our luggage never showed up. The Sunwing rep told us they didn't know wh ere our luggage was. Again, four different Sunwing flights with the same situation. No departures, no luggage, no answers!!!
Finally, at 9:00 a.m. with no answers and no luggage we decided to cancel our trip and go home. We had already wasted two days of our five days vacation!
I hope we get our refund as they promised, and I hope they find my suitcase and send it home soon!
Do yourself a favor: DO NOT FLY WITH SUNWING,!

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 1
01 May 2018 12:05:00 OMG NO!

Both flights, departure and return were nightmares!
We knew not to expect luxury with the bargain we got , but....
During an ice storm, which was frightening in itself, the airline refused to cancel its flights. When asked if we could go home, they threatened that we will lose our money paid for the whole vacation.

We weren't expecting to be treated like prisoners with rations!!!
We were shifted from gate to gate for 19hrs, as if that was going to keep us all quiet!

Then The excuses were out of line:
- that the plane had engine failure,
- the other airlines have precedence on the Tarmac over ours, and the weather was pushing Sunwing back of line. What????
- the weather - which should have signalled an immediate cancellation until further notice, but Not to be told "stay put" or we won't get our money back.
- the employees on the Tarmac crew went on strike and refused to work.
- the gate attendants rude and snide remarks were disrespectful for many with health issues and babies!
- Finally on the next morning the flight was cancelled, only to be told that everyone should come back in four hours.
- taxi chits were written by hand by one (of five) attendants so that took hours, by the time we got to the podium, it was futile to leave the airport. We'd just have time to do a full circle home to airport ride!
Even -that- wasn't going to happen, because our baggage was still in the baggage trucks getting soaked on the Tarmac.
The ground crew refused to unload our bags, for another few hours!
By the time we got ours, it was 15min to check in time.
We decided to carry on with the trip (way bad decision!) I think a few people talked us into it - we were all sleep deprived and dehydrated.

So we're back at the same gate and delayed yet again! "Engine trouble"
OMG I look out the window, same plane as hours ago! Shouldn't that one be in a hangar being repaired?
What about contingency plan planes? You know ten percent on standby for just this exact reason?
- suddenly we saw people boarding, no announcement or signal that we were to board.
The take off was frightening, so was the landing, as the plan passed through the tip of hurricane Maria.which destroyed Costa Rica.
OMG! I kissed the ground when we got off.

Return flight: Delayed one hour.
Broken engines, washrooms out of service on the flight, toilet paper and sink water ran out - on a four hr flight!! OMG WTF!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
08 December 2018 12:12:00 Bob Henderson

I was SEVERELY ELECTROCUTED on Nov, 24, 2018 in my suite 7217 at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. Neurosurgeon in Cancun says "you dodged a bullet"..."you should be dead".

I had paid SunWing almost $4,000 for the trip.

That was 2 weeks ago.

Despite the hotel Manager's assurances, I have not received any contact from Iberostar's Head Office or Insurers.

I am in incredible pain and have sustained major damage to my body.

I had to pay WESTJET for flights home because SunWing wanted $435 per ticket to let me fly home 2 days later than scheduled...I was severely sick
and could not fly until then.

Sunwing has not offered any comment from their management or any offer of assistance.

See my TripAdvisor review on Iberostar Grand Paraiso. See the photos of the horrible burns I am suffering with.

Sincerely, Bob Henderson, London, Ontario, Canada

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 1
13 December 2018 12:12:00 Maggie

Worst airline ever!! First time travel with sunwing and for sure its going to be my last time with this airline. Arrived in Punta Cana on Dec 10, 2018 and hoping to have a nice family vacation.. but turned out to be the worst by far.. One of our luggage filled with my two young childrens essential item (3 year old and 7 months old) that includes clothing, diaper, formula, baby food and medication all went missing upon our arrival at Punta Cana airport. Reps who represent sunwing are giving us different answer every single time we ask and our luggage is still no where to be found. I paid $5200 for a week of vacation for relaxation and so far all I have experienced is frustration and stress. This is going to be my forth day of my vacation and its like a nightmare! We are staying at the Catalonia Bavaro Beach and golf resort. The first time you check in into to the resort, the rep at the front desk will try to up sell you upgrades with a premium price. The room is extremely outdated and dirty, water leakage all over the ceiling, hair dry doe not work. Called and spoke to the front desk regarding the issue repeatly everyday for the past 4 days and they will always give you the same answer: we will send someone right away and no one ever came!! Im amazed how this airline survive their business with such poor customer service. Horrible horrible!! Now Im afraid to check in my other luggages on my way back...

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
06 February 2019 12:02:00 Guest

I WILL NEVER TRAVEL WITH SUNWING EVER in my life again or support you!

IT is not enough that because of SUNWING the markup for the vacations are much HIGHER than it needs to be and all due to your greed and just when one think that is bad, you want me to pay for a window seat and ++++++++ and you keep selling and selling to strip people of money they already do not have. Having to pay all the extras you are tearing off people leaves a BAD TASTE IN ONE'S MOUTH that Sunwing is 100% GREEDY!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 8 / No 1
07 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

I have a flight leaving on May 15 and returning May 21. Sunwing emailed me yesterday evening stating my return flight is cancelled. The only options presented were the following:

1. Change to any other Sunwing TORONTO-VANCOUVER flight + $100 FUTURE TRAVEL VOUCHER per person. There are available flights on May 19, 30.
Flight Times
MAY 19 2019: TORONTO-VANCOUVER WG 807 YYZ 20:00 YVR 22:05
MAY 30 2019: TORONTO-VANCOUVER WG 807 YYZ 20:15 YVR 22:20
*BASED ON AVAILABILITY *

2. Change to any flight at current system rates + $100 future travel voucher per person
3. Cancel for a full refund

The above were the only options provided and were terrible. Current system rates are a minimum $900 round-trip and I paid $375. Why should I pay over double the cost of my original flight price for their change? It doesn't make any sense. Also, the flight dates of May 19 and May 30 don't fit my schedule as the event I am going for is on May 19 and I am unable to take that much time off of work to stay in Toronto until May 30.

I contacted Sunwing several times and they are unable to do anything further and clearly don't care if my vacation plans are impacted. I also have AirBnB booked and unable to change those dates. I wasted a whole day at work trying to fix their mess.

I will never fly with Sunwing ever again and I do not recommend this airline to anyone. It's a very big gamble to take and not worth it when it may effect your vacation plans. The customer service is horrible and Sunwing is unreliable.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
30 June 2019 12:06:00 David Khan

The travel agent from Travel Nation assured us that Sunwing is not having any problems with future bookings. We have nine people booked.
2 weeks to go Sunwing has bumped us twice and added stops to the flight. The original flight is still going .No reason given, Canadian Government laws , they dont have to. Once you have paid, they can do anything they want .
The government of Canada makes laws very one sided towards the Airlines. There is no recourse for a traveler.
They advertise package holidays and then bump the price by putting travelers on cheaper flights .

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 0
25 March 2018 12:03:00 Guest

They simply dont care about there customers. They charged me 50$ for a privileged seat in row 15 witch is a emergency exit row therefore seat does not recline! After calling customer service they simply dissmised my demand. I would of accepted a partial refund Worst airline ever

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
16 May 2018 12:05:00 Marion

It appears as though Sunwing is the least likely of all chartered airlines to care about their passengers.
I was scheduled to depart Toronto to Dominican Republic in May 4, 2018 at 4:15 pm. Around this time a wind storm also hit Toronto and grounded our incoming plane in Buffalo. I understand the need for this action. My complaint is with the way updates were related to passengers. We were told the flight will leave at 6:30 pm and informed to meet at an other gate. The revised time was again revised to 9:30 pm and we were instructed to relocate to yet another gate. At 10:00 pm we were advised that Sunwing is locating a crew. By this time flights were leaving Toronto one by one. 11:00 pm we were advised that a crew cannot be found and the flight will leave the next day at 6:30 am. And passengers were instructed to go home. Out of towners like myself were asked to join the line for hotel chits. After about 10 were issued they were " all out " and suggested we book and pay for our own room. Too late ... all the local hotels were fully booked. After 19 hours of waiting at the airport we finally boarded the plane at 6:30 am and lost one day of vacation. The compensation? $150 discount on my next Sunwing booking. Really? That is NOT compensation. Why would I book Sunwing ever again? If you choose this carrier then caveat emptor...buyer beware. Be prepared for disappointment.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
27 December 2018 12:12:00 Lau

Worst service received in this December, I used to travel with Sunwing in this couple of years, Cuba and Mexico no problem so far, but this time we go Dominican was a nightmare, flight delay, ok flight delay is not a news but the flight assistant shouted at us and said "SIT BACK AND WAIT!", Omg the boarding time is already delayed 30mins, as a customer we have a right to ASK whats going on and the status so far, I couldnt believe this flight assistant such a reply to all of us.

Finally we arrived at the resort, coz of the delay, we arrived at 3:30am to the reort lobby, Sunwing forgot to inform the hotel and and there are no room for us, finally the receptionist called the resort manager and unlock the room for us, but its almost 6:00am, 7 days vacation, first 2 days was a * to be recovered, my mom in law was sick due to the bad arrangement, this is not FUN AT ALL!

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 1
04 February 2019 12:02:00 Aurora Szoke

The plane was delayed almost 10 hours both ways, we made a complained and the airline did not bother to respond

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
22 March 2019 12:03:00 Guest

They advertise themselves as having the price drop guarantee (they require you to sign up for it - which I did). Guess what? its been 8 months now and I never received my money back. Each time they gave me a different reason:
1) Your address is not correct
2) Canada post strike
3) High amount of vouchers need to be sent so they asked me to be patient.
4) Last time I called was 3 weeks ago and they confirmed that I never deposited the check. They confirmed that I will receive the check within a week (they claimed again that my address is wrong lol... never received it of curse.

They said I can't talk to any manager and stopped answering me. A claim been maid against the company.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
19 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

Horrible Airline company avoid at all costs never on time very unorganized.
Pick either Westjet or Air Transat you will be so much better off.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
17 May 2019 12:05:00 Tanya

Terrible customer service experience

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 0
25 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

If I could give this airline and their sister companies, almost backrupt Signature Vacations and Sell Off Vacations a ZERO, I would.

For one thing, do your review homework. Look it up on line ... sunwing vacation reviews. Nothing but bad. OMG, they have left people on the tar mac for hours. They get away with all this because they are marginally within their legal zone to screw with you.

Because our so called direct flight should have taken 4.5 hours, at the 11th hour at the airport we are informed that our flight would now be doing the milk run. Took over 8 hours to get home fr om Puerto Vallarta to vancouver, canada as we changed flight crew, disembarked Edmonton passengers, their luggage, etc. We paid more for a direct flight. Apparently, a direct flight means you do not disembark fr om the plane. All legal Sunwing. You really know how to ruin hard earned, expensive holidays.

RIU hotel and Sunwing have a new contract. SUNWING, WITHIN THEIR LEGAL LIM ITS, no longer offer RIU rooms with a view. Our 2 week junior suite reservation was not advertised as a room with a view of the next door hotel's roof, air conditioners, whirring fans and construction in the dregs of the hotel. It cost us $300 extra to move to a decent room. People, that is a two upgrade. Be careful booking RIU with Sunwing.

Canadian government has just launched a new law for them in the last few days. People on tar macs for hours, no air, no water, overheating, no bathrooms and they just decide that all of a sudden your direct flight will now be doing the milk run. All within their marginal legal lim its. No more Sunwing!

If I can save just one person from booking with this abominable excuse for a vacation airline I will be happy. As you learn from the reviews please put forth online reviews and word of mouth because they should not be in freaking business.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 1
05 January 2020 12:01:00 Guest

Poor service. Flight left Toronto late. No P.A announcements so pay attention. Confusing check in system (priority check in/elite plus did not matter). Long walk and drive in shuttle to plane and on return from tarmac to terminal. Poor quality shuttle ride to airport in Panama (Rio Hato that is approximately three hours from Panama city!) Sunwing does not go to any other airport in Panama.

Horrible seating issue. Seats small and no leg room in medical seats row 3. Relocated in aisle seat in plus section because no seat belt extensions can be used in exit rows 15 and 16 (paid elite price for this). If you need accommodation do not fly with this plane. Elite plus is a * of money. Seats do not recline.Stuffed in the plane like sardines. Have to buy everything. Cannot charge you phone or electronics. * of money.

Is this review helpful? Yes 7 / No 1
17 August 2011 12:08:00 Guest

I had noted in the special requests section of my on line purchase of tickets from Toronto to Paris that my 5 year old is in a wheelchair and that special seating would be required. I did not receive any calls from Sunwing so I phone them about 30 hours before my flight time. The lady was exceptionally rude and said she would not give us three seats together ( 2 parents of a severely disabled child). I told her that we need seats near the front as it is difficult to carry the child through the isles. She said she could give us 2 seats in row 19. When we did the check in online 6 hours prior to our flight there were 3 seats together in row 13! This lady was very rude and did the very least she could so that we could not say that she did nothing for us. The people on the plane from To to Paris and retunr as well as the Sunwing staff at the airport in Paris were helpful!

The movies did not paly on either flight, as promised- its a long flight without entertainment!

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
03 November 2017 12:11:00 Guest

I experienced terrible customer service from Sunwing. Far beyond simply bad. Rude. Uncooperative. Dismissive. Do not expect Sunwing to resolve any travelling issues that may arise for you. They truly don't care about their customers.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
25 November 2017 12:11:00 Guest

5kg carry is a joke,went from direct to not ,rude at counter ,then give a $50 coupon to be used with them in a year?stay as far away from Sunwing! I will have a party when they go under!

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
16 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

Pay more and stay far, far away fr om this carrier.

Our flight going to the DR on May 5, 2018, was delayed by 19 hours. What this translated to: was a loss of one day of vacation. We were given $150 vouchers for future vacation and talking to my fellow passengers, no one will use the voucher, nor fly with the company again. Given this, we paid more for this vacation and Sunwing should reimburse all passengers real cash and not offer vouchers that no one will use.

Furthermore, the Sunwing reps at the airport did not get any help fr om the Management. Wh ere were they???. No hotels were arranged for us and it was nothing but a "comedy" of misinformation after misinformation. After making us race about the airport over and over again, we were told that there was no staff to man the flight...REALLY???. Wh ere was management and why did they not call replacements...simply the management of this airline could not organize a cold shower..."lovely" customer service...so thrilled by the care afforded to all of us...Succinctly, as stated above: STAY AWAY FROM SUNWING.

The Sunwing reps in the DR were no better. No one assisted hurt people on the resort, again creative misinformation was the rule of the day. Succinctly: if the reps saw a line up, they ran away or claimed that they knew nothing...As I said STAY AWAY from Sunwing, I know that I will and so will the majority of my fellow travelers.

My rating of this company would firmly hold at negative five.

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
27 May 2018 12:05:00 Guest

the most horrible service with no responsobility taken and no care. delayed every single time and by many many hours

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
06 February 2019 12:02:00 Alexicia

My first time flying with sunwing, everything was good until i get to my destination when i open my luggage only to fine out that one pair of nike running shoes that i spen $140 CAN for were missing i tried contacting sunwing with no success i email sunwing and still no sucess this happen since October of 2018. I will never fly with sunwing again .

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
19 May 2019 12:05:00 Guest

Diabetic Father delayed 16 hours. That same sunwing plane was delayed 8 out of 9 times. They knew about the issues in advance and did not communicate the delay. The sunwing offers $150 voucher for future flights on sunwing. What is your time worth for a 16 hour delay? In the U.K. It's $1000 after 6 hours. And they offered 150. This is beyond the worst service and this is a disgusting way to treat people. Period .
How about a negative star rating

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
10 October 2019 12:10:00 Guest

We booked a sunwing package through world odessy, specifically book a package with a direct flight knowing that stop overs are always a nightmare.
Only days after recieving our money we were informed they changed the flight to include a stop over. We booked just over 2 months in advance.
No service, no correction and we were required to have cancellation insurance if we wanted to cancel.
Informed them that we were not cancelling anything, the package we paid for no longer existed. They changed/eliminated our holiday package and forced a lesser package on us for the same price.
These people do not care one bit about you or your holiday, all about the dollars and they are happy to make them at your expense.
I will never use anyone involved in this scenario again.
Note: they now have stated that they can NEVER guarantee a direct flight. This is not referring to mechanicals and such, they will just change flights as they see fit.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
07 December 2019 12:12:00 Justin McKinney

Sunwing has Terrible!!! service with lacklustre staff with non consistency and lack of knowledge about anything taking place. They tried to book my wife to another city when we are on the same itinerary with our 8year old daughter. They then sent our luggage to the wrong city which was nice to hang out at baggage services well after an 11pm arrival trying to find out where exactly it was with little effort from sunwing. Sunwing people are rarely at their stationed areas so if you need a person to speak with, good luck what that. The plane is terrible with slower on board service and almost everything is somewhat broken. The seats either dont recline or dont go back to position. The trays are loose and pushed down or bent. The headphone jacks either dont work or not properly, not just my seats. The experience while at the resort was also bad service. Causing lots of confusion to depart and regarding not allowing us to eat or even feed our child after our checkout,

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
19 January 2020 12:01:00 PETER

WORST AIRLINE EVER , NO CUSTOMER SERVICE WHATSOEVER. STAY AWAY , LOST ITEMS , LOST 14 HRS DUE TO PLANE LEAVING LATE AND THEN LEAVING EARLY FROM DESTINATION.

Is this review helpful? Yes 6 / No 1
19 January 2020 12:01:00 John

sunwing has got to be the worst airline. planes are old and dirty , flights changed , the worst trip my wife and I had . we will never fly sunwing ever

Is this review helpful? Yes 5 / No 0
28 June 2018 12:06:00 MIla Boseovski

We travelled with Sunwing from Toeonto to Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, March 6/18. What a horrible start to our vacation. Turbulence and rain, finally after circling, around the Puerto Plata, airport , we were not allowed to land. due to flooding. We were redirected to Punta Cana airport. There we landed and waited hours. Finally they told us that they would take us to a hotel. It was almost 10pm. When we got to the Hotel we were told to be ready ro leave for the airport at 3am. What? At 3am we were taken, by bus, back to the Punta Cana Airport. We waited for hours and hours and were ready to faint from exhaustion. Finally, we boarded the plane and went to Puerto Plata, arriving on March 7/18.. being Senior Citizens we found this whole ordeal overwhelmi and we lost two days of our vacation. At the two airports the Sunwing agents only appeared at the Sunwing boarding area, when we were to board a plane. There was no direction or update or explanation of what was to happen next. I had an accident at the Be Live Marien , Sunwing does not assume any responsibility and have told me they stand behind the Hotelier that the accident didnt happen and that they stand with the Hotelier. . We saw the trip on a Sunwing sight, Iwe booked with a Sunwing agent, We paid Sunwing by credit card and lastly, we flew with Sunwing Airlines. It is a shame that they have abandoned and ignored our plea of a multitude of emails.and show no allegiance or responsibility to their. Customers. I have emailed everyone from President to Lisa M. Customer service. And not person is interested or cares. We were offered $100,00 discount on our next vacation with Sunwing, what an embarrassment. Buyer be Ware!

Is this review helpful? Yes 4 / No 0
1 - 78 of 128
First | Prev. | 1 2 | Next | Last
More
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2020 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/aircraft-reviews/sunwing_airlines/?sort=vote 1 1 1