Back to top ▲
Login:
Password:
Registration
Forgot your password?
Login as:
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
 
your guide to airlines all over the world

Home / Airline reviews & Traveller opinions / Юнайтед Эйрлайнз

United Airlines Reviews

Submit your review of "United Airlines":

Your name:   Insert image

Spam Protection (CAPTCHA): Refresh code
CAPTCHA image characters
Sort review by:   date / rating
06 January 2017 Guest

Worst airline ever!!!! I will never fly United again. Its been 4 days since we got home and they still can't locate our luggage. How is this possible!!!! We have tried calling and after being put on hold for close to an hour, they still can't tell us anything. We are in 2017 folks, get it together. Every agent we have spoken to has been rude and has zero knowledge of what's going on. Does United not believe in updating their computer information so every non-speaking English agent can at least familiarize themselves with what's going on via the computer. I have left messages at the head office, no one has returned my call. So unprofessional. They don't care about the customer after they have received their flight payments! Terrible service!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
25 August 2015 Guest

Worst airline in the world! Reserved seats were taken, special meal request didn't go through, technical problems and flight delayed - 3 gate changes in 30 minutes and worst: incompetent, disrespectful staff. Did anything go well - oh yes indeed: WHEN THEY TOOK MY MONEY. No problems during that step of the process. What a horrible airline.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
06 July 2015 jw_ia

United operates a flight fr om Entebbe to Chicago, wh ere the first leg is handled by Brussels Airlines. We couldn't check in, because Brussels couldn't find our confirmation using United's confirmation code. We nearly missed the flight while holding in our hand, a printed confirmation that I had re-confirmed (by phone) twice prior. The last confirmation call I made was about 24 hours before the flight. United said, "present your passport and the confirmation number at the desk of Brussels Airlines and this will get you checked in." This was a complete lie. Fortunately, the guy at the Brussels desk was smart enough to know who to call and got us through 15 minutes before the flight was scheduled to depart. I swear, this company is staffed with idiots, operated by morons and lead by utter fools. I don't know how they stay in business.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
13 May 2015 Steven Liu

Worst flying experience ever. United Cancelled our connection flight and did not let us know until we've landed at the transit airport. Turns out the plane never took off from the other airport hours ago. They could have told us prior to us boarding the first plane (which was delayed anyways), but no, we had to spend overnight at a strange city(Denver), lost a day and hotel deposit of our vacation at the final destination (Hawaii) with no amenity. Instead of offering compensation, we had to beg for it afterwards through email (not even a phone# to call!). And all we get is $200 travel voucher means we have to spend more money if we ever want to fly with them again. And they have refused to make any further accommodation with any ensuing conversation. Very disrespectful to their "valued customers". And the seats on this plane were the tiniest ever. I am only 5"11 and my knees are touching the seat before me. We also had to sit separately with crying babes on our ears with the rebooking- a total nightmare!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
15 January 2015 Nyberg

My experience flying with united was beyond awful. I was on a flight fr om Newark to Portland which was supposed to take 6 hours. It took 26 hours. The winds were strong and we had to land in Chicago to refuel, then they realize that it's not legal for the crew to continue flying us to Portland and we spend the night in a hotel. The next day we try getting the Portland there's an electrical problem and we have to fly to Sacramento to land instead of Portland. They never had any foresight whatsoever about how to anticipate what needed to happen. Their voucher systems for the hotels was not working. There was no one at the gate to help us when we got off the plane in Chicago at 11 PM. It was insane. And what do they offer as compensation? A measly $100 voucher. I had already been travelling for over 10 hours before I got on the plane at Newark, on my way back from Europe. We were 20 hours delayed. A $100 doesn't come near to making up for all that * . Oh and guess what. The website wh ere you are supposed to get the compensation voucher is not working. Big surprise. For god's sake. This airline is * dangerous. The plane we flew in was old and crappy and it's a miracle we made it to Portland at all. Thumbs down for United Airlines. By far the worst airline I have ever had anything to do with. I will never set foot on one of their planes again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
15 March 2014 JC

I am writing this review to express how disappointed I am in United Airlines. From the get-go the entire process of boarding and taking off was slow and disorganized. I completely understand that there are circumstances out of the control of the agents and flight attendants, and that delays happen - but there were multiple issues that caused my family's flight experience to be far from satisfactory. The following issues occurred: 1. The flight boarded almost a half an hour late, with no explanations or apologies given to fliers. 2. Upon boarding, fliers realized that the plane was a small plane and carry-on's would need to be checked. While I understand this happens sometimes on flights, in my experience an announcement is made beforehand and people are given the chance to retrieve items. In this case, they were taken from us outside on the runway just prior to boarding. This delayed the flight even more. 3. Once on the flight, the crew did not seem very organized. They did not help passengers get their luggage into the tiny overhead bins or even welcome us with a smile. There were still no apologies or explanations given as to why the plane was already 30 minutes delayed. 4. During the flight many people realized that they would most likely miss their connecting flights because of the delay. Upon landing in Cleveland, my mother ran to the next gate only to find that our flight had taken off 10 minutes early despite multiple people on the flight from Boston being in the airport and rushing to try and make it. I will say that the staff in Cleveland were very pleasant and tried to help us. It was to no avail, however, as we missed a full day of our vacation. Overall the experience my family and I had with United was a very negative one and I don't see us flying with them in the future.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
24 February 2014 Guest

My recent flight on United both international and domestic were quite simply the worst travel experiences I ever had. Staff were unhelpful, badly informed, unfriendly and also intimidating. Our flight was delayed and we were initially held sitting on board for several hours. Badly compensated.When I complained to Customercare it took them over 2 months to reply only after I have chased them. United is truly the worst airline in the world!

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
02 February 2014 Guest

If you want to start an argument on a United flight just talk to the passenger next to you about the changes to the United frequent flyer program. It seems that everyone in * . I fly the SFO-NRT route several times a year. To use my upgrade coupons I need to buy a W class ticket, or better. This ticket costs an additional $350, and no guarantee to get an upgrade. In my case the upgrade is available on about half the flights. So, in effect, the "free" upgrade costs $700. For 2013 I had four "free" upgrade coupons left. I booked two flights of which I was only upgraded on one segment. So at the end of January I had three left. Now, on February 1st, the three upgrade coupons have been removed. What is the point of flying 100,000 miles to earn 6 upgrades when it is not possible to use them? Good luck with your new frequent flyer program United. I am changing to another airline. Just fly one short segment every 18 months to keep the 1,000,000 miles I have in my account.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
07 January 2014 Jason Ho

Terrible flight. I made a round trip from Calgary, Canada to Pittsburgh via Chicago The flight there, the connecting flight was 2 hours late. I missed the flight and waited in line an hour to get rebooked, 8 hours later. The customer service was rude and told me "You are lucky you got out of Chicago today". The flight back, I guess they overbooked but they moved me to an hour later flight, to Denver, without emailing or texting me (I found this out at CHeck in counter). No apologies or explanation. The new flight arrived 3 hours later... Terrible service. I had bad experiences with United before but this is by far the worst yet. No more.

Is this review helpful? Yes 1 / No 0
11 July 2013 Guest

Recently travel plans were from Milwaukee to Vancouver, BC via a stop over in Chicago. The gate attendant in Milwaukee was very helpful and went out of his way to find us in a restaurant to get our party on an earlier flight as a delay would cause a missed connection. However, the situation in Chicago was totally different. We had to wait for the pilot to arrive back from another city to fly the plane that was at our gate. We were boarded before the pilot even arrived. After waiting 40 minutes on the plane the attendants announced that there was mechanical issues with the plane and everyone had to de-board. We all waited in the gate area for a new plane to be found but after 2 hours they determined that no planes was available and the original could not be fixed. The flight was finally cancelled 6 hours after it was supposed to take off. We were told that we would be re-booked. United did not provide enough gate attendants/customer service staff to rebook all the passengers efficiently. It took us 1.5 hours before we even got a chance to rebook. The staff was not very sincere in their sympathies. We got rebooked to a different city (LA) on a delayed flight that left 1:15 am and then had to overnight in LA before getting routed to our correct destination and had to fly standby as LA was not informed of the itinerary changes. All in all it was a complete fiasco. We never got the same answer when talking to different reps. Poor customer service.

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 0
08 July 2013 Guest

I was flying to Vegas with United. Booked 2 seats together for me and my wife. First of all 1 week after booking - I got an email that United has changed time for my second flight (I had 1 connection), so connection time between flights become only 30 min. Nearly impossible to make it, considering how huge Dallas airport is. I had to call Expedia and change my flights. Ok. When I was checking in at the airport - I got a message on the display that "your flight info was changed, ... and so on" So my seats were not together any more!!!! WTF !!!!! And a nice offer to upgrade for 50 bucks per person. Really ?!!!! Tried to talk to an attendant but he said that its a normal thing for this airline. He said that I have to check-in 24 hours prior the flight to make sure my seat numbers are confirmed. What a BS. I will never fly this airline again.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
06 June 2013 Paul

I had a ticket in my hand at the gate and was told that even though I bought a ticket 3 months before they didn't have room on the plane because they oversold. They told me I had to wait 24 hours to fliy to my destination. What kind of a business handles customer this way. This is the worst airline experience I've had and will avoid them at all costs.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
12 August 2012 Guest

I applied online for missing mileage credit and everything seemed to have gone through, but no miles appeared in my account. Now whenever I try to do the same procedure again it tells me to enter a "valid email address"??? Talking to a representative ended with"we cannot process your request at the moment".

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
10 July 2012 UnHappy

My 88 year old mother was going on her last big trip to see friends & family in Colorado. We wanted her to get special treatment & spurgled on first class tickets for her. Upon check-in in Sacramento we stood in the First Class line. There were two agents busy behind the desk. Once both agents were done helping the First Class passanger in front of us a passanger from Economy ran over to seek thier help trying to catch a flight. We had no probelm with that...BUT when that person left we were NEVER acknowledged, not any eye contact, not "we'll be with you in a minute", not even a smile...NOTHING! I looked to make sure, we are in the right line...Yes we were. Economy was getting much better service & we were getting zip! This is Frist Class? Now I know why I always travel economy! About 10 minutes or more we were finally approached by a person who floats around the terminal to give assistance (She gets a 10 for her help). She said I had to get the ticket from the kiosk. I know how to do that but we have had a bag to check & a request for a wheel chair. She said we still have to do the kiosk check-in. I put my mother's suitcase in the check-in area. The assistant had to get the agent's attention to put the tag on the bag, which she did, once again we never got greeting, never said a word to use, no smiile NOTHING! The assistant called to get the wheel chair. Once my mother was all ready to go we all stood there waiting to see if we had to pay to check in the luggage, etc. Still nothing from the agent. The assistnat (he scores a 10) that was taking my mother in the wheel chair to the gate finally shouted out the agents name..,"is that it?" She just nodded yes, never looking in our direction, just fixed on the computer. OMG I have NEVER had such HORRIBLE service!!! On a scale of 1 - 10 (10 being the best) I would score the agents @ check-in @ a 0! When my sister checked my mother in, in Colorado she experienced the same thing. She found it appalling, but it was even worse as she was told she had to go across the terminal & get the wheelcahir herself. She said that was ubsurd & no that was not going to happen...it was finally borught to her. On a previous flights with United my 88 year old mother was told she had to put her own bag in overhead & if she needed help, ask another passenger. She was asked to exit out the back of the plane, get her own bag down, walk down the steep flight of stairs & across the tarmack to the terminal, are you kidding me? My mother is very sweet, not a complianer but thank goodness she said no she will not do that, so she exited past the cleaning crew to the terminal to get into her wheel chair that was supposed to be waiting for her upon her arrival. Also during this flight the wheelchair assisaant said he had to be somewhere else so was going to leave her @ the gate. She has a balance problem & needesd to be wheeled to the door of the plane, so thank goodness again, she insisted that this be done. What has happened to travel? What has happened to customer service? What the heck are we paying a high price for? United is the WORST, whatever you do don't travel with them especially if uyou are handi-capped & don't pay extra for "First Class".

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
14 April 2012 Guest

took 3.5 hrs on the phone just to fix the names on our tickets; an hour of that was changing a W to William!

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 0
31 March 2012 Guest

I am writing to express my extreme discontent with United Airlines. This morning I attempted to purchase five round trip tickets, 2 adults & 3 children, from Norfolk, VA to Las Vegas, NV via the United Airlines website. The dates of travel were going to be July 11, 2012 and returning July 20, 2012. At first I was excited because I found an incredibly lower price of $272 per ticket including all taxes and fees. I had hoped to fly non-stop, but these tickets had 1 stop in Dulles going there and a stop in Newark returning. Also by selecting this flight, I was sacrificing one day on my family vacation. However, the price was right and I was ready to purchase the tickets. The total was going to come to $1360. I signed up for Mileage Plus account. I travel fairly often and thought this would be a good way to receive some benefits. I then entered all of the information for my passengers and entered my Visa Checking card. When I hit submit, I received an error message stating to try the transaction at a later time. I entered the information again, but received the same error much to my dismay. I then checked my bank account and noticed I received two pending $1 holds on my checking account. I became very concerned about being charged twice and receiving 10 tickets when I only needed 5. I looked up the number to call United and proceeded to wait 30 minutes to speak to a representative. During the first phone call I was accidently hung up on as soon as the representative answered the phone. I called back again and was forced to hold for 45 minutes. When a representative came to the phone, she spoke very broken English and was next to impossible to try to understand. I explained my situation, but the representative could not find a reservation in my name and tried to book another reservation for me. She then quoted me tickets that were almost $600 a piece which is a far cry from for the $272 I had tried to book online. I became frustrated and asked to speak with a manager because I was looking at the charges against my checking account. She transferred me to some sort of electronic department. It took 15 minutes for another representative to answer who also could not speak English. This representative was unable to find a reservation and would not even try to look for one. Instead, she tried to book another reservation for me which I did not want. The second representative, much like the first, could not understand the problem. When I asked if she was a manager, like I originally requested to speak to, she informed me that she was not. I again asked to be transferred to a manager. The second representative then transferred me to an extension that stated it was not valid and the telephone system hung up on me. Between the failure of your website and the failure of your customer service department, I wasted more than three hours of my time with nothing to show for it except two pending charges on my bank account. This is beyond unacceptable. I will be diligently checking my bank account to ensure that I am not charged $2600 for a reservation that never went with through. I will also let anyone and everyone who will listen know about my negative experiences with United Airlines. I would have saved several hundred dollars using your airlines; however the saying is true that you get what you pay for. The lack of courtesy regarding my time, the inconsistent ticket pricing, and faulty website have culminated to quite possibly the worst customer service experience I have ever encountered. If this has been this terrible to try to purchase tickets, I can only imagine what the actual airport and flight experience would be like.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
18 June 2011 Bill

I don't know why people complain about this airline. It gets me there safely and that is all that matters. If I'm late then I should not have had such a small margin of error on flights. Nobody is perfect!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes 2 / No 1
26 June 2009 amar

most stupid ground staff based at IAD washington. they know nothing about stations they donot fly to.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
26 June 2009 Guest

most stupid staff, totally avoidable airline..i am a member of their frequent flying airline, which i would end very soon. they have no clue of stations/ or airlines they donot fly to.

Is this review helpful? Yes 0 / No 1
AVIATION TOP 100 - www.avitop.com Avitop.com

Copyright © 2008-2012 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.

Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.